We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveller rating
551
132
45
24
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
551
132
45
24
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews desert elephants mini suite view room burnt mountain luxury room organ pipes huge boulders sundowner spot two nights donkey boiler hot water our waiter watching the sunset on the rocks rock engravings fire pit lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 758 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile

Fantastic Lodge with excellent service in beautiful Damaraland. Overwelming views. There are lodges with either sunrise or sunset views. We had both for 2 nights, equals enjoyable.

It has a small pool for refreshing cooling bath. Not sufficient for swimming, though, respectively understandible in this water lacking region.

The a la carte diner and lunch is good and well prepared. Good selection of fine wines. Breakfast is a sufficient buffet with personlized baked eggs.

The Lodge services some surroundiing activities to Black Mountain, Organ Pipes and stome carvings and so on.

Summarizing, a more than pleasant place to relax for a couple of nights.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Joost T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2017

My husband and I spend 3 amazing days at Mowani Mountain Camp- while all of their accommodations are beautiful the honey moon mountain suite is absolutely amazing!
If you want a truly 'away from it all' place in paradise, this is it. Dinner (btw- staff is outstanding!) on our private terrace, stargazing at night- the milky way at it's best- only interrupted by the distinct roar of the 'local' female leopard at night. Words can not describe this unforgettable experience- we already booked to come back!

Room Tip: every tent has amazing views, but the mountain suite is truly exceptional
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Inken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017

I just stayed here for two nights and it was wonderful! The lodge was quiet and relaxing, we had our own little porch to sit out on and look over the valley, and it was beautiful to sit on top of the hill and watch the sunset. It was at a great location to visit the rock carvings. The food was delicious, and the staff was very nice. I would definitely stay here again, it was our favorite lodging of our trip. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnnaM42589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zane V, General Manager at Mowani Mountain Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Dear AnnaM42589

Wow, what a lovely review and such kind words. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay here with us at Mowani Mountain Camp and chose us as your favorite! We would certainly love to have you back again in the future.
Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017

This was a stop for us between Sossuvlei and Etosha. It was worth the visit. The landscape is surreal, the elephant trekking in the desert was amazing. We saw tons of elephants. The resort has no wifi which stinks since it was the only one in our trip that didn't have it. The food was very good. I'm picky and they catered to my limited menu but the second day the chef was different and my food wasn't very good. That's just me though. Worth a visit though very expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyworld2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zane V, General Manager at Mowani Mountain Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Dear Skyworld2017

Thank you for this comprehensive review. We do apologize for the lack of wi-fi but the owners do feel that our camp is one of the last bastions of solitude and the opportunity to detox and take a break from technology is underrated these days. There is of course also a cellular tower in our area which allows access to limited connection speeds for things such as accessing email and sending messages.
We will be sure to have a word with our fantastic chefs in the kitchen and ensure they focus a little more on consistency throughout the menu, a little challenging when you have such vastly different characters but we do try. We thank you for choosing to stay with us even though there are much more expensive options in the area and wish you many more safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017

Excellent rooms, excellent service, excellent food, an unforgettable experience arriving sun baked from Twyfelfontein and petrified woods, you do not expect such a pleasant place to rest and to have a magnificent sunset.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank AnLo1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zane V, General Manager at Mowani Mountain Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Dear AnLo1956

Thank you for this Excellent review! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews