We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Oceane Self Catering(La Passe)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Chateau St Cloud(La Digue Island)
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel L'Ocean(La Digue Island)
US$229
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
La Digue Self-Catering Apartments(La Passe)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Casa De Leela(La Digue Island)
US$129
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Patatran Village Hotel(La Digue Island)
US$289
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bernique Guesthouse(La Digue Island)
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
La Digue Island Lodge(La Digue Island)
US$401
US$277
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Cocotier du Rocher(La Digue Island)
US$124
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (2,050)
Filter reviews
2,050 results
Traveller rating
1,218
524
177
90
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,218
524
177
90
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden villaa la carte restaurantoutdoor bathroombuggy servicepool barour honeymoonturn down servicethe general managerbeautiful poolbest hotel on the islandbuggy driversguest relationsevening buffetgolf cartbeautiful islandnatural materialshalf board
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 2,050 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Location:
La Digue lives from its nature - however all corals are dead and the water is therefore quite boring (but still with a lot of „rest-corals“ where kids can get hurt).
The best about La Digue is making photos. They will look so great that everybody envies you. But after 4-5 days you will have no idea anymore of what to do (that includes boat trips to snorkeling areas).
The island has a „one-road“ concept with all the life happening there. Speeds can be very different which can lead to interesting situations (like having to cross the road to go for dinner and being almost killed by a very fast biker without light). Somehow funny. This was also the first time that somebody was taking us for an excursion - and the person came by bike and we had to follow walking. Monty Python could not have done it in a better way.

Hotel:
Wonderful hillside-villas. Beautiful Spa location! Comfortable villas. Road needs to be crossed to reach the main facilities of the hotel.
Food was excellent. Not a huge variety and sometimes not a quick replenishment - but great taste and a family ambience.
The restaurant personnel made that difference through their friendliness and proactivity (especially Vinay).

Room/Villa:
Very suitable and nice atmosphere. The neighbors are very near - also the next hotel (or no hotel ? and rather a construction site while we were there).

Summary:
Above standard hotel which we would visit again when sea / coral life is re-installed again.
(It hurts to see that the excursion boats throw their anchors into the corals and then dozens of untrained people „crash“ through the sea-life. They should start to protect, ask for high fees and require trained personnel).

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

I again spent my holiday on my most favorite place. Island La Digue and Le Domaine de L´Orangeraie are quaranty of best holiday in tropical paradise. I´m traveling all around the world, visiting best hotels and restaurants, but I never write review. Generally I´m very satisfied, but only La Digue and Le Domaine I can name as my second home. This paradise island with the most beautiful beaches, fresh tropical rainforest, wild nature and especially crystal azure warm ocean makes me always feel so happy. As well all hotel staff were as always very kind, pleasant and professional. All our stay was amazing. We really enjoyed. Food, wine, cocktails.Villa was clean. We received all what we wished. And. I never look at tininesses. Im realy happy that I have opportunity to spend my holiday at this place. One more time I want to thank all the staff

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Januschka15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

We went to get cocktails by the pool on a hot, sunny day. The Barman booted us out of the pool unceremoniously, saying we had the option of paying an exorbitant fee for pool use, or that we had 10 minutes to finish our cocktails before we had to leave. The cocktails themselves were hideously overpriced. Not impressed

Stayed: March 2018
2  Thank michelle19902017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B, General Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear michelle19902017 ,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review ,we understand your frustration about our Swimming pool access clearly displayed at the entrance of the resort .
Usually our external guests ask about the use before jumping in the pool , which avoids such misunderstanding ..

However , we will be delighted to welcome you at Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie for your next stay on ;La Digue .

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

We have just finished our staying at “Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie”. It is, with no doubts, the best hotel of La Digue. The rooms are clean, spacious, elegant and comfortable. The Charme Villa’s bathroom is as wonderful as the environment in which it is located. The staff is always kind, polite and ready to answer your questions. The Santosha’s buffet, used for breakfast and dinner, is good but not excellent.
The drinks in the pool bar are too much expensive compared to other LaDigue’s bars.
The pool and it’s surroundings are breathtaking, but there was only one problem: at 6pm the personnel started to tidy up the sun beds and all the other stuff, when the sun was still shining in the sky. At 6pm they said that we could not lie down no more. We asked for towels, always at 6pm, but towels were not available anymore.
Furthermore the WiFi was a bit slow, but every place was well-covered.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank riccardorimini27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

We did not stay here but we went for our Valentines Dinner which was beyond beautiful! The wine was fabulous and the food delicious. The service here is top notch and the atmosphere is so relaxed. We enjoyed our dinner so much we came back the second night for the A la Carte menu to finish off our stay on La Digue.

Thank you La Domaine!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Phoebe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews