We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and comfort”
Review of Hornbill Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kariba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hornbill Lodge
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We stayed at Hornbill Lodge for 3 nights . Our lodge was beautifully furnished with everything we needed with one side open to the outside so we could look directly at the sunrise from our beds. What a marvellous experience that was. The owner Sunny anticipated all our needs - we were very well looked after at all times. The food was excellent and served for us outside by the pool when we were the only guests. We thoroughly recommend Hornbill Lodge for a relaxing time at Kariba.

Room Tip: Ask for the family room if available.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Hornbill Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2016

We stayed at Hornbill to chill out after 5 days on a Houseboat and 6 days in Mana Pools to prepare for the flight back to Harare and then to the UK. The facilities, rooms, food, hospitality were all first class and would thoroughly recommend a stay at this fabulous lodge. We didn't do too much here except visit the dam wall - well organised by Sunny the owner - as this was not our intention. We found the lodge to be a very relaxing place with great views over the lake. The room we were in was expertly designed to be cool with an open front to capture the breeze. It was really nice to stay somewhere with a stone bathroom after 6 days with open tented facilities. My only suggestion would a mini-bar in the room to save Sunny the legwork serving drinks during the day.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

I stayed here for just one night on my way to the Matusadona national park, and wished I had stayed a few more days here. Hornbill is a creatively designed lodge, within a beautifully landscaped garden and perched up on Mica point providing panoramic views of lake Kariba.
It is a place that you could use as a base to explore the surrounding area, a starting point for you fishing adventure or just a lovely place to relax in. The thatched rooms are cool and comfortable. They are also uniquely designed with no door at the entrance, just spectacular views of the lake instead, with stunning sun rises and sun sets to be enjoyed whilst in bed!! Your privacy whilst in the shower or toilet is however not compromised as there is a half wall separating that area from the rest of the room.
Sunny is an excellent host and goes out of her way to ensure your stay is a very enjoyable one. The meals too are superb.
I will be coming back for a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roamingspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

SUPERB food - great ingredients, cooking and presentation. Rooms are very unusual and beautiful but the open front meant that it was hard to sleep during a windy/stormy night. But excellent mosquito nets helped. Small pool provides social swimming dips and lounging under shade umbrellas

Room Tip: ask about room privacy when booking
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

It was meant to be a stopover on our way to the Matusadona, but it turned out to be the most hospitable, friendly, flexible and lovely place we could possibly have wished for. We spent one night on our way to Matusadona and another night on our way back. The little chalets are beautifully decorated, very well equipped, clean and set up with a view of the lake. The team are most helpful and fitted around all our numerous requirements for laundry, storing food, serving a super-early breakfast (the food was generally amazing), organising bubbly for celebrating as well as advice for our stay in the National park as well as our road trip into Zambia following on from there. Our kids (6 and 10) also loved the place (including the three dogs). If we're ever in the area again we'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chimkuyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed a few days here. Marvelous. Perfectly run, great views, tasteful decor, small pool, clean, safe.... This is so tranquil and laid back, tempted to just stay another day and another day.... Not far from harbors for boats or the Zambia border. Absolutely worth a visit

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank oxygen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

After having spent a month in Zambia travelling to the most out of the way and amazing places and thoroughly enjoying every moment, it was Zim's turn to show off. Thank you Sunny for your smiley welcome and great sense of humour. You made our stay memorable. Everything was fabulous; our rooms, yummy dinner with that superb ice cream (and a great rendition of the Titanic theme song), an excellent breakfast, all which had us vowing to return. We hope that you've managed to find the names of a few more hornbills.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annepohl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kariba
5.5 km away
Lake Safari Lodge
Lake Safari Lodge
#2 of 2 in Siavonga
64 reviews
6.0 km away
Lake Kariba Inns
Lake Kariba Inns
#1 of 2 in Siavonga
90 reviews
3.7 km away
Caribbea Bay Hotel
Caribbea Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Eagles Rest
Eagles Rest
#1 of 6 in Siavonga
105 reviews
0.0 km away
Cutty Sark Hotel
Cutty Sark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
27 reviews
24.8 km away
Changa Safari Camp
Changa Safari Camp
#1 of 4 in Lake Kariba
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hornbill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hornbill Lodge

Address: 797 Mica Point, Kariba, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland West Province > Kariba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Kariba
Price Range: $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a small intimate lodge, situated on Mic Point, Kariba. Hornbill Lodge offers very comfortable accommodation for twelve. The main satellite thatch 'A' frame includes a bar, lounge and dining area. With a double room upstairs with en suite facilities. There are four thatch 'A' frame bedrooms, one King, one family, two Twin, each with en suite facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing