We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveller rating
452
102
22
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
452
102
22
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lawrence river fire pit river view beautiful hotel turn down service thousand island adirondack chairs balcony room double queen nicest hotel watkins glen complimentary coffee admiral suite sitting area rooms are spacious each morning walk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 596 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Every year we spend a few weeks in the 1000 Islands and we always make it a point of visiting the Harbor Hotel 2-3x
We'd love to stay if they had a pet friendly room ( it's very disappointing !
View is spectacular especially at sunset with a glass of wine at the fire pit

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd B, General Manager at 1000 Islands Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Cindy F

I appreciate the time that you took to write and lets us know about your recent visit with us. I am sorry that you were disappointed about not being pet friendly but maybe something in the future we could look into. November sunsets and sitting by the fire pits are a crowd pleaser for all our guests so I am delighted you enjoyed yourself.

Look forward to seeing you again next year

Warm Regards
Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel on the St Lawrence River. Fantastic outdoor patio area to socialize and relax. Easy walking into Clayton's many shops and restaurants. Nice place to escape for the weekend! Close to other area attractions in Alexandria Bay.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank 981serickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd B, General Manager at 1000 Islands Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 981serickson

I am delighted to here that you enjoyed your stay with us at the 1000 Islands Harbor Hotel. It really is a great place to just unwind and enjoy the great stores and restaurants all within 100 yards of the hotel.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Warm Regards
Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2018 via mobile

I must say the food and the non mgt staff were great. Great location.
I had a minor incident which I was told mgt would call to remedy my issue.
4 calls in and no return call from mgt.
Not good for public relations.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd B, General Manager at 1000 Islands Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Tony M

In regards to your concern we spoke on the phone about this and this was handled in the appropriate and timely manner. Our team reacted to your situation and it was addressed immediately. A manager spoke to you that day so I am not sure why you felt you were not communicated properly too. The minor incident with your door was addressed by our chief engineer.

We wish you well and do hope that you come visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2018

This is a newer hotel right on the river. It is within walking distance of shops and restaurants. There is a restaurant and bar on site. Workout area and indoor pool. The back of the hotel is the river. Areas to sit, relax, have a drink. There is a fire feature if it is chilly. The room is very comfortable and spacious bathroom. Absolutely get a river view room. It is worth it. Staff is very, very, very nice! Relax and watch the river.

Room tip: Must book a river view room!
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank thumper1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd B, General Manager at 1000 Islands Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear thimper197

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit with us at the 1000 Islands Harbor Hotel. I am happy that you had an opportunity to take advantage of all the great things that our hotel has to offer including the great views and total relaxation by the fire pits. I do appreciate the kind words about our staff as they are so very dedicated to all our guests needs. I will be sure to pass that information along to them.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards
Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2018

The room in particular and the hotel itself, are beautiful and make for a relaxing visit. However, maybe a bit too relaxing for us. While others say there is a lot to do, we found attractions and food venues in short supply. It is probably due to the time of the season in which we chose to visit. We did visit a winery, and the hostess there was delightful. The Distillery was closed - so closed that it may never again open! The shuttle to Boldt Island is recommended. The "Castle", though abandoned by the builder/owner , is in stages of refurbishment, but even as it is now, is breathtaking. Now the hotel - lovely grounds;, firepits and seating outdoors by the river, fireplaces in the bar and dining room. The menu in the dining room did not change for the 2 nights we were there, but the food was very good. You can also eat from the "bar" menu, which was lighter fare. It was disappointing, that at the price they charge (for the time of year and vacancy rate) they would not offer a complimentary breakfast buffet. There really was no other place to eat. Everything was/is closed for the season.Cookies and coffee in the lobby would have made it more special. We were told by a local to try the new, upscale restaurant within walking distance of the hotel; when we got there, we found out it closed a 3pm and was only a coffee shop. The area was a disappointment, but that was our own fault for not checking the calendar. The hotel is wonderful and we will return when the summer comes around.

Room tip: Room 422 was very noisy. HVAC unit cycles at 1 minute intervals.there is a loud rolling/banging noise from above
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bea635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd B, General Manager at 1000 Islands Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Bea635

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit with us at the 1000 Islands Harbor Hotel. I am delighted to here that you enjoyed your stay as well as the amenities. Our guest do love the fire pits and enjoy having a cocktail while watching the sunsets.

We do hope to have you back as our guests soon

Sincerely,
Todd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews