We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired”
Review of Blackthorne Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in East Durham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blackthorne Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in East Durham
Reviewed 18 November 2017

This used to be a great family run place. Seems one person calling all the shots is sinking it. No money put back into tired overpriced rooms. "forced to take deluxe package" includes meals so bad we cood for ourselves on a barbque we purchased.
During their bike week BJ's water 2 bucks a bottle, 8 oz tap beer 4.00, this is the catskills, not manhattan. Spend your hard earned money elsewhere. There are 2 Brothers Roy and Dale. Both down to earth guys if you need to deal with someone there.

Room Tip: rooms have not been updated since 80's. when they are its with used furniture bought at auction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

What a wonderful place to spend a Halloween weekend. Dale took us on a wonderful tour of the area - The fall colours were spectacular. The staff were wonderful - Food was delicious - Our room was large so we had plenty of room for our costumes :) We had a fabulous time at the event. We plan to return next year for the Steampunk weekend

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

This was our first time going to this rally and we camped offsite at the Whip o will campground,A really nice campground. Didn't know what to expect but read about how friendly the cmt peeps are so.We decided to go Friday. Payed 100.00 per couple to get in, wasn't very happy about that. There were no signs to tell you where anything was,It least I didn't see any. Checked out the vendors and noticed that the band member from Quiot Riot was standing next to me so I aked if he;d mind if I took a picture. He say, yeah but make it quick. Im thinking ,how long does I picture take and thought that's a little rude. And said that's ok not many people will know who you are anyway so nevermind.. Found our way to the concert area and a child was standing in front of me and her mother was in fenced area and apparently this 10 yr old wanted to be with her mother and they were arguing the entire time the music was playing. Stupid mother. The staff security guy finally let the child in cause he couldn't stand it anymore either. Definetly not worth the money and will not be going back to rally. The area is beautiful,so next time we skip rally and just ride

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank michelle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Place is totally remodeled and looks fantastic. Went there for dinner and sat outside. Food was great and the new outside patio was even better. Outside they have fire pits. Several different games for outdoors. A stage for bands. A beautiful outside bar with tv's to watch bflo bills games on Sunday.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jonim40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

A friend and her daughter and my daughter and I stayed here for the Catskill Feis, which Blackthorne hosts every year. I misread the website and when I called to clarify, was a little shocked that it was $178 per person for the weekend. Their cancellation policy is 2 WEEKS in advance, so we ended up staying. The first thing that was noted was that the sliding glass door was installed backwards and only had a hook and eye lock that could very easily have been opened from the outside. The bathtub was disgusting and didn't drain, and the sink was filthy. It didn't appear as though the coffee pot had been cleaned either. The fridge froze everything and there was no wifi with poor service. The sheets had something brown on them as well. Dinner was ok the first night, no complaints about breakfast and dinner the second night was good. We did have to go though several different plates and coffee cups before we finally found clean ones. I will say that we complained about the tub and it was taken care of quickly, however, we also complained about the filthy sink and that was NOT cleaned. The grounds are adorable with cute outdoor decorations. The pool looked nice from a distance but we didn't go in. This was the third year of my daughter competing in this competition but the first year of staying at the resort. I, unfortunately, will say that it will be the last!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank PatGabM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Just spent the weekend here. Very fun, campground atmosphere and entertaining pub for the evenings, but ownership/management needs to spend some money on cleaning, updates, and amenities! Most of the facilities are severely outdated and run down. There was garbage all over the grounds especially in the pool area. The pool itself was disgusting and given the amount of dirt and debris on the bottom each morning obviously not cleaned overnight despite the extremely heavy traffic each day. Rooms smelled of mold and had zero amenities other than an old coffee pot with no coffee and towels you could use as sand paper. The lights were constantly flickering and some rooms randomly blew fuses. Meals were ok and the wait staff in the dining hall was terrific.

Room Tip: Try your own bungalow/cabin and not a hotel room in Tara Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 646tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We have been going to East Durham for years. We really enjoy it up there but RV camping is limited. The Blackthorne is the only place you can park, enjoy music and a few drinks without having to drive. They really hit you hard to camp. Two adults, $30.00 each. kids are 1/2 price at $15.00 each. Per night. $90.00 a night to camp. For water and electric.
We still go say hello to our friends and of course The Staple of the Catskills, Peter, but we will not camp there. Not worth the hassle and expense.
I don't mind paying to camp but those rates are unreal.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Durham
21.5 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
13.7 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
303 reviews
13.8 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 km away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#3 of 5 in Hunter
129 reviews
18.2 km away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 3 in Tannersville
441 reviews
17.7 km away
The Sun View
The Sun View
#3 of 3 in Tannersville
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackthorne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackthorne Resort

Address: 348 Sunside Rd, East Durham, Durham, NY 12423-1636
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Durham > East Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in East Durham
Price Range: $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are just here to relax or out for fun. Blackthorne has all there is to offer. Enjoy everything from Lodging, Dining, Dancing, Top Notch Entertainment to Indoor and Outdoor Recreation. We have it all!Nestled amidst the breathtaking beautyof the Northern Catskills Mountains, The Blackthorne Resort offers all the comfort and luxury you desire.Terrace views to the majestic mountains, air conditioning, heat, television, and privatebaths. Ultra Deluxe rooms with queen sizebeds, refrigerator, and Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackthorne Hotel East Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing