We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your a zombie fan...”
Review of NYZ Apocalypse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
NYZ Apocalypse
Reviewed December 15, 2015

If you like to be scared, chased or just a friendly survival compitation with friend and lots of screaming then this is the place for you. staff is a lil pushy but if works with the enviroment, there is cussing so if you are bringing children along be aware of this, at the time of our visit there was a make up artist there who would do your make up for $$. all and all it was fun for us and the kids, make sure to check your scores before giving in your tags

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank braunsnieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fun experience"
in 2 reviews
"saturday night"
in 2 reviews
"rifle"
in 3 reviews
"laser"
in 3 reviews
"zombie"
in 9 reviews
"shoot"
in 4 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 15 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2015

If you are a fan of the Walking Dead and you want to feel what it is like to have to survive, then go down to NYZ and try it out. I don't want to give away anything about the experience but I will tell you that it blew away my expectations being a local attraction and not in the heart of Disney or Universal (but it may as well be). It is so professionally put together and the workers are all top notch.

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2015

From the moment you arrive the experience starts. Everyone is in character from the second you line up at the door. Be prepared for a boot camp like experience, you're yelled at and bossed around. The staff keeps things moving, from registration to training. Once trained on their weapons systems and given a rundown on the history of the Apollo Prison you are escorted down to the prison levels. Unfortunately things deteriorated quickly and your thrust into a kill or be killed environment. The undead have made themselves at home, there are very few friendlies once you descend.

The owners and staff have done a great job setting this up. If you go in the warmer months be prepared for some heat, no AC, kind of fits in with the theme, power was lost and the undead are on the loose. Aside from the lack of AC, we had gone during the summer, my only complaint was the amount of time it lasted...not nearly long enough...we were having so much fun we were disappointed it ended so quickly. We splurged on the deluxe package and even that wasn't long enough. They'll allow groups of 5 or so, but we found that to be a little restrictive, 4 would have been perfect which is how many we were the second time we did this. The spaces can be a little confining and you want to be able to move freely and get your weapon on target quickly. We used the rifles, excellent mock ups of M4s. They had the look and feel, not to mention the action, of an actual assault rifle, very well designed.

This is a laser tag game when all is said and done. The zombies have sensor collars that you need to hit when shooting them. Players also have sensors that record your 'death'...when a zombie gets close enough you are 'infected.' Fear not, they never actually touch you, there is no inappropriate contact.

All in all just a great time. My wife, all 5'1 of her, had a ball. She was the one who found the information and organized our adventure. We plan on going again soon. I was top dog the first time through, and placed second when we went back a couple weeks later. Some may consider it a little pricey for the amount of time it lasts, but considering the effort put into it by the owners and staff it was worth it to us.

Excellent!

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2015 via mobile

The first time I went here was Halloween. The line was 2 hours long! So that was an indication that this is a fun place. However, it is pricey, for me at least. $35 is what we paid. It doesn't sound so bad because it was a lot of fun. But it was only 15 minutes of fun for my friends and I. There's an extra level for an extra charge if you want to shoot zombies for another minute.

All in all it was fun. I would recommend it to anyone. Especially to anyone with a friend that gets scared easily. You can only go in in groups of 5 so think about the number of people you're going to take. Groups consisting of 3 people and under will most likely be joined by another small group on a busy night.

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank flipinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2015 via mobile

We went with 8 people and had a killer time blasting zombies. If you like all the zombie shows and movies you will absolutely love this. You get to shoot zombies and get scared at the same time, it was one of the best times we have ever had. We will be doing again and again. HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!!!!!!

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank BigChris73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NYZ Apocalypse also viewed

 
Hicksville, Long Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing