We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
28
20
3
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
20
3
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach dune road full kitchen come prepared the cottages granola bars living room young staff luxury hotel fire pit location is amazing wonderful beach thoroughly enjoyed our stay chairs and umbrellas a great stay unlimited water tyler
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 67 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

This hotel had all the ingredients to be a fantastic hotel with its location. However being badly run and misrepresented in description and corresponding price meant it was a massive let down. The room we had was allegedly a suite and a nearly $500 per night for a 2 bedroom room it was a disgrace. The ‘imported cotton sheets’ were grey with dirty marks and the sheets in the sofa bed clearly had not been changed . There was mould on the shower curtain , food on the floor, food left in the freezer , the fridge handle was sticky and grimy there was no shampoo etc . There was insufficient bedding available for the sofa bed . Had we paid $100 / night, I would have said we had what we paid for !
We didn’t check in til 630 pm so it is not that we arrived early . It took 15 mins to get hold of someone to check in . The guy was totally unhelpful and unprofessional and clearly could not give a damn about customer service . It was a shockingly overpriced and run down hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank niccim2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

Our first time here. Usually we go to Cape Cod.
Loved the location and private beach which included chairs,towels,umbrellas,drinks.
Also,burgers,dogs,snacks at no extra charge 24/7. Mini muffins, bagels,granola bars,oatmeal,coffee,tea in a.m
The young staff is extremely accomodating.
Bed and pillows very comfortable. White bedding and towels very clean.
Ocean Resort is a small,old school,beach hotel. You dont need to worry bout tracking sand in as you're living on the beach.
If you're looking for high end decor and accommodations this is not the place for you. If you are comfortable in a laid back, quirky, somewhat bohemian environment, you will enjoy it here.
We will be returning next year!

Paula and Rob

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank psparro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

We booked ‘the penthouse suite’ to stay as a family of five for $450 a night. From the moment we arrived we knew it was worth less than $100 dollars a night. As we got into the reception area there were cobwebs everywhere and hornets nests, no staff were to be seen we waited about 15 minutes before a staff member showed up. When we eventually got to ‘the penthouse suite’ which is better described as a wooden motor hotel room, it was dirty- with dirty sheets, stained shower curtains, no shampoo not even bath soap, food in the freezer, sticky kitchen surfaces, squashed food on the floor and poorly made beds. They were aware there was five guests and yet only four beds made, when we asked for the sofa bed to be made the staff member simply pulled the sofa bed out left it how it was and said ‘bed made’ without any pillows, duvets etc and dirty sheets. There seemed to be no adult member of staff around who could take responsibility and solve the problems. After waiting over half an hour for the issues to be solved by an unhelpful, obstructive member of staff, my family and I decided the room wasn’t even up to scratch to stay in especially for just under $1000 for two nights.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Niamorga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnab333, Manager at Hampton Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

To allow our staff time to thoroughly clean and inspect each room, our standard check-in time is 4:00 PM, although many times rooms are available much earlier. Like your party, many of our guests arrive early in the day and enjoy our cushioned chaises and hammock loungers on the beach, our beach umbrellas and towel service, our shower and changing room off of the lobby, complimentary beverages and snacks from our oceanfront cooler and lobby refrigerators, and our complementary grills for lunch. We made a mistake allowing you early access to your room before it was serviced for check-in, to allow you to leave your bags and change. Of course the items left by the previous guests would have been thoroughly cleaned out before check-in. We offer an old world bungalow style resort experience with sand and waves and fresh salt air, with a reception area open to the ocean and bay with fresh breezes, and we take pride in keeping our facility as clean as possible throughout every day. While we did not find what you saw by reception we did give it another thorough cleaning. We are sorry we could not agree to negotiate your room rate to less than half of the rate you agreed to pay on your confirmation, and we hope you did enjoy your day on the beach with our complimentary amenities anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2018

I travelled with a group of friends for a ladies beach vacation in July. The hotel is perfect for a low key beach vacation. The rooms are updated, very clean and comfortable with great AC, strong shower pressure and high quality sheets and towels. The beach is beautiful and the complimentary padded beach chairs and umbrellas are a big plus. Complementary water and soft drinks are in coolers throughout the property and the lobby has complimentary snacks and a basic breakfast.

One highlight of the trip was the manager, Tyler. He was extremely accommodating and attentive. He went out of his way to make sure we had a great stay and surprised us with a bottle of wine upon arrival.

Highly recommend for a relaxing beach vacation. Think wonderful beach cottage, not Ritz Carlton, and you will be very happy.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank marcytk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Location is AMAZING! Dune road is so special and it has a beach on both sides of the hotel. Rooms are simple but comfy!
I highly suggest this hotel, my family had a blast.
Staff was really great and we loved the amenities.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Aviva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews