We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Gem!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 29 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2011

What a find!!!! Having never stayed at a B & B, we did not know what to expect. The Rose and Thistle exceeded our expectations. From the minute we arrived, Patti and Steve welcomed us to their "home," and we immediately felt like we were visiting old friends. The house is warmly and tastefully decorated to make guests feel right at home. We stayed in a room named Nikki which is one of five guest rooms. We had the opportunity to view most of the other rooms, and all were very special. Each morning at 8:30, an incredibly delicious hot and hearty breakfast was served in the pretty dining room. Steve is an excellent chef! Our only regret was leaving.

Julie and Bruce S.
Calabasas, CA

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2011

Patti & Steve D'Esposito are the innkeepers that keep you coming back every year.
We meet every year for the Baseball Hall of Fame weekend with the same people.
This will be our 9th year.
Our chef Steve is just unbelievable and if you forgot it Patti has it.
Patti and Steve have people for opera, baseball, foliage, and just passing thru.
The more time you spend with Patti & Steve the more you become part of their Cooperstown family.
We love them!!!!!
.The Corona Family -- New Jersey

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlsongbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

What can we say? If you want a fabulous expereince when you are staying in Cooperstown, then make reservations at the Rose & Thistle.

My husband and I were lucky enough to find Steve and Patti, who own and run the 'B&B, over 8 years ago and we have never entertained staying anywhere else when we visit.

We have not only gained our secret getaway but have found two wonderful people whom we consider a part of our family. They go above and beyonnd to take care of their guests and the food is incredible.

When you visit Cooperstown and you don't stay at the Rose & Thistle, you missed out and short changed yourselves.

Do yourself a favor and call Steve and Patti to book today!

Room Tip: All rooms are great and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YANKEESRULE15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Rose and Thistle was a delightful B&B experience for us. The facilities were attractive, comfortable, and clean. The food was delicious and plentiful. Patti and Steve were helpful and interesting hosts and went all out to make us feel welcome. We heartily recommend their establishment to Cooperstown visitors!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annmike20740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Patti and Steve are wonderful hosts! They definitely made our stay more enjoyable than if we had stayed elsewhere. They provided us with a number of recommendations for meals and were very informative to what Cooperstown has to offer. Although we pretty much knew our itinerary was going to be Baseball HOF (2 min drive) and then Ommegang Brewery (15 min drive), Patti and Steve made us wish we had more time to explore Cooperstown. Not to mention, Steve makes a great breakfast.... you will not leave in the morning hungry thats for sure.

If you are looking for a B&B in Cooperstown, stop your search now, and give them a call.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKalbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We enjoyed our first stay at The Rose and Thistle in 2006, that we decided to stay again. We are on a college trip with our daughter in the east coast and decided it would be a nice diversion to go to Cooperstown. What a great way to break up the trip. Patti and Steve are so warm and friendly. We stayed in the Sara Room- third floor, as we did in 2006. Perfect for a family of four. Patti makes a delicious breakfast. We can't wait to visit again! Thank you Patti and Steve for making our second trip so nice.

Room Tip: Sara's Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Proprietors Pattie and Steve will make your stay in Cooperstown enjoyable. Whether giving you the low down on where to eat (both with experience being NYC restuaranteers; Pattie as manager of the Saks 5th Avenue cafe or Steve as a restaurant owner right off Wall Street), telling you how to get around and what to do, or facilitating great conversation at breakfast, this is a great place to stay. It is clean, convenient (yet not in the middle of town) with some great off-season deals and their breakfasts are wonderful to start your day. A great base for visiting the Baseball Hall of Fame and just enjoying Cooperstown.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njpirate62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cooperstown
1.3 km away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
897 reviews
1.3 km away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#3 of 16 in Cooperstown
284 reviews
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Best Western Cooperstown Inn & Suites
1.7 km away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#8 of 16 in Cooperstown
309 reviews
0.8 km away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Address: 132 Chestnut St, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range: $167 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting experience awaits you at this turn-of-the-century Victorian Bed and Breakfast. The Rose and Thistle combines Old World charm and new world luxury to let you experience the bed and breakfast in an elegant tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp and Priceline so you can book your Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing