We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty hotel with a really tasty food”
Review of El Mouradi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Mouradi
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Douz
La Coruna, Spain
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel with a really tasty food”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My friend and I stayed here just one night in our trip to the south of Tunisia. We found the hotel to be very good, better than the one that we had in the north (Hammamet).

The hotel was beautiful and reception staff very professional and nice.

The room was quite normal, nothing special and very basic but fortunately everything, including the bathroom, was clean.

We had included the dinner and the breakfast and the food was really good: a lot of variety, with local and international dishes, and very tasty. We were pleasantly surprised. It is not easy to find hotels with good food in Tunisia.

I highly recommend you this hotel and I would back again without doubt.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donperico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    84
    66
    21
    8
See reviews for
39
81
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

the El Mourdi is a very nice hotel which is well located and offers a very nice dining room with good quality food.

I have two criticisms.

First, the wireless service is 7 dinars per hour ($5) which seems excessive in comparison to most other hotels in Tunisia where it is usually free

Second, we made the mistake of booking a camel ride on the adjacent desert at the hotel front desk. The charge was three times higher than if we had merely walked outside the hote. and arranged it on our own. Adding insult to injury, the camel driver neglected to fasten the saddle of my friend's camel, producing a major fall which fortunately only caused bruises and a destroyed camera

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelforfun0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Been there twice. Always nice. Perfect for a short trip into the `desert´ (pics on camelback, then back to the hotel swimming pool). Food is good. Not much to do on long stays. Perfect for two nights. Excellent price-quality ratio. Compared to the lousy and expensive hotels in Djerba or Soussa, you will enjoy much more your stay here. Staff is friendly, but reserved, as normal in this part of the country. They will arrange for all kinds of trips you want (4x4, camelback, sleep in the desert, etc). Ah! You can buy nice things in the small medina downtown (3km from the hotel).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maa34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Hotel is beautiful, small and cosy and because of its location there are never too many guests there giving you a feeling of private place just for yourself. The room was big and clean, staf kind and food excelent, with the best cakes we had in the whole of Tunisia. It seems as the farther the hotel is from the coast, the better it gets. Advice - forget the coast, go to Sahara!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bepina09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My wife and I stayed in El Mouradi for one night only . The entrance may be quite spectacular , however our room , which was very spacious , had some issues . First of all, the hotel is quite old and our room was not that well maintained. The linens were quite overused and the carpet was dark , making the room show darker and a bit dirty. The tab water was browncoloured , but hey...we are in dessert. The dinner and breakfast buffet was o.k. , nothing special. However, for a onenight stay , the hotel was o.k.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portoroz, Slovenia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

I found El Mouradi Douz a little bit better than some other hotels at the coast.
It is situated some 100km from the most outstanding sites in the Great Tunisian South (Tozeur, Matmata,Ksar Ghilene); good for combination of relax and getting away from it.
Hotel offers double rooms, junior and presidential suites; rooms have AC, and with view of the sand dunes, pool or garden, bath, direct-dial phone, sat-tv, hairdryer and mini fridge.
There are El Becha buffet-style restaurant, 2 bars and a Moorish cafe.
You can relax in a large outdoor swimming pool, while your kind in a children's pool and a covered pool wih jacuzzi, wellness center with hammam, sauna and fitnes room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucijaSlovenija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Been there for one night on our trip to Sahara otherwise would not know what do do here. The bathroom towels were smelling bad like being moist or something for a while. The food comparing to Hammamets all-inclusive menu was excellent. Nice Tunisian wines to try for about 10Euro a 0.5l bottle. Nice pool.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmilic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douz
1.1 km away
Hotel Sahara Douz
Hotel Sahara Douz
#1 of 7 in Douz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.0 km away
Sun Palm
Sun Palm
#5 of 7 in Douz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.1 km away
Mehari Douz
Mehari Douz
#6 of 7 in Douz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Camp Yadis Ksar Guilane
96.8 km away
Dar El Kobba
Dar El Kobba
#3 of 16 in Tozeur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi

Property: El Mouradi
Address: B.P 155, Douz 4260, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Kebili Governorate > Douz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Douz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mouradi 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Mouradi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Douz
El Mouradi Hotel Douz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing