We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainy night gathering of friends”

Highway Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Highway Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 72 Restaurants in East Hampton
Price range: US$35 - US$50
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

Exceptional service! Greeted with a smile by our Bartender. He made one of the best lemon drop martinis I have ever had. Delivered with a smile despite the overcrowded bar area. My friends Gin and Tonic also well executed. We didn’t make a reservation as we sillily thought it’s raining no one will be about! Ha! But we were seated in a timely manner. Our waiter brought out menus and told us specials. We had all 3 specials with a nice bottle of Piedmont wine! The only odd thing was our wine was presented for review but taken from the table to be opened across the room... hence a 4 star review. Our shrimp tempura, halibut and Fra diablo shrimp pasta were delicious. Service from all staff was cheerful even when they were double seated! Good food, good service, but wine service could be improved.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Goddessofthegrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 61 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

It was just that. Food was good. Just not great. Service was attentive. Entrees: Chicken - very good, but not worth the price. Halibut special - good, small portion, very expensive. (You should have mentioned it was $44). Appetizers: Farro salad - okay. Pork buns. Also okay.
Wines by the glass - nice selection, but also, quite expensive.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank NYFoodDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018

The atmosphere is lovely as was the personalities of the servers but other than the men busing the tables (who did a great job) our lovely waitress was un-attentive. Never came by to ask if we want bread or wine with our meal which we did... not for dessert. The food was tasty but not as great as it's reputation also pricey for what we got. The presentation was fine. The special was at least $10 more than the average main cost which should have been mentioned ($43 for halibut and veggies in the large bowl).
The cocktails looked good but also not great.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 15ARC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2018

Our first time here after many trips to the Hamptons and we were pleased that the interior was so different from the exterior. Service was prompt, seating comfortable and food was okay. We were surprised that the dress was so casual but we now know. Not sure this would be a "must do" on every visit though. Prices for certain wines just a little high and entrees just a little too trendy for our tastes. We hear the low season specials though are terrific.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank IrishFan-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2018

The highway used to have the best food and service in the hamptons..but those days have passed based on the last few visits.

Seems like there is a change going on at the restaurant ..the service has dropped several levels ...and the food has lost some of its luster... it took 40 mins to get drinks and wine ..and almost 90 min for our entrees ..also several of the dishes were sold out by 8 pm ..quite bizarre ...this restaurant used to have great roast chicken, langoustines,kale salad, and yes peking duck ..why not its long island ... but if you can't get a drink..or the birds are dry..the experience is more pain then pleasure...now its true that the chef might have had a night off...or that the wait staff seems to be new to teh restaurant ..but at $100/head on average ..they ship needs to be tight or it will end up like Almondito..( the prior restaurant in the location )..dead after a few years of transition .... lets hope that the whip gets cracked and highway returns to its prior form ...

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank worldview123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highway Restaurant & Bar also viewed

East Hampton, Hamptons
 
East Hampton, Hamptons
East Hampton, Hamptons
 
East Hampton, Hamptons
East Hampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Highway Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing