We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveller rating
547
129
42
23
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
129
42
23
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdesert elephantsmini suiteview roomburnt mountainluxury roomorgan pipeshuge boulderssundowner spottwo nightsdonkey boilerhot waterour waiterwatch the sunon the rocksrock engravingsfire pitlounge area
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 747 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2017

This lodge is the pinnacle of luxury. The rooms have everything that you need and are beautifully done up; try to get one overlooking the plains. There's a little pool, a fire pit for the cold nights, and a lovely open lounge area with great cake. The views are spellbinding, especially at sunset. The game drives are excellent, if a little chilly first thing - so wrap up. The only reason Mowani doesn't get a 5-star review is the raw hamburger we were served at lunch. It was seared but completely uncooked inside. The staff were lovely, if a little too ingratiating in some cases.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank djneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile

This mountain lodge, tucked away in a hill hidden from the camp, is a mag Dixie the and luxurious holiday stay ideal for exploring Damaraland and enjoying a luxurious lodge experience in Namibia.

The individual "cabins" are great, with plenty of space, excellent bathroom/sanitary facilities, but do not have wooden walls (only tarp that can be zipped up to close off the windows). Hence, be sure to pack some warm clothes as it can get very chilly and/or windy at night and you will feel it if you get out of bed or wake up early before the sun has had a chance to warm up the atmosphere.

The staff are very friendly, helpful, and informative. The menus are very good, with what felt like a little more diversity of dishes than in other similar lodges in Namibia.

Activities include "safari" type nature drives and visits to the organ pipes or Twylfontein rock carvings. Further out is the petrified forest. A simple drive out to see the organ pipes or Twylfontein rock carvings is well worth, our guide was great and managed to get us to see desert elephants real close!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laurent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2017

We arrived as a group of 3 expecting to camp, as we had a reservation. For whatever reason, their logs showed our reservation had already been used one month prior. So, we were out of a campsite for the night, or at least we thought. After driving through the gate and to the Mowani Camp proper, we spoke to the manager in person. Keeping a long story short, we were given 2 rooms for the night. That was far & above anything I would have ever expected & thanked the staff profusely for it. We had dinner and breakfast-both were very good. Seeing as how we camped the entire trip, this was actually a treat for us.

The setting of the camp itself is extremely interesting..."very cool" to be more precise. Aside from the small soaking pool with a great view, there is also a short, but very nice hiking trail that is worth the time. Everything seemed fairly clean & the staff were all very courteous and efficient. With open walls in the dining area, we had a few birds fly in and visit while we were eating. I heard one guest complaining about it, which I just don't understand. If you can't handle wildlife, why visit Namibia?

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60stevea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

We stayed both at the campsite as well as the lodge, and both were equally amazing. The ensuite campsites are beautifully situated, overlooking a valley and the light during the golden hour is just stunning. You also get your own kitchen. If you stay at the campsite you can book the dessert elephant tracking drive organized by the lodge. We did and it was a really wonderful experience to be able to look upon these special elephants. Staying at the lodge was also great, with incredible views, welcoming staff and delicious food. There's a special lookout from which you can watch the sun set beyond the hills while enjoying a drink.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank RucksackT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the lodge for two nights with a group of 4 families and our guide. The stay started off quite badly. We first discovered that our children had to stay in a very small tent with no space for their luggage and no facilities (they had to use our shower and toilet- one shower and one toilet for 4 persons is really not great), then we discovered that their beds were not made and their tent had not been cleaned. This was fixed afterwards but made us feel not very welcome. At lunch, shortly thereafter, the order for our son was forgotten so he got his food only after we had all finished our meal. To make it even worse, the manager, who never bothered to greet us or talk to us, was very rude to our guide in the presence of some members of our group. The good things about this lodge are the location and views and the fact that most of the staff members are great. The sundowner experience is not to miss! The food is mediocre (breakfast and lunch ok but diner not very good and the lunch pack they provided was actually bad). I would not recommend this lodge when you travel with children. The fact that they had to sleep in a small tent while we slept in a spacious and luxurieus palace did not feel good at all! Also, the food at night is not adapted to children, which resulted in a lot of food being thrown away.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank zoersel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilna-Namibia, Guest Relations Manager at Mowani Mountain Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

I understand that there was some miscommunication regarding your booking that resulted in you not feeling as warmly expected as is our norm. I am truly sorry that this was the case and resulted in the children's tents not being fully prepared for their arrival.

We accommodate children in the tents at Mowani and offer the shared bathroom with parents, it is unfortunate that this sleeping arrangement wasn't fully communicated to you by your agent.

I realise that there were some heated words between your guide and our staff, and agree this was not the best way to deal with the situation. I believe the manager personally apologised for their reaction and tried at various times to engage with the guide and rectify the relationship.

Your feedback regarding the meals and dining service will definately be investigated and resolved. Thank you for your feedback.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Namibia and will come and visit us again.

Regards,
Wilna


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews