We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mowani Mountain Camp
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Damaraland
See available hotels
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdesert elephantsmini suiteview roomsuperior roomhuge bouldersorgan pipestwo nightson the rocksoutstanding viewsfire pitour honeymoonwatch the sunlounge areaan unforgettable experiencebeautiful settingmorning game drivelong drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 696 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We stopped over at Mowane Mountain Camp en route to Etosha game park. 3 Kms off the main road, it emerges suddenly, unpretentiously, but beautifully located amongst spectacular rock formations. Reception, Dining Area and Lounge are situated in one cluster with well appointed rest rooms unobtrusively tucked away behind some rocks. Individual chalets are built in traditional rondels, walking distance amongst the myriad rocks, and exquisitely melded into natural gaps and crannies (see photos). We had booked a mini suite and the layout plus amenities were of the highest standard. Compimentary bottles of wine and spirits, a wide selection of non alcoholic drinks, everything that a weary traveller seeks out after a tiring day's drive. Meals were European in structure, used local game and imported materials from nearby South Africa. Quality and standard of service was top notch.Sunset viewing from a point nearby is made more special by considerate hosts who have set up a small bar in a rocky crevice nearby!

Room Tip: The mini suite is exquisite! If it's a dream trip, worth the splurge.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sanjiv V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We camped here for one night after the underwhelming Burnt Mountain and Organ Pipes. The campsite was very nice, with good showers and sinks. There are no barbecues at the sites, so BYO. We had the place much to ourselves, if there had been someone right next to us, it wouldn't have been so nice and quiet.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank prime01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

This lodge is the pinnacle of luxury. The rooms have everything that you need and are beautifully done up; try to get one overlooking the plains. There's a little pool, a fire pit for the cold nights, and a lovely open lounge area with great cake. The views are spellbinding, especially at sunset. The game drives are excellent, if a little chilly first thing - so wrap up. The only reason Mowani doesn't get a 5-star review is the raw hamburger we were served at lunch. It was seared but completely uncooked inside. The staff were lovely, if a little too ingratiating in some cases.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank djneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

This mountain lodge, tucked away in a hill hidden from the camp, is a mag Dixie the and luxurious holiday stay ideal for exploring Damaraland and enjoying a luxurious lodge experience in Namibia.

The individual "cabins" are great, with plenty of space, excellent bathroom/sanitary facilities, but do not have wooden walls (only tarp that can be zipped up to close off the windows). Hence, be sure to pack some warm clothes as it can get very chilly and/or windy at night and you will feel it if you get out of bed or wake up early before the sun has had a chance to warm up the atmosphere.

The staff are very friendly, helpful, and informative. The menus are very good, with what felt like a little more diversity of dishes than in other similar lodges in Namibia.

Activities include "safari" type nature drives and visits to the organ pipes or Twylfontein rock carvings. Further out is the petrified forest. A simple drive out to see the organ pipes or Twylfontein rock carvings is well worth, our guide was great and managed to get us to see desert elephants real close!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laurent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We arrived as a group of 3 expecting to camp, as we had a reservation. For whatever reason, their logs showed our reservation had already been used one month prior. So, we were out of a campsite for the night, or at least we thought. After driving through the gate and to the Mowani Camp proper, we spoke to the manager in person. Keeping a long story short, we were given 2 rooms for the night. That was far & above anything I would have ever expected & thanked the staff profusely for it. We had dinner and breakfast-both were very good. Seeing as how we camped the entire trip, this was actually a treat for us.

The setting of the camp itself is extremely interesting..."very cool" to be more precise. Aside from the small soaking pool with a great view, there is also a short, but very nice hiking trail that is worth the time. Everything seemed fairly clean & the staff were all very courteous and efficient. With open walls in the dining area, we had a few birds fly in and visit while we were eating. I heard one guest complaining about it, which I just don't understand. If you can't handle wildlife, why visit Namibia?

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60stevea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews