We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Winter Retreat”
Review of Deer Hill B&B Inn

Deer Hill B&B Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cazenovia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deer Hill B&B Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Cazenovia B&B and Inns
Utica, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Winter Retreat”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I was looking for a place of beauty and quiet and found these at Deer Hill. The suite was large, the bed was comfy, and the trails were beautiful. Breakfasts were tasty and a time to learn about the area from the knowledgeable innkeeper. The town of Cazenovia is a five minute drive for dining (I had a delicious dinner at Circa.) The library/museum/gallery is a great stop. A wonderful winter retreat in an interesting old home. I'll return to see the gardens in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This place is a treat. We took our 5-yr old and he felt very welcomed. He enjoyed exploring the pond, the horses, and the grounds. As others have commented, Frolic is very attentive and the food and its timing were always tasty and at our convenience. As a runner I much enjoyed the extensive trails through meadows, woods, etc, although these would be good for just leisurely walking. We stayed in the Hubbard Suite (I think) and it was comfy and well provided for. My only minor complaint was one side of our bed was clearly more used than the other but other than that it felt like we were staying with an old-friend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidF12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

The Deer Hill B&B is a sublime and wonderful inn. I'm not a big fan of the B&B life or culture, but occasionally there is no other choice. A 21-day book tour took me close to Cazenovia, and there really isn't any other place to stay in town that compares. The innkeeper has been doing this for 7 years, and so she knows how to do it, and she strives to make guests comfortable and to make sure that all their needs are accommodated. The rooms are splendid -- we stayed in The Hubbard Suite, a huge bedroom, a comfortable sitting room, a 2-sink/bath/shower/toilet bathroom; the bed was excellent, the linens marvelous, the road and house quiet. Seldom do I sleep as well as I did here. The breakfasts were great -- she took orders the night before, including a time, and in the morning everything was ready exactly as ordered, and prepared with care and attention. The grounds are glorious, and since it's only about 5 minutes from the center of town, all the Cazenovia restaurants and shops are easily accessible.
If there were B&B's like this everywhere, I'd give up the hotel chains.

Room Tip: Since there are only 3 suites, all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djsmapping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Deer Hill is a perfect B&B. The rooms are large, clean, lovely and quiet. The Inn Keeper is interesting, gracious and helpful. There are acres of trails for walking and hiking. The town of Cazenovia has a few really good restaurants. We found staying at Deer Hill in Cazenovia a much better choice than staying in the town of Hamilton while visiting Colgate.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ribby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Louis, MO
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2009

My college roommates and I have staged a golf tournament for the last 21 years. Hosting rotates every seven years with wives and significant others in attendance. This was our first time in central New York since 2002.

This year's host found Deer Hill, a great B&B with about 6 large rooms on a beautiful piece of property with panoramic views. We stayed for three nights. The breakfasts and the last night dinner were catered and served by our hostess, Frolic Taylor, in a very large and elegant dining room - excellent food and great ambiance.

A very charming and romantic spot to which we will return.

Dave Rahilly

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidr930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandria, va
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Here is a place that is authentic from head to toe. The Innkeeper's rich history, knowlege and stories -- well, it's sort of like escaping into a wonderland of beauty and history at your best friend's home,
It is really all because of Frolic's (the heiress of the estate and Inkeeper's) incredible insights and stories about "Caz" that adds priceless value to your stay here. She spent her summers here growing up. The gourmet breakfasts, which also are more like sitting down with your best friend, are less about a gourmet meal and more about your conversation and feeling of warmth -- til you realize that you've just had the best breakfast you've ever had. This is NOT your contrived "green" place, this is a real place where "green" has always been a way of life.
By the way, there are only 3 guest suites, but you can rent the whole house for family reunions or whatever.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazlakelawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We discovered Deer Hill a few years ago and whenever we, a family of five, travel to upstate New York to visit our family, we stay here. It truly is a sanctuary from all the festivities, activities and conversation that a large family inherently offers. The grounds allow one to play cricket on the lawns, walk through the impeccable gardens and meditate in the fields near the stables. (yes an occasional whinny from the horses remind us that nature is close at hand) The house is bright and airy -- none of that "loving hands at home" doily stuff. It sings of a time gone by that embraces today's luxuries with simplicity. Thank you Frolic, the Innkeeper, for keeping up with our family's activities and making us feel so welcome and special.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COCOEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cazenovia
17.5 km away
Craftsman Inn
Craftsman Inn
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cazenovia
2.6 km away
Brae Loch Inn
Brae Loch Inn
#1 of 7 in Cazenovia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Brewster Inn
The Brewster Inn
#3 of 7 in Cazenovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.9 km away
Lincklaen House
Lincklaen House
#4 of 7 in Cazenovia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Hill B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Hill B&B Inn

Property: Deer Hill B&B Inn
Address: 4119 Burlingame Road, Cazenovia, NY 13035-9697
Region: United States > New York > Cazenovia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cazenovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing