We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECTION”
Review of The 1770 House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The 1770 House
Ranked #4 of 12 East Hampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“PERFECTION”
Reviewed 12 April 2011

My daughter and I decided to have a break in the Hamptons and we are so glad we chose this beautiful and welcoming inn. We made our reservation less than 24 hrs prior to our arrival. The receptionist was cheery and helpful. When we arrived from our exhausting international flight we were pleased to find we had been upgraded to the most delightful and cozy room number three.

Although weary upon arrival, our spirits lifted as we drew up outside the property. The inn was story-book perfect, complete with roaring fire. We were greeted by friendly and efficient staff who checked us in, took care of our (very heavy) baggage and parked our car for us. Room three was absolutely delightful. We showered in the beautifully equipped marble bathroom. The Frette towels and Molten Brown toiletries were plentiful and much appreciated. We both had a most wonderfully restful night courtesy of the immaculate Frette bedlinen, perfectly weighted duvet and supremely comfortable mattress and pillows.

Waking refreshed and ready to explore we descended the stairs to the dining room for breakfast. The food at the inn was glorious and the waiting staff were most proficient and pleasant. Standards were high and consistent.

We loved eating our evening meals downstairs in the tavern. We enjoyed the food and wine immensely and met some wonderfully interesting and genuinely warm people. I cannot recommend the food enough. Fresh produce, immaculately prepared and presented, ten out of ten.

The inn is professionally run by the most pleasant and helpful staff. The housekeeping staff assured the highest levels of cleanliness and comfort. The food was consistently delicious and the waiting staff were always efficient and friendly. The receptionists and reservation staff were most helpful and accommodating.

All of these combined to make our stay at the 1770 House perfect. We cannot wait to return and are already planning our return visit.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oodlesofnoodles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol1770, General Manager at The 1770 House, responded to this review, 14 April 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at The 1770 House and for taking the time to write.
We look forward to hosting your next stay in East Hampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    11
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
63
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We recently stayed in the carriage house with our two teenage sons for 3 nights. We had arrived from NYC a little early for check in so they stored our bags and we headed into the main street just a few minutes walk away with recommendations on where to eat lunch.
Back at 1770 house, we were very happy with the set up and the comfort of the accommodation. Upstairs our boys had their own bathroom with single beds and we had the spacious King room downstairs with en suite. The butlers pantry came with a fridge, dishwasher. crockery and glassware.
The weather was perfect for sitting on our private veranda with a glass of wine but all the outdoor furniture tables were covered over so we could not enjoy that area at all.
Breakfast times and format changed from buffet to service style which we found a bit confusing.
We had minimal contact with the staff, but when we did they were helpful and polite but not intrusive.
I must admit that given the price we payed for the accommodation, I was a bit surprised to see that the Frette towels in the bathroom were fraying and threadbare.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank March3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stayed at The Carriage House, which is a separate dependance in the back of the hotel's main building. Advantage are privacy (separate entrance), quiet (away from Main Street) and two bed / two baths, which is great for more than 3 or 4 people. Location on Main Street is perfect for just about everything you want to do in/around East Hampton. Rooms are very tidy and clean, furniture good as well. Service varies depending on who you talk to, best to speak to the owner/manager directly if you want things to happen promptly. Otherwise, patience may be required. Breakfast was ok, but nothing to write home about, which is why we did not try the restaurant. But as there are a ton of great restaurants in the neighbourhood, that is really no big deal. The only slight drawback (which is to be expected in East Hamption) is the price, which is at the top end for what you are getting. This much being said, most other hotels in the area are in the same price league.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morningstar2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Finding somewhere to stay of quality in the Hamptons is not easy, and we chose the 1770 House.The location is great at the end of Main St. We were in room 6 which was honestly represented on the website - the bathroom however is tiny, nowhere to put your washbag or even tooth brush....it is also on the ground floor overlooking the gardens so you have to have the blinds down all the time as otherwise everyone can look into the bedroom and bathroom. There is coffee and tea available from 7 every morning and then a cooked breakfast. The staff are charming but it is not a service venue. The food in the restaurant is spectacularly good as was everything we ate in East Hampton. The bed was an American King,very comfortable and that was important to us - the sheets, towels and toiletries provided were Molton Brown so hight quality. Overall I would recommend but it is Four Seasons prices for a top end boarding house.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gablegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford, NY
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Our stay was perfect from beginning to end!! Will definately return!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhondabedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London / Copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Really amazing place in the Hamptons. Food perfect and prices reasonable given the quality & setting. Not to be missed if you want a break from the big city.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacobsrnsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Stayed at the inn for the second time last week for 2 nights. We stayed in the best room as we did last year. The room had a nice fireplace and a great bathroom but a feww things that bothered me last year still remained. First you could not change channels on the tv. The changer would not work. I spoke to the woman at the desk who called in the cable company, when i returned that night it worked for 1 hour then went off again. Another woman explained that it happens alot but that is not acceptable when the Yankees were playing and you cannot manually change on the tv itself either. The room only has 1 window that opens so the room was always hot. The food was excellent but for the cost I would not stay there again

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank epr306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
17.8 km away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
9.5 km away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
10.4 km away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
East Hampton House
East Hampton House
#1 of 2 in East Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.7 km away
The Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn
#1 of 12 in East Hampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
10.7 km away
East Hampton Art House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1770 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1770 House

Property: The 1770 House
Address: 143 Main St, East Hampton, NY 11937-2716
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The 1770 House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, three-story house bordered by a white picket fence embodies traditional Colonial appeal. Built in the mid 1600's, some original architecture remains, especially in the lounge, with its beautiful wood paneling and ceiling beams.Rooms vary in size and each has a sitting area, some have a fireplace.The 1770 House has two fine restaurants. The Tavern, a favorite for Hamptons locals, has a tiny bar, fireplace, famous meatloaf and other casual fare. The main dining room is more elegant and sophisticated, serving a contemporary American menu with a Wine Spectator award winning wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The 1770 House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1770 House Hotel East Hampton
1770 Hotel
The 1770 House East Hampton, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing