We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene, rustic getaway; excellent food and hosts”
Review of The Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caneadea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lodge B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Caneadea B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I loved The Lodge from my first impression last year. It's a tidy log cabin, tucked back into the forest with green Algonquin chairs set out on the front and side porches. Rustic and tastefully decorated with quilts, wood furniture and hunting lodge touches, The Lodge features windows with gorgeous vistas of lush greenery and the Genesee River. If you're looking for a peaceful setting, here's a place where you can sit on the porch in the morning to read and listen to the birds. One evening we had pizza and wine on the porch, watching the sunset and the fireflies flickering in the field below.

Innkeepers Joe and Nancy have thought of every comfort to make your stay enjoyable--from aromatic bath salts to a wide array of magazines and tons of books available on every subject. There's even a little gift shop featuring local crafts, a downstairs common sitting/games room, large upstairs living area/breakfast nook/kitchen, which is where the magic happens.

Joe is a Culinary Arts Teacher, so the food is delicious and made fresh just for you, in Joe's "kitchen theatre"--it's a unique set-up where you sit and chat while your food is prepared before your eyes. Nancy is no slouch in the kitchen either--I love her toasted coconut bread, French toast and the freshly-baked cookies she sets out every day. In addition to the cookies, guests can help themselves to cold drinks in a mini-fridge in the common room, a water cooler, and Keurig pods (coffee, decaf, tea, hot chocolate).

During the slower, cooler months, dinners are offered to guests. An extensive menu is sent in advance and for a very reasonable price, you book your tasty, home-cooked, multi-course meal, all for a fraction of a restaurant price. If you're a "foodie", you will be in heaven!

I've stayed in all three rooms over the past year. The Tamarack Room is the nicest, with slightly larger room size, double sinks and separate vanity lights, jets in the deep tub, gas fireplace, desk, chair. There is no air conditioning but the two larger suites on the lower level are naturally cool (there is also a large fan in the closet of the Tamarack Room). I stayed in the White Pine Room on some very hot days last summer and found it warm because it's upstairs and sunny, but there was a window fan so once it started to cool down in the evening, the room temperature levelled off. The bathroom for this room is across the hall but the place is small and quiet so it's not inconvenient.

Joe and Nancy are a fun, interesting, hospitable and entertaining couple. Their tagline is, "Come as a guest, leave as a friend," and we found this is exactly what happened. So much so, in fact, that we chose to get married at The Lodge this summer. Joe, also the Town Justice, married us and Nancy was our witness. We exchanged our vows on the side porch, and went for a boat ride on nearby Rushford Lake following our informal and brief ceremony. As simple as our ceremony was, Joe spent two days crafting our vows as a surprise, and they stained the porch and planted flowers, in case we decided to get married outdoors. Because of such thoughtful and generous touches, The Lodge is no longer just an accommodation for us . . . it's become a destination that we can't wait to get back to.

Room Tip: The Tamarack Room is the largest and has special touches like a gas fireplace and his-and-hers vanit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Helga_Little_Horn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

We have had a wonderful time in the Lodge B&B. Joe and Nancy are wonderful hosts and we enjoyed our stay in every way. The breakfast and the cookies (every day fresh ones and every day another taste) have been glorious and we have had good talks with the hosts. We can recommend that wonderful clean and romantic place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelika684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My recent business stay at The Lodge was as the solo mid-week guest. It allowed me to have a rare and wonderful dose of solitude in this lovely, spotless, country cabin. The weather was cool, a catbird serenaded at dawn and dusk, and the library provided a wide array of reading choices. Brilliant. The gift of a personal chef, literally, was frosting on this stay. Joe and Nancy are so personable, welcoming, and generous, both to their guests and to their community. I am delighted to support this local business, and you will be, too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My Husband and I just spent the weekend at the Lodge B & B, it was an amazing stay with Joe and Nancy as our innkeepers!
We needed a weekend a way and they made it a great experience. The food was awesome, Joe makes the best omlets, and Nancy makes the most amazing cocoanut bread! The Lodge was exceptionally clean and a cozy place to hang out. Our room...The White Pine... was very nice and the fireplace made it very cozy.
We took a day trip up to Letchworth State park, its only 25 minutes away and the local restraunts are very nice. We had primerib at the Moonwink and it was great!
Thank you!
Mike and Dawn Johnson

Room Tip: We stayed in the White Pine room, but if you want a private bathroom in your room they have two othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We arrived Saturday at night in September 2011. We stayed in the largest bedroom. It was very clean and had a double sink in the bathroom. We had a 3rd person in the room and the cot was already set up upon our arrival. It was a rustic lodge and the gift shop was very cute in the front. They also had a large selection of used books to buy. The owners also had homemade chocolate chips cookies for all of us. We had breakfast the following morning. They had made to order omelettes, fabulous tasting french toast, toast, hash browns and eggs of any kind. Everything was delicious. Can't forget the fresh fruit too and the great tasting coffee!! Joe and Nancy are so friendly and outgoing. Don't miss the chance to chat with them. So so friendly! Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aruba1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My Husband and I just spent two nights at this wonderful little B&B. We went down to Letchworth State Park for some hiking and Geocaching in the park itself and the surrounding area. Nancy and Joe are a very warm and outgoing couple, that made us feel very welcome. They had amazing freshly baked cookies upon our on arrival and every night when we came back from our outings. The Lodge is a beautiful little log home 16 miles from Letchworth, tucked in the woods atop a mountain overlooking the Genesee river. Amazing to sit on the porch at night watching a sunset over the river. The home is spotless, and very cozy with country style furnishings. The beds are extremely comfortable, and the grounds very well manicured and well kept. The breakfasts were amazing, we thoroughly enjoyed the orange french toast with corn beef hash, and roasted potatoes, as well as the coconut toast and bacon this morning. We will definitely be back someday, and would highly recommend this B&B. Thank you Nancy & Joe for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovely_Lady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Joe and Nancy are fantastic hosts, they really know how to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. My wife and I were looking for a memorable experience and we found it here. Lots of character in the cottage itself, impeccably clean and a fantastic breakfast to cap it all off.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tokian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge B&B

Address: 7415 County Road 49, Caneadea, NY 14717-8752
Region: United States > New York > Caneadea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Caneadea
Price Range: C$93 - C$105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in April of 2008, The Lodge B&B is a long time dream, realized for Innkeepers, Joe and Nancy Fusco. From the moment you walk in, they do their best to make your stay both pleasant and memorable. The Lodge is a beautiful log home nestled in the woods, on a hill overlooking the Genesee River in Caneadea, NY. There are 3 newly remodelled guest rooms, each with private bathrooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing