We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haines Falls
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosehaven Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Haines Falls B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Rosehaven Inn is one of the most restful b&b's that we've stayed at. The location is great...quiet, but accessible. The inn itself is beautifully restored and very clean, and we could hear very little noise from the rest of the house. The innkeeper was friendly and helpful, but she was also respectful of our time and privacy. Our only disappointment was that breakfast was not terribly interesting, but it was tasty and filling.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2010

Stayed two nights in May. Even more beautiful than pictures on their website. Mountain views, complete wrap around porch with adorable dog, lovely interior details like marble bar and plush sitting room. DH said the dining room is a place he would love to have Thanksgiving - that's how welcoming this place is. Bedroom was lovely with fireplace, heat/air, ceiling fan, mini-fridge, and whirlpool tub. Bed was comfy with nice linens, but very high - had to use steps to get in :) Breakfast was amazing and absolutely diet-busting - waffles, french toast, homemade scones and muffins, and omelet.
Plenty of great dining options about four miles away in Tannersville - like many other reviewers we fell in love with Poncho Villa (the margaritas are excellent).
Absolutely loved this B&B - we can't wait to go back for the leaves in autumn!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

My husband and I just got back from a weekend trip to the Catskills to celebrate our first anniversary. We stayed at Rosehaven Inn from April 29 -- May 2. It was the first B&B experience for both of us, and after the weekend we had there, it will not be our last!

The house itself is absolutely beautiful. It's immaculate and wonderfully decorated, and it epitomizes old world charm. My husband is not easily impressed with hotels, but he raved about this place the whole time we were there!

We stayed in Room 2, which was just as gorgeous as the rest of the house. But even more impressive than the room's beauty was the fact that it was completely and utterly spotless! There was not a speck of dust to be found, and you could see your reflection in the bathroom faucets. And the attention to detail was amazing. The room included a small refrigerator that was stocked with bottled water and sodas (that were immediately replaced whenever we used them). There was also a DVD player with our TV and a collection of movies downstairs that we could select from. They also had a small area downstairs with glasses, corkscrews, wine stoppers, mugs and other items that you could borrow if you so chose. And as a pleasant surprise, we would go out during the day and return to our room to find that it had been completely cleaned (with towels washed and trash emptied) -- a really nice touch since we were fully expecting to maintain the room ourselves.

As for breakfast, the food was delicious! While we were there, we got to enjoy pancakes, waffles, eggs, quiche and the freshest of fruit. There were even a few unique treats, my favorite of which were corn muffins filled with jam. Everything was out of this world.

Kelly and Sean, the owners, were exceptionally kind and helpful. They know pretty much everything there is to know about the area and gladly gave us directions and tips whenever we needed. They also assured us that if we ever needed anything during our stay, to knock on their door (they stay in a closed-off section of the house) or give them a call if they're not home. Yet as accessible as they are, they also understand that their guests may want privacy, so they give you a key to the house and then leave you to your vacation, allowing you to come and go as you please. The only time we really saw them was every morning at breakfast.

The only thing I would say (and this is not so much about Rosehaven as much as it is about the area in general) is that if you are new to the area and are planning to visit during the offseason -- which I guess is the Fall and Spring months -- bring something to do at night. There really isn't anything to do after dark in nearby Tannersville or Hunter other than some really cute restaurants (two of which I HIGHLY recommend are Pancho Villa's and Curran's -- the latter is owned by Kelly and Sean). There is plenty to do during the daytime -- lots of hiking trails, canoeing, horseback riding. But most of the activities shut down by 6 p.m. So, if you're planning to visit in the offseason like we did, bring movies, books, cards -- anything to pass the time once you're finished with dinner.

Overall, my husband and I had a fantastic anniversary weekend, and it was due in large part to Rosehaven Inn and the outstanding hospitality of Kelly and Sean.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IzzyNY202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We came to Rosehaven on Thursday, for a 3-night getaway. From the moment we stepped into the hotel, we could feel the serenity of this place. Wind chimes, the gas fireplace, the quiet surroundings, the scent of incense in the living room....this is just what we needed for our Anniversary weekend!

Kelly and Sean are terrific! Kelly is a great cook, and her baked goods every morning were a big hit with all the guests!

We stayed in Room#2, with a balcony. The weather was not that great, so we didn't spend too much time outdoors. The room itself is so perfect! The jetted tub is awesome, and the way everything was laid out and decorated is just so pretty!

Kelly and Sean own a restaurant on Main Street Tannersville...CURRAN'S. We didn't get to experience it, but I highly recommend trying it, along with PANCHO VILLAS and LAST CHANCE! You will not be disappointed!

Thank you Kelly and Sean, for making our stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeandraCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

We stayed over MLK weekend and were very pleased with the place. Kelly's breakfast was absolutely delicious (the muffins especially!), our room was comfortable and incredibly clean, the view from our room was beautiful, and Kelly's husband gave us excellent recommendations for things to do in the area. We were able to walk across North-South Lake and up to the Catskill Mountain House and hike up through the snow/ice to Kaaterskills Falls, which was absolutely breathtaking.

The inn is down a road off of the main street through Haines Falls so you're far enough away from the Hunter Mountain traffic but it's a short drive to all of the shops/restaurants leading through town. We stayed through a snow storm and couldn't believe how quickly and efficiently the area around the inn was cleaned up. We had a great time and plan on returning in the fall.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetCatastrophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

We spent a weekend here in early Nov. The home is beautiful and the location feels very private - yet it is very close to the small surrounding towns. The innkeeper is very friendly and full of suggestions regarding local sites and activities. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The fireplace is pleasant and functional and the room feels formal and romantic. The highlight of our trip was the hiking -hit as many trails as possible. Be sure to eat at the Antique and Cheese shop too.

My overall rating is a 4 instead of 5 because of a few minor things. The innkeepers have a big dog and two cats, we witnessed the dog in the main house - this was a minor allergy issue. I should point out that we did not sense any pet presence in the guest room or upstairs at all. The breakfast fare is good, but nothing original or particularily thoughtful. During our visit we were offered the same thing each day - choice of eggs, pancakes or french toast. The entree was served with a fruit, toast and microwaved bacon. There were delicious baked goods, like muffins, served while we waited for our entree. Also, there is no 5pm reception of wine and or tea as is standard in a lot of B&B's now.
Our bathroom was nice but we noticed a broken hook fixture and spackling that had not yet been painted.

Overall we really enjoyed our visit, but a few minor touches could have made this place perfect.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cc_bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Our favorite part of this bed and breakfast, aside from the delicious cooking, was the proximity to various nature trails and hikes. We hiked to the waterfalls and to a scenic overlook. (We were slightly disappointed we missed the foliage!) The innkeepers were friendly but busy considering they are in the process of opening their own restaurant in town. We stayed in room 2 and enjoyed the fireplace and whirlpool tub. The rooms are immaculate and the place is well kept. It was an easy drive (less than two hours) from NYC which was great. We had a fantastic weekend but our favorite B&B is still "Friends Lake Inn." We keep trying to find one that measures up and though this comes close, we still have our favorite.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haines Falls
17.1 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
2.8 km away
The Sun View
The Sun View
#3 of 3 in Tannersville
18 reviews
3.6 km away
Mountain Brook
Mountain Brook
#2 of 5 in Tannersville
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Twilight Lodge
The Twilight Lodge
#2 of 2 in Haines Falls
21 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rosehaven Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosehaven Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 147 Sunset Park Road, Haines Falls, NY 12436
Region: United States > New York > Haines Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Haines Falls
Price Range: $155 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic and charming B&B inn located in the Catskill region near Hunter Mountain and Kaaterskill Falls. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rosehaven Inn b&b
Rosehaven Hotel Haines Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing