We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
139
85
20
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
85
20
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eden lodge daily excursions salt water the main problem lovely hotel seafood low tide earplugs bay pools balcony luxury eco paradise material french fans
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 255 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2018

L'Heure Bleue is a very attractive property set in sloping gardens facing a beach. I'd be careful about selecting what type of bungalow. Ours were spacious and comfortable with a balcony over the water where we spent hours just watching the beautiful scenery. But some other types of bungalow looked a bit cramped. Others are larger but up the hill in the garden without sea views.
Nights are warm but our room had a strong ceiling fan.
When you arrive from frigid Europe, the beach looks lovely. But after spending time on islands and hotels further afield, it's actually not that an amazing a beach for Madagascar. At low tide, you have to walk some ways down the beach or out to sea to have a proper swim. Apparently a recent cyclone reduced the size of the beach so this situation may improve over time. Still, it's an attractive spot and we did long walks along the beach to check out other hotels and rental villas.
There are two pools at the hotel, one saltwater and one fresh, but the main problem here is that after mid-afternoon they are in the shade,.
There are some walks you can do from the hotel in colorful countryside.
The common areas of the hotel are very pleasant with couches and chairs spread around an attractive covered patio with plenty of chess-sets and other games. There's no real wildlife near the hotel but they do have tortoises in the garden, and there are geckos about. And the food is fantastic, some of the best we ate in Madagascar. They have some pure Malgache dishes, and lots of French-inspired dishes using local flavors.
The staff were very friendly. You can also have an excellent massage.
One minor complaint I'd have is that they should provide guests with some free bottled water given the heat.
All in all, this a very pleasant place to stay but I wouldn't make it the main hotel for a stay in the Nosy Be area. There are much more beautiful beaches elsewhere, such as at their sister property Eden Lodge. But given that because of logistics and flight times, a stay on the main island of Nosy Be is often needed, this is an excellent place to begin or end a trip.

Room Tip: be very sure about sort of bungalow you are getting - they vary and not all have sea views
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank marcopolo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2018 via mobile

Located about 45 minutes away from the airport and we passed by Hellville along the way to stay in this guarded Ecolodge that has a room facing the Sea. There is a salt water and a freshwater pool within the development. A restaurant overlooking the bay serves some good selection of traditional and French fares.

Room is big and clean. Comes with a fridge and also a safe. Note that it is without air conditioning but comes with a mosquito net. Walk out to a deck with a lounger and a hammock or be seated at the high counter and bench with a cocktail during sunset would be cool. However, during low tide, people walk pass below these decks with little privacy.

During the stay, WiFi was working intermittently one of the nights and there was no hot shower.

Overall a no frills stay. It should be considered good compared to the living standards of Madagascar.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank 3Xaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful. It seems somewhat removed from the seediness of the nearby Ambatloaka town. The jungle and beach front setting is tranquil and picturesque. Be very careful when choosing the type of accommodation. The bungalows and duplex bungalows are set in mosquito infested jungles and are made of wood with a grass roof. The .or luxurious lodges are a better option, but cost a great deal more. We went in the tail end of the summer rainy season so there were mosquitoes everywhere.
The linen is old and stained but clean.
The food at L'Heure Bleue is spectacular. It is quite possibly the best food I have eaten anywhere. Fresh ingredients and an eclectic mix of Parisenne and Malagasy flavours.
Don't stay too long because the breakfast gets formulaic and you eventually get bored.
There are no air conditioners in any of the rooms. The website claims the fans are more eco friendly, but i wouldn't agree and this was possibly the worst thing about our holiday. The temperature averaged 33°C with very high humidity and so no aircon was insufferable.
This hotel is awesome and, were I to return to Ambatloaka, I would most certainly choose L'Heure Bleue again in a lodge accommodation.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at a deluxe bungalow with sea view. The room was very nice and cleanwith beautiful terrace. The food was great and the best we had in nosy be. I recommned to take the dinner in the package. The beach near the hotel is very colourful with great view. This hotel is highly recommneded for couples. The owner is super nice and helful and genuinely care you will have a grt stay

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ofer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017

We had a wonderful room, at high tide with its feet in the water. Stunning views, and modern decor. Room was very clean. Food in the restaurant was excellent and Frank the Manager was exceedingly helpful all the time. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose one of the newest rooms with its feet in the water.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quakershall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews