We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Access to Glimmerglass Opera”

A White Rose Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Plain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A White Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Fort Plain B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We just spent last weekend here. This is our second year in a row to stay at this B&B while we take an opera weekend at Glimmerglass in Cooperstown. It's a pleasant 30 minute ride to Glimmerglass. The hosts are friendly, gracious and accommodating. The property is well-kept. The breakfast is always a special treat. We stayed in the room with ensuite bath. Bed is very comfy. Good strong WiFi, TV and AC in the room. We'll be back again next year.

Room Tip: We recommend the suite if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RonJohn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017

If you're planning to stay in the Fort Plain area, this is the place to stay. The rooms are super and everything is fresh and feels new. Melissa is a very friendly and thoughtful host. We were biking the Erie Canal trail so she offered transportation to and from dinner and even asked if we needed anything washed. Breakfast was home cooked, healthy and hearty. Rooms have all the amenities of a hotel including AC, TV and wifi. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim6069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We stayed here while riding in a local horse competition. It was great - lovely place - the hosts are really friendly and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. The room was nicely furnished and the beds very comfortable. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H, Owner at A White Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Thank you Susan, we hope you do come back and visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We needed a place to stay on our way to Albany, and we were so lucky to find the White Rose Bed and Breakfast! It is an historic house with many beautiful and interesting antiques! Our room was very clean with a comfortable bed and beautiful private bathroom. The breakfast was exceptional! Melissa's son is an executive chef, and we could see where he learned cooking skills! Melissa is an outstanding cook, and we had a delicious omelette, along with toast, a slice of heirloom tomato and homemade lemon bread! And don't forget the yogurt parfait with fresh fruit! Good thing I was about to bike sixty miles!!!! Melissa is a warm and welcoming hostess, and we enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiergirlBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H, Owner at A White Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you and look forward to your return to A White Rose in the future. Hope you enjoyed your bike ride!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

A White Rose Bed and Breakfast is the place to stay when you are in the Fort Plain NY area. The house is beautifully decorated and very clean and comfortable. Melissa and Joe are super host! The breakfast prepared by Melissa was homemade, very delicious and filling. We stayed in the White Rose Suite where we could sleep 3 and it had its own private bath. We were biking the Erie Canal Bike Path and it is approximately one mile from the path. It is located in a safe neighborhood. We stayed there on a Saturday night and as a added bonus there was a Catholic Church next store where we went to church on Sunday morning. The White Rose also has free WiFi that our daughter loved. Finally, the cost for the night was very reasonable.

Room Tip: White Rose Suite has a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Treetopper2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H, Owner at A White Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Thank you for your kind words and your stay with us! Joe and I meet wonderful people! We hope you can stay with us in the future. Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

My brother, mother and I spent a delightful evening at A White Rose while cycling on the Erie Canal. It is located in the enchanting Mohawk Valley of New York. The accommodations were very inviting and comfortable after a long day of riding. The rooms are decorated with charm and wit, in great condition and very clean. It was cool enough to sleep with the windows open but there is air conditioning as well.

The hosts were friendly and knowledgeable about the region as well as the cycling route we were exploring. The breakfast was wonderful and plentiful! Great fuel for cycling or any other adventures.

A White Rose is easy to find and to get to by bicycle or car. There is secure bike storage on site.

Would highly recommend A White Rose and would gladly stay here again if I am fortunate enough to further explore this lovely area.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eminva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa H, Owner at A White Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

It was great meeting you! Thanks again and I do hope you visit A White Rose in the future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Three of us stayed there my spouse and our friend. It was our third night of a 50 mile walk on the Erie Canal. This is a great place to stay with fine hosts and a great breakfast. We would stay again if we were in the area

Room Tip: I think there are only 3 rooms look in the WEB
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to A White Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A White Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 105 Reid St, Fort Plain, NY 13339-1338
Region: United States > New York > Fort Plain
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Plain
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing