We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful place to stay”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Dreadful place to stay”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

To clarify: unlike apparently most of the other reviews this is not about the restaurant but the hotel. As I have not eaten in the restaurant I will obviously not review it.

I had the doubtful pleasure to stay in The Swan for 3 weeks for business reasons and if it were up to my decision I would have changed to a different after the first night.

The first thing you notice when you arrive with a big suitcase and a trolley is that there is no elevator but only a narrow and step staircase to the top floor. The whole building is slanted towards the river which makes feel like a drunk when walking through the hallway to your room. Good thing said hallway is so narrow that you can't fall to the side.

Every room is different but they all share the pseudo-victorian style and more or less the same flaws.

Bedroom:
The main lamp in the room was a weak 20W bulb that wouldn't illuminate anything much. If you wanted a decent light level you'd have to turn on both bedside lamps and the lamp on the sideboard. Even then it barely had enough light in the room unless you like a dimly mood.
There was a closet but unfortunately it only had clothes rails and both sides were mostly occupied with a big standing fan and an ironing board. The room was also lacking a decent table, all it had was a sideboard which was mostly occupied by a lamp and tea making facilities so there was no chance to put a laptop anywhere let alone work with one.
There is a wall mounted flat screen TV with DVD player but unfortunately the remote disappeared on the first weekend and didn't turn up even after some inquiries.
Since the room was above the pub there was no chance for sleeping before 23:15 due to the noise level. I didn't have to turn on the radiator as well since the fireplace from below dissipated enough heat to warm up my room to 22+C. One of the curtains was also broken but no one seemed to really care.

Bathroom:
Shower was broken and the handle for the water had exposed screw threads. Only after 2 weeks of complaining the replacement part was finally installed. Setting the temperature was more of a rough guess since it constantly would change from warm to scolding hot. Lighting fixtures were too far away from the mirror which made shaving fun due to the cast shadow. Drain would not work properly. No toilet brush.

Breakfast:
If you don’t like English breakfast you’re screwed. There is some yoghurt, some mini cereal boxes, something that ought to resemble croissants. The only good thing were the fresh fruits.

Amenities:
Tea kettle plus assortment of tea. Unfortunately the kettle hasn’t been cleaned for what seemed years due to the massive buildup of scale. Some cookies, water.
Wireless internet was available but bandwidth was a joke and the connections would drop constantly.
No laundry service.

Service:
Distant & generic friendly, they didn’t seem to care about any complaints.

Bottom line:
Way too expensive for what is but there aren’t a lot of alternatives around.
Would I recommend this place to a friend: definitely no!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TangoWhisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    123
    58
    31
    30
See reviews for
66
141
12
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shepperton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We had a very pleasant dinner this evening (17th December), marred only by the fact that I was charged £5.10 for a double espresso - that being the price of two single espressos.

This is simply not on. I have eaten in pubs, restaurants and hotels around the world and never, ever, been charged double for an extra shot of espresso. Most coffee bars charge an extra 20p or 30p. Most restaurants charge either nothing extra or perhaps 50p. In the end the charge was, reluctantly, reduced but the assistant manager said that she has "raised this issue before and been told to charge double". I would like a justification of the pricing policy given that the profit margin on a £2.00 cup of coffee in a franchised coffee bar is around £1.80.
I await a reply from the management!

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

After a long tiring journey from Singapore it was great to finally arrive at The Swan, from the research I had done, we weren't disappointed. We arrived at about 9.30 pm and after a speedy check in we were soon settled in for a restful nights sleep.
Our room, furnished with antiques was quite comfortable with a reasonable sized bed, the attached en suite was quite spacious and had a good selection of toiletries.
Breakfast was served in the downstairs conservatory overlooking the Thames, breakfast consisted of the usual fare and was quite delicious, I thought the black pudding was excellent. Breakfast was served by an attentive waiter who also performed the check out process, he was quite proficient and attentive to our needs. Would I stay again? most certainly.

Room Tip: Ask for the double luxury room, overlooks the Thames.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copperiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

It's how we would characterize The Swan. We were staying for more than a few days so the bed felt a bit lumpy and the pillows a bit firm. But the meals in the restaurant were delicious and having breakfast overlooking the river was a great way to wake up. Overall, a very charming establishment.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hon_HI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Thought the location of this place, and "Superb newley refurbished to a very high standard", that I couldn't go wrong by booking this place, well how wrong could I have been, don't know where the referbishment has taken place, no where I saw, it looks shabby, dirty, the staff not bothered, the bar was swimming in drink, the shower in the ensuite couldn't move the temperture it was red hot. Only thing that redeemed slighly was the breakfast was ok,

Room Tip: Don't bother going it will only disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherAngel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My husband and i stayed at the hotel for our wedding anniversary! The room was beautiful, clean, tea facilities and overlooked the river thames. We had dinner in the restaurant, which was absolutely lovely, all three courses! Breakfast was also very nice, a wide choice to suit everybody. It was the perfect couple of days break and would go back every year!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snugglemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Beautiful Hotel with friendly helpful staff, bent over backwards to accomodate us. Room well appointed and clean.
Ate in the restaurant which serves excellent food at reasonable prices.
Took a stroll down the thames, what a lovely relaxing short break.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastwood500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staines hotels
3.4 km away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#1 of 5 in Staines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 km away
The Boleyn Hotel
The Boleyn Hotel
#4 of 5 in Staines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 km away
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Albany House Bed & Breakfast
1.1 km away
Colne Valley Guest House
Colne Valley Guest House
#1 of 6 in Staines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
4.4 km away
No photo provided
Bluebell Cottage
#1 of 2 in Staines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: The Hythe, Staines TW18 3JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel is a early 20th-century inn with 9 individual bedrooms and 2 executive rooms. We are located just 15 minutes drive from Heathrow Airport and conveniently close to Staines Upon Thames, Runnymede, Historic Windsor, the JFK Memorial and based right on the river Thames. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Staines
Swan Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing