We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
The front of Old Smithy situated in the village centre on the village green
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of Old Smithy situated in the village centre on the village green
The view of the house from the village green First floor lounge room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
The front of Old Smithy situated in the village centre on the village green
The view of the house from the village green
First floor lounge room
First floor lounge room with open fire and wooden floors
First floor lounge room stairs to second floor external door leading to stone steps
First floor lounge room seating for eight
Ground  floor living area beamed ceiling
Ground floor living area multi-fuel stove
Ground floor living and dining area
Ground floor dining and open plan kitchen
Ground floor open plan kitchen, dining and living area
First floor double bedroom door leading to bathroom
First floor double bedroom
Second floor landing area and twin bedroom
Second floor twin bedroom
Second floor twin bedroom
Second floor additional single bed on landing area
Second floor double bedroom
Second floor double bedroom
Ground floor double bedroom en-suite shower room
Ground floor ensuite shower room
First floor bathroom, bath and overhead shower
First floor bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Garrigill, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
emma s
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a fantastic stay at The Old Smithey, accommodation was perfect, thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend to anyone :

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Glad you enjoyed yourselves, thanks for the review.
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Booked at very short notice due to weather being too poor for camping - owner sorted everything out for us through holiday lettings website. Cottage was fantastic and met by owners who were so welcoming and friendly - as was the lovely cleaner who was called out to prepare the cottage for us so quickly!! . Our party size was 4 adults, 3 children and 1 infant. More than enough room, safe for kids and very warm and cosy. All facilities were excellent and even had wifi which worked perfectly. Pictures shown are brilliant on website but being in the cottage for real they don't do it justice as it's beautiful. Excellent value for money and would recommend to everyone and anyone. Thank u both very much Angela and Paul for a perfect 3 night stay! Xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Glad you enjoyed yourselves, thanks for the review.
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitingoya...
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and Comfortable cottage”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage at beautiful place.
Had a fantastic weekend and stay in Old Smithy. It was a very nice drive till Old smithy bit far from Lake district but we forget the distance once we reach the place.

Thanks Paul for such a nice accommodation.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed it.
See you soon.
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxjadey86...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed April 30, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

a group of 8 of us decided we needed an escape to the country so decided on this little beauty! generally you think ooh the pictures look lovely but i wonder if its as lovely when i get there! well i can tell you 100% it is! beautiful 3 floor place, it had beautiful views and was exceptionally clean! the fact of 2 living rooms was fantastic also as we had people down the bottom floor and then a number of us on the middle floor watching TV with the beautiful log fire lit keeping us all warm! the price is definitely reasonable for the place and i would recommend this to all! the place is out in the middle of nowhere but would be fantastic for anyone who liked walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful log fires on both floors
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2015
Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed it.
See you soon.
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean G
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“home from home”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival we received a very warm welcome. Everything was as advertised with the property and we soon settled in. Our one week stay at the old smithy was relaxing and at no point were we disappointed with what the property had to offer. We would recommend booking St Johns pool for a fantastic family activity (this is £25 for one hour hire of a pool \ jacuzzi\sauna - literally a stones throw from the house). The local pub was lovely. Recently reopened and the couple in charge were very friendly, a must visit if you're in garrigill. The walks nearby are breathtaking. The local residents made us feel so welcome. Happy to answer any local questions we had. This holiday home will take you away from a usual busy life schedule and takes you back to family basics enjoying all of what garrigill has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed your stay.
See you again soon
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
Glad you enjoyed yourselves, thanks for the review.
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
phildisbu...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The first thing to mention is that the area in which the cottage is set is beautiful. The cottage itself is very nice, well-appointed and makes a good use of space. The cottage owner was polite, helpful and friendly, which helps you to be more disposed to enjoying the break to start with. The local village of Alston was beautiful too and you could pretty much buy everything you're likely to need there.

For travellers who look to make an issue of every small thing (see the one-star review) there were some very minor things to complain about but why make issues of insignificant stuff, life's too short to be so grumpy.

The only thing we genuinely found to be an issue was that the cottage wasn't very baby friendly, no cot, high-chair or functioning safety gate available, so we had to feed the baby on knees, bring our own travel cot and get off our behinds and chase the him round a bit more...but that helps to burn off the holiday cooked breakfasts.

We had a great time all in all and would recommend the cottage.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2015
Glad you enjoyed it and we will try to get a high chair in the near future.
Hope to see you again
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing