We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
Mzimkhulu Lodge(Kariba)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 05/08
US$196
US$192
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skyview Lodge(Siavonga)
US$55
Jumia Travel
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
63
3
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
3
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake karibabreakfast and dinnerexcellent breakfastexcellent staystayed one nightthatched roofsunnyaccommodationviewssunylodgebidsunrisehutswakeluggagestopover
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 68 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2016

I stayed here for just one night on my way to the Matusadona national park, and wished I had stayed a few more days here. Hornbill is a creatively designed lodge, within a beautifully landscaped garden and perched up on Mica point providing panoramic views of lake Kariba.
It is a place that you could use as a base to explore the surrounding area, a starting point for you fishing adventure or just a lovely place to relax in. The thatched rooms are cool and comfortable. They are also uniquely designed with no door at the entrance, just spectacular views of the lake instead, with stunning sun rises and sun sets to be enjoyed whilst in bed!! Your privacy whilst in the shower or toilet is however not compromised as there is a half wall separating that area from the rest of the room.
Sunny is an excellent host and goes out of her way to ensure your stay is a very enjoyable one. The meals too are superb.
I will be coming back for a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roamingspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2016

SUPERB food - great ingredients, cooking and presentation. Rooms are very unusual and beautiful but the open front meant that it was hard to sleep during a windy/stormy night. But excellent mosquito nets helped. Small pool provides social swimming dips and lounging under shade umbrellas

Room Tip: ask about room privacy when booking
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2016

It was meant to be a stopover on our way to the Matusadona, but it turned out to be the most hospitable, friendly, flexible and lovely place we could possibly have wished for. We spent one night on our way to Matusadona and another night on our way back. The little chalets are beautifully decorated, very well equipped, clean and set up with a view of the lake. The team are most helpful and fitted around all our numerous requirements for laundry, storing food, serving a super-early breakfast (the food was generally amazing), organising bubbly for celebrating as well as advice for our stay in the National park as well as our road trip into Zambia following on from there. Our kids (6 and 10) also loved the place (including the three dogs). If we're ever in the area again we'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chimkuyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

Stayed a few days here. Marvelous. Perfectly run, great views, tasteful decor, small pool, clean, safe.... This is so tranquil and laid back, tempted to just stay another day and another day.... Not far from harbors for boats or the Zambia border. Absolutely worth a visit

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank oxygen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2016

After having spent a month in Zambia travelling to the most out of the way and amazing places and thoroughly enjoying every moment, it was Zim's turn to show off. Thank you Sunny for your smiley welcome and great sense of humour. You made our stay memorable. Everything was fabulous; our rooms, yummy dinner with that superb ice cream (and a great rendition of the Titanic theme song), an excellent breakfast, all which had us vowing to return. We hope that you've managed to find the names of a few more hornbills.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annepohl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews