We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amenities are nice, a few customer service issues.”
Review of Copake KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Copake KOA
Reviewed 8 June 2016

We stayed over Memorial Day weekend in the deluxe cabins with bathrooms. The cabins were small, but clean and quaint. I would recommend asking for the cabins in the shady area, as during the day it is extremely sunny. We were conveniently located next to the store. Cabins had large carpenter ants and definitely needs to be sprayed. Also, we were there in the weekend when the power went out. I recognize that it was managements fault, however, we got the last 2 bags of ice and there was absolutely no effort by management to go and replenish. It seemed like a chore when it still was not stocked the next day...For the store, make sure you carry a lot of cash . $100 cash deposit for cabin, $20 for parking pass. Can't charge on credit less than $10. Band and Dj and activities were great. Arcade games were largely out of order and need to be repaired. Pool was nice and clean, however stairs were slippery and we saw several people almost slip! Proceed with caution. Pool area had plenty of seating. Plastic chairs are not sturdy...definitely need to spend a few extra $ so that patrons are not breaking them at the pool. Wifi is free, however we never had a good signal, so don't count on it for the weekend! Plus, who needs it...this a true family time spot. Overall nice place bit customer service needs a bit of a tune up.

Room Tip: When booking cabins ask for shady area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SarahLillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. Please accept our sincere apologies for the electrical difficulties during your stay, unprecedented heat of 91 degrees during Memorial Day Weekend caused difficulties for our guests and staff as well. We do treat our cabins for ants when any issues are noticed and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We hope you enjoy the remainder of the summer camping season and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2016

The first thing I want to mention is how clean this campground is from the grounds right down to the bathrooms. I recently stayed in their new pet friendly cabins. They have a nice smaller fenced dog friendly area in the front with some agility equipment and a larger fenced area near the pool and mini golf for the dogs to have plenty of room to run around in. As I walked around I noticed they had alot of avtivities for the kids and even the adults. Even though I was traveling alone I felt very secure as you were constantly seeing staff out and about. For this reason even though people were having a good time, I didn't notice anyone out of control ruining it for others. Will be returing this next weekend to give the tents sites a try.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori6234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

Thank you so much for staying with us! We are so glad to hear that the campground was clean and that you were able to enjoy our pet friendly cabins. We do our best to welcome all of our guests, including the ones with four legs. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

This is one of our favorite campgrounds...very clean, nice size sites, tons of activities for the kiddos. However, the way our group was treated by the owners on our last visit was appalling. They were extremely disrespectful and rude on more than one occasion during our stay. I would be the first one to take ownership if we were out of line and being unruly, but that was not the case at all...not sure if they were just overwhelmed by the first big crowd of the year, but their behavior towards their customers was unacceptable to us and unfortunately we will not be back.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Erin10678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. We do ask that all of our guests be respectful of the rules as well as their neighbors so that all our campers can have a great time. Unfortunately, during your recent visit, we had complaints from several guests about the supervision of your children. Additionally, you were very intimidating and threatening towards several of our staff members and made them feel uncomfortable. While we did our best to resolve the issue directly with you, you made it clear that you were going to leave multiple online reviews in retaliation, for which we assume this review is a part. We do value all the feedback we receive from guests and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

We have been to close to 50 campgrounds. I have never seen bigger campsites! When we checked in we were escorted to our site. The gentleman open the sewer cover, electrical box, and ran the water. They also deliver firewood right to your site. The bundles are a good size for the price. We will be back!!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

We're thrilled we were able to impress you during your recent stay, Joseph! We are glad you enjoyed your campsite, our firewood delivery, and our staff member that took you to your campsite. We have a great team here, and we're very proud of them! Thank you so much for your kind review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Great place to stay for everyone. Beautiful scenic roads, local farm stores, amazing museum of fire department, quiet towns with colorful and historic buildings. Many attractions to discover all ages,

Room Tip: We stayed at cozy cabin which was close to all attractions on campsite and I recommend to all parent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Norbert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent trip to the area! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the local area, known for all the wonderful things you described. It really is our own little slice of paradise! We really hope you come back to see us again next season, have a fantastic winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015

This campground never disappoints it's very well-kept and clean and the staff is very friendly. They great have entertainment on special weekends and lots of activities. They have a variety of the theme weekends I dare balloons poker runs Etc.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank marcvan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us and loved our activities as well as the entertainment. We can't wait to see you again and hope you enjoy safe travels until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We love Copake KOA, it is the best.. the best place to camp, the best place to meet new friends and old friends. The best place to play bingo, mini golf, the best place to go on a 4 o'clock wagon ride, the best place to always feel welcome , the best place to feel at home when you aren't home.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bluewazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Copake KOA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent trip to the area! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our activities and amenities like bingo, miniature golf and the hay ride. We go out of our way to make sure everyone feels welcome and really hope you will come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Copake KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copake KOA

Address: 2236 County Route 7, Copake, NY 12516-1417
Region: United States > New York > Copake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Copake
Price Range: $57 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Camping Retreat where three states meet - NY, MA and CT. Wherever you are, we're not far from your front door. We are open every season from Mother's Day weekend to Columbus Day weekend, but we welcome advance reservations anytime! We are located in Columbia County two hours from New York City. Enjoy our themed weekends with corresponding themed fun and daily activities (in the months of July and August)! Our campground provides many amenities with sports fields, mini golf, game room, swimming pool, cable TV, wi-fi and 30/50 amp full hook rv sites! Leave the tent at home and rent one of our Deluxe Cabins (a bathroom inside!) Or our one room cabins tucked in the woods near our spotlessly clean bathhouse! With a park that is rated in the top 10% of all campgrounds in the United States by KOA and Trailer Life you will be guaranteed to have a super great time. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing