We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damaraland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mowani Mountain Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Fantastic design integrated into the landscape. Real top natural luxury. So is the price.
It's a place to linger, enjoy the big open and very private rooms, have some great food around the garden fireplace, freshen up in the natural water pool, or walk around in the fantastic landscape of rocks and trees.

Room Tip: I believe they are all amazing. I loved mine close to the dining area facing south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 606contact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Fantastic Lodge with excellent service in beautiful Damaraland. Overwelming views. There are lodges with either sunrise or sunset views. We had both for 2 nights, equals enjoyable.

It has a small pool for refreshing cooling bath. Not sufficient for swimming, though, respectively understandible in this water lacking region.

The a la carte diner and lunch is good and well prepared. Good selection of fine wines. Breakfast is a sufficient buffet with personlized baked eggs.

The Lodge services some surroundiing activities to Black Mountain, Organ Pipes and stome carvings and so on.

Summarizing, a more than pleasant place to relax for a couple of nights.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Joost T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

My husband and I spend 3 amazing days at Mowani Mountain Camp- while all of their accommodations are beautiful the honey moon mountain suite is absolutely amazing!
If you want a truly 'away from it all' place in paradise, this is it. Dinner (btw- staff is outstanding!) on our private terrace, stargazing at night- the milky way at it's best- only interrupted by the distinct roar of the 'local' female leopard at night. Words can not describe this unforgettable experience- we already booked to come back!

Room Tip: every tent has amazing views, but the mountain suite is truly exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Inken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

I just stayed here for two nights and it was wonderful! The lodge was quiet and relaxing, we had our own little porch to sit out on and look over the valley, and it was beautiful to sit on top of the hill and watch the sunset. It was at a great location to visit the rock carvings. The food was delicious, and the staff was very nice. I would definitely stay here again, it was our favorite lodging of our trip. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnnaM42589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zane V, General Manager at Mowani Mountain Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear AnnaM42589

Wow, what a lovely review and such kind words. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay here with us at Mowani Mountain Camp and chose us as your favorite! We would certainly love to have you back again in the future.
Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

This was a stop for us between Sossuvlei and Etosha. It was worth the visit. The landscape is surreal, the elephant trekking in the desert was amazing. We saw tons of elephants. The resort has no wifi which stinks since it was the only one in our trip that didn't have it. The food was very good. I'm picky and they catered to my limited menu but the second day the chef was different and my food wasn't very good. That's just me though. Worth a visit though very expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyworld2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zane V, General Manager at Mowani Mountain Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Skyworld2017

Thank you for this comprehensive review. We do apologize for the lack of wi-fi but the owners do feel that our camp is one of the last bastions of solitude and the opportunity to detox and take a break from technology is underrated these days. There is of course also a cellular tower in our area which allows access to limited connection speeds for things such as accessing email and sending messages.
We will be sure to have a word with our fantastic chefs in the kitchen and ensure they focus a little more on consistency throughout the menu, a little challenging when you have such vastly different characters but we do try. We thank you for choosing to stay with us even though there are much more expensive options in the area and wish you many more safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Excellent rooms, excellent service, excellent food, an unforgettable experience arriving sun baked from Twyfelfontein and petrified woods, you do not expect such a pleasant place to rest and to have a magnificent sunset.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank AnLo1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zane V, General Manager at Mowani Mountain Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear AnLo1956

Thank you for this Excellent review! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

We stayed on one of the campsites for one night. Nice view from here and the donkey gets heated in the evening. No electricity or light on the campsites. Therefore definitely overpriced. We had much better and cheaper campsites.
We asked for the Elephant tracking tour the next morning and we were lucky as not all chalet guests wanted to take part (camping guests are second choice if you like to make this tour!). As the gate to the reception was closed until just before tour kick off, there was no time to have the promised coffee before. The elephant tracking tour is great. Lots of Elephants, and enough time to take great photos and to observe them. Beautiful morning tea at a great lookout. Very friendly and professional staff.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank S. R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zane V, General Manager at Mowani Mountain Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear S. R

Thank you for this review and your kind words about the staff and Elephant Tour. As mentioned before, the campsite is separate from Mowani Mountain Camp and so you should not feel like second choice but rather first choice guests in the campsite. We do allow campsite guests (and any other guests as well) to book the Nature Drive if there is space available and we are glad you enjoyed this activity! Booking priority does then obviously go to the guests staying at Mowani Mountain Camp (this is after all one of the main reasons why they chose to stay here) and it would be unacceptable for us to fully book the activities with outside guests and then not be able to offer it to the guests who have actually paid to stay with us.
We hope you had a lovely holiday nonetheless and wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damaraland
105.2 km away
Vingerklip Lodge
Vingerklip Lodge
#5 of 14 in Damaraland
465 reviews
69.1 km away
Huab Lodge
Huab Lodge
#3 of 10 in Kamanjab
245 reviews
81.5 km away
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
#7 of 14 in Damaraland
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Madisa Camp
Madisa Camp
#4 of 38 in Swakopmund
129 reviews
0.0 km away
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
#8 of 16 in Otjiwarongo
163 reviews
231.6 km away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 16 in Otjiwarongo
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowani Mountain Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowani Mountain Camp

Address: D2612 | adjacent to Mowani Mountain Camp, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Damaraland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Damaraland
Price Range: $177 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mowani Mountain Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 7 individual campsites nestled amongst the granite boulders at the base of the mountain. All sites have their own ablutions with showers, flush toilets and basins. An outside washing up area is also provided. Wood and ice are available for purchase from Mowani Mountain Camp subject to availability. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mowani Mountain Camp Hotel Damaraland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing