We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The 1770 House
Nearby Hotels
Topping Rose House(Bridgehampton)(Great Value!)
US$1,295
US$1,256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baron's Cove(Sag Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$1,104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Colony Beach and Tennis Club(Amagansett)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ocean Vista Resort(Amagansett)
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood on the Ocean(Montauk)(Great Value!)
US$217
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Hampton House(East Hampton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Resort(Amagansett)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
93
14
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
93
14
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeatloafand flat screen tvperfect place to get awayhotel businessthe foie gras appetizerhelpful suggestionsfive yearsprivate bathroomoff seasonlovely townvery special placeout of this worldcontinental breakfastexceeded our expectationsperfect staythe general managerat home
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 119 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We recently stayed in the carriage house with our two teenage sons for 3 nights. We had arrived from NYC a little early for check in so they stored our bags and we headed into the main street just a few minutes walk away with recommendations on where to eat lunch.
Back at 1770 house, we were very happy with the set up and the comfort of the accommodation. Upstairs our boys had their own bathroom with single beds and we had the spacious King room downstairs with en suite. The butlers pantry came with a fridge, dishwasher. crockery and glassware.
The weather was perfect for sitting on our private veranda with a glass of wine but all the outdoor furniture tables were covered over so we could not enjoy that area at all.
Breakfast times and format changed from buffet to service style which we found a bit confusing.
We had minimal contact with the staff, but when we did they were helpful and polite but not intrusive.
I must admit that given the price we payed for the accommodation, I was a bit surprised to see that the Frette towels in the bathroom were fraying and threadbare.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank March3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed at The Carriage House, which is a separate dependance in the back of the hotel's main building. Advantage are privacy (separate entrance), quiet (away from Main Street) and two bed / two baths, which is great for more than 3 or 4 people. Location on Main Street is perfect for just about everything you want to do in/around East Hampton. Rooms are very tidy and clean, furniture good as well. Service varies depending on who you talk to, best to speak to the owner/manager directly if you want things to happen promptly. Otherwise, patience may be required. Breakfast was ok, but nothing to write home about, which is why we did not try the restaurant. But as there are a ton of great restaurants in the neighbourhood, that is really no big deal. The only slight drawback (which is to be expected in East Hamption) is the price, which is at the top end for what you are getting. This much being said, most other hotels in the area are in the same price league.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morningstar2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Finding somewhere to stay of quality in the Hamptons is not easy, and we chose the 1770 House.The location is great at the end of Main St. We were in room 6 which was honestly represented on the website - the bathroom however is tiny, nowhere to put your washbag or even tooth brush....it is also on the ground floor overlooking the gardens so you have to have the blinds down all the time as otherwise everyone can look into the bedroom and bathroom. There is coffee and tea available from 7 every morning and then a cooked breakfast. The staff are charming but it is not a service venue. The food in the restaurant is spectacularly good as was everything we ate in East Hampton. The bed was an American King,very comfortable and that was important to us - the sheets, towels and toiletries provided were Molton Brown so hight quality. Overall I would recommend but it is Four Seasons prices for a top end boarding house.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gablegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Our stay was perfect from beginning to end!! Will definately return!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhondabedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Really amazing place in the Hamptons. Food perfect and prices reasonable given the quality & setting. Not to be missed if you want a break from the big city.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacobsrnsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews