We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,100)
Filter reviews
2,100 results
Traveller rating
1,255
535
179
90
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,255
535
179
90
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden villaa la carte restaurantoutdoor bathroombuggy servicepool barour honeymoonturn down servicethe general managerbeautiful poolbest hotel on the islandbuggy driversguest relationsevening buffetgolf carthalf boardnatural materialsbeautiful island
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 2,100 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We are a family of five who stayed at Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie for a week in April. The hotel is modern and nicely designed with a pretty infinity pool, nice pool bar, buffet and a la carte restaurants. Our rooms were wonderful (120 and 121): very large, modern, quiet, pristine and with elegant decorative touches and lovely lighting. Both rooms had a big deck overlooking the gardens and stream too. There was also plenty of complimentary water in the room every day. All in all, we felt the hotel’s main area was a little drab and concrete and needed more greenery to soften the landscape. There are too few sun beds around the pool and the beach is small and not very attractive. Although we like to think of ourselves as an environmentally friendly family, the fact we had to hand in a card to receive a towel by the pool every day was petty and irritating and bear in mind you’re fined $10 per card if you don’t hand them in when you check out. Food in the A La Carte restaurant is very nice (the lobster is gorgeous) but the buffet in Santosha is a little patchy. But this is true of many hotels at this level. Beware the egg station in the morning. While the chap is very nice there, poached and boiled eggs do come very hard unless you gently guide/remind him otherwise. I think, generally, service could be a little better throughout the hotel. While the staff are friendly enough, none really engage or go the extra mile. We were desperate to SCUBA dive while on the island and phoned around the dive centres on the island all of which were fully booked. When we politely asked whether the hotel could help at all, we were told “not really” and simply handed the phone. The Guest Relations desk was also unmanned the whole week we were there. The best way to see Le Digue is by bike and while the roads are much busier than when we were last here, we had some truly memorable days out. The bikes are a bit ‘rustic’ but functional enough and again, the man at the affiliated bike shop not particularly engaged. Bear in mind our bikes were pinched by another family when we parked them outside the shop one morning so you may want to move yours slightly further down the road. All in all we had a very nice week at Le Domaine. It is a good hotel but could be SO MUCH BETTER with a few minor improvements in customer service.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Lovingholidaysuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Location:
La Digue lives from its nature - however all corals are dead and the water is therefore quite boring (but still with a lot of „rest-corals“ where kids can get hurt).
The best about La Digue is making photos. They will look so great that everybody envies you. But after 4-5 days you will have no idea anymore of what to do (that includes boat trips to snorkeling areas).
The island has a „one-road“ concept with all the life happening there. Speeds can be very different which can lead to interesting situations (like having to cross the road to go for dinner and being almost killed by a very fast biker without light). Somehow funny. This was also the first time that somebody was taking us for an excursion - and the person came by bike and we had to follow walking. Monty Python could not have done it in a better way.

Hotel:
Wonderful hillside-villas. Beautiful Spa location! Comfortable villas. Road needs to be crossed to reach the main facilities of the hotel.
Food was excellent. Not a huge variety and sometimes not a quick replenishment - but great taste and a family ambience.
The restaurant personnel made that difference through their friendliness and proactivity (especially Vinay).

Room/Villa:
Very suitable and nice atmosphere. The neighbors are very near - also the next hotel (or no hotel ? and rather a construction site while we were there).

Summary:
Above standard hotel which we would visit again when sea / coral life is re-installed again.
(It hurts to see that the excursion boats throw their anchors into the corals and then dozens of untrained people „crash“ through the sea-life. They should start to protect, ask for high fees and require trained personnel).

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

I again spent my holiday on my most favorite place. Island La Digue and Le Domaine de L´Orangeraie are quaranty of best holiday in tropical paradise. I´m traveling all around the world, visiting best hotels and restaurants, but I never write review. Generally I´m very satisfied, but only La Digue and Le Domaine I can name as my second home. This paradise island with the most beautiful beaches, fresh tropical rainforest, wild nature and especially crystal azure warm ocean makes me always feel so happy. As well all hotel staff were as always very kind, pleasant and professional. All our stay was amazing. We really enjoyed. Food, wine, cocktails.Villa was clean. We received all what we wished. And. I never look at tininesses. Im realy happy that I have opportunity to spend my holiday at this place. One more time I want to thank all the staff

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Januschka15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

We went to get cocktails by the pool on a hot, sunny day. The Barman booted us out of the pool unceremoniously, saying we had the option of paying an exorbitant fee for pool use, or that we had 10 minutes to finish our cocktails before we had to leave. The cocktails themselves were hideously overpriced. Not impressed

Stayed: March 2018
3  Thank michelle19902017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B, General Manager at Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear michelle19902017 ,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review ,we understand your frustration about our Swimming pool access clearly displayed at the entrance of the resort .
Usually our external guests ask about the use before jumping in the pool , which avoids such misunderstanding ..

However , we will be delighted to welcome you at Le Domaine de l'Orangeraie for your next stay on ;La Digue .

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

We have just finished our staying at “Le Domaine de L’Orangeraie”. It is, with no doubts, the best hotel of La Digue. The rooms are clean, spacious, elegant and comfortable. The Charme Villa’s bathroom is as wonderful as the environment in which it is located. The staff is always kind, polite and ready to answer your questions. The Santosha’s buffet, used for breakfast and dinner, is good but not excellent.
The drinks in the pool bar are too much expensive compared to other LaDigue’s bars.
The pool and it’s surroundings are breathtaking, but there was only one problem: at 6pm the personnel started to tidy up the sun beds and all the other stuff, when the sun was still shining in the sky. At 6pm they said that we could not lie down no more. We asked for towels, always at 6pm, but towels were not available anymore.
Furthermore the WiFi was a bit slow, but every place was well-covered.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank riccardorimini27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews