We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harrison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff mixed with a nice hotel decor. There is a good feel to the hotel with a nice touch. It doesn't feel cheap. Speaking of cheap, the rates aren't. It is kind of difficult to get to the physical hotel room however. It's a big complex.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Westchester Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

The overall experience was fine but it really could have been better. The rooms are modern and clean. The fitness center is nice and more equipped than expected. However, the promise of a jogging/nature trail seems to give the impression of some natural outdoor space but not really. Inconvenient though with one sink that is inside the bathroom for 4 people. Also skimming on bathroom amenities. On the day of checkout, staff inquired whether we needed housekeeping and that was odd. At the front desk I was confirming the invoice amount when they said it should be on the invoice they put under the door which they didn't. Most of all, the rooms are located in a separate building although accessible from the main building. It was inconvenient at times to get to other parts of the hotel from your room including the fitness center, restaurant and the pool.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank stazandgazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 August 2017

Dear stazandgazer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Renaissance Westchester Hotel through TripAdvidsor!

As guest satisfaction of our hotel is a key priority, I am very sorry that the bathroom and nature trail fell short of your expectations. Rest assured I will be in contact with the proper departments to brainstorm some alternatives like perhaps expand our trail!

If your travel needs may bring you back to White Plains please do not hesitate to contact me. I will be delighted to prepare for your arrival and make sure that we can make your next discovery with our hotel better.

Khiara Jones
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

First the good things: Nice outdoor fire pit areas, food surprisingly good (though WAY overpriced) at the lobby restaurant, comfortable beds and pillows, and the front desk staff were helpful and pleasant.

Now the bad things: This is a very large property, with one very long wing with 6 floors serviced by only 2 elevators. Even with only 2 elevators, the staff couldn't seem to keep them clean. Every single day there was garbage and food on the elevator floors from the night before well into midday. When we checked in, we found the trash cans in our room hadn't been emptied from the previous guests. No matter what temperature we set the A/C to, it just ran all the time, freezing the room. We kept having to turn it on and off manually. The door knob to the bathroom in our room was falling off. Water pressure in the shower went up and down wildly. The drawers in the dresser would just randomly slide open on their own (they were empty). There was a mini fridge in the room, but the door was kind of askew, so it didn't really seal shut and the inside "freezer" portion had a ton of built up frost clogging it. The trash cans by the parking lot were overflowing with trash all the time and the side doors to the hotel from the parking lot were propped open (or didn't close or lock most of the time). Although we were pleasantly surprised that the food in the Hive restaurant was better than we feared, it was quite overpriced. For example, I had a "red and yellow beet salad" for $15 that consisted of a half cup of frisee lettuce and exactly 2 small beets on a plate with a dressing. It was tasty, but it was ridiculously small for $15.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Our room was incredibly far from lobby with poor signage to direct you to your room. No answer to calls to front desk. Had to literally beg housekeeping for extra towels. Air conditioning did not cool room well on a very hot day. Not horrible but would not stay again if in the area.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank jlcd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Years ago, this was a great hotel. Not so much anymore. Oh, the lobby is quite nice, as are the people at the front desk. But the rest of the place is in serious need of a facelift. The hall leading to our room was scuffed and worn, as were the doors to most of the rooms on our hall. They looked terrible! The bathroom wallpaper was peeling. The light next to the bed on one side didn't work. The lampshade was ripped. You can only have AC or nothing, so when our room got freezing cold & we opened the window to get some warm air, we noticed that the screen was ripped with holes in it! We never got a bill under our door, and we never got a newspaper (which our Marriott profile says we should get). When we asked if this property was due for a remodeling, we were told no. I would have given this one star, except the people who work here are so nice.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCTravelerPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

She is very efficient and courteous and provides excellent advice on what to do, where to go and how to go around in White Plains and New York city. The hotel management should be proud to have her on the team.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irjabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

it was a very comfortable stay miss kim was very helpful and received me and my wife with a bright smile and answered all our inquiries she is really a very good representative of the hotel my wife and myself appreciate very much her cooperation
we will repeat our visit and stay in the hotel

Room Tip: rooms on the south side
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank abdul razzak M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison
3.8 km away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#2 of 2 in Rye Brook
804 reviews
0.6 km away
HYATT house White Plains
HYATT house White Plains
#4 of 7 in White Plains
555 reviews
2.7 km away
Hilton Westchester
Hilton Westchester
#1 of 2 in Rye Brook
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown
4.2 km away
Cambria hotel & suites White Plains - Downtown
12.3 km away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Westchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Westchester Hotel

Address: 80 West Red Oak Lane, Harrison, NY 10604
Region: United States > New York > Westchester County > Harrison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harrison
Price Range: $176 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Westchester Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the resort atmosphere of the remarkable Renaissance Westchester Hotel. Our stylish and memorable hotel in West Harrison, New York is nestled on 30 acres of scenic countryside in Westchester County. We are located only 35 minutes from New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Westchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance White Plains
White Plains Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing