We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic setting and clean room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howe Caverns Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Howes Cave
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Howe Caverns Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howes Cave
Ringoes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Scenic setting and clean room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed here in Novembe2 2011. I was pleasantly surprised by what a scenic setting the motel has. It is up on a hill, overlooking the surrounding hills. Consistent with previous posts, the rooms were very clean. My husband and I stayed there with our adult son and opted for the family suite, 2 bedrooms sharing 1 BR and connected by a hallway with a microwave. It was very nice to be interconnected. Would stay here again.
Enjoyed the convenience of taking the cavern tours on-site. Had our own private tour at 4:30 PM on a Friday afternoon. It was great!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nankypool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    52
    18
    12
    8
See reviews for
61
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglas MA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

My husband & I found the room odd & it took us until the next morning to figure it out, it was a handicap accessible room. Wonderful they have a room like that for those who need it, but we didn't, so why would they give us this room? We thought we were the only guest there, in fact the office wasn't open & we had to register at the visitors center for the caves. When we went out for supper we came back to find another room rented. We were told later that it was somebody who is working in the area, he arrives late in the day & leaves early in the morning, so basically we were the only guest of the motel. It is advertised that "most" rooms come with a refrigerator & a microwave, unfortunately the room we had was not one of them. Again, since they obviously were not busy, why not give us a room that had those appliances? It came with a small TV with only a few channels & the weather channel was not one of them, hard to plan your day w/o knowing the weather. The room was very small but clean. The bathroom was big - and clean. There was only a shower, no tub, which again we realized was because it was a handicap accessible room. They do not adveritise wi fi but I was able to make a connection thought it didn't last long, so I'd suggest bringing lots of movies to watch. The view is spectacular, though we were hoping to see beautiful foliage, instead we saw ugly snow as a freak October storm hit. The price was right though so I'm trying not to complain, just trying to give a fair review. I got myself a glass of water from the faucet to take my meds & it was cloudy. The room comes with a coffee pot but we didn't dare use it after seeing the water the night before. It's right next door to the caverns so very convenient.

Room Tip: Bring along your lap top & plenty of movies as they get only a few channels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovelyliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spottedang11
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Came here with my boyfriend for our anniversary. We stayed at the hotel overnight, and booked the Culinary Delights package, which got us an overnight stay, four course dinner, tour of the caverns, and fudge. The room was nice and clean, with a lovely view of the valley. Had a wonderful tour of the caverns, a fantastic dinner, and a lovely sleep. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spottedang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I were married in Howe Caverns 9 years ago. For a surprise one night get-away to celebrate our 9th anniversary, he planned a trip to return to the cavern and stay in the same room that we stayed in at the adjacent motel the night we were married.... Room 115. I was touched by his thoughtfulness!

Upon arriving we had noticed they'd updated their logo and various attractions --- they now have a zip line and a rope course for kids. There were several other attractions on the premises that were in the process of being built, so there was plenty of construction happening on the property, none of which bothered my husband or I.

Having arrived an hour early, we weren't sure if we'd be able to check into our room, but they were more than willing to allow us to do so. Once in our room --- and if you've read past reviews, you'll that I'm a bit of a germaphobe ---- I gave it my usual inspection. It was VERY clean. The bathroom was spotless, the jacuzzi was spotless, the carpets were spotless.

The view from the rooms is incredible! Can't beat the view! There is a soda machine and ice machine in the center of the motel for all to use. Should you have an emergency/issue during the course of the evening, there is a number to call the groundskeeper who is always on duty.

My only gripe about the room is it needs to be updated.

The love seat/throw pillows in our room were definitely the same one from 9 years ago. The loveseat cushions were very sunken in and got worse when you sat on it. The coffee table was also the same one..... we know, because we compared photos that we took 9 years ago. Both these pieces of furniture definitely showed their wear. My other gripe, would be...... they need to update the bedding as well. Very old bedspread (which I never use anyway in hotels/motels) and the white sheets just looked very OVER-bleached..... which can sometimes give them a yellow tinge.

Would I stay there again? Yes, because the room was THAT clean and I felt comfortable knowing that they definitely give the room a thorough cleaning and not just a quick once over. Even the germaphobe in me could live with the outdated furniture and over bleached sheets..... at the end of the day..... it was definitely not one of the worse places I've ever slept in.

Room Tip: Room 115 --- jacuzzi room ---- large room, loveseat, end table, jacuzzi, television, refrigerator, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jobonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We were looking for an interesting place to stayon our way back to Toronto from Boston and I saw someone mention Howe's Caverns. When I went to the website it sounded good. I then lookied for a place to stay as we were only mekaing the decision while traveling it was harder. The room was nice spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable as well as very quite. We did not swim in the pool but some people were. The only down side was no interenet but it can be good to be offline for a day or 2. We were given a list of suggested restaurants in the area and were pleased. Everyone was friendly and if you book the package with the tour of the caves it is a little cheaper

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Meadow, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed at the motel as a convenience to our cave visit. It was well worth it. Overlooking a valley, the view just outside the front door is fantastic. The room was large, comfortable and clean. It was great to roll out of bed and visit the caves without a tiresome drive.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We traveled all morning to get to the Howe Caves, wich were really worth the drive. The caves are a little far from everything so after the visit we simply spent the night at this adjacent hotel.

The room was big enough for all the familly, we had a fridge in the room, there were pic nic tables outside with a superb view on the mountains and the kids just love the outside pool at the end of the day. The room was very clean. It is a motel but it is one of the nicest and cleanest I've seen. Perfect pit stop for one night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howes Cave
5.9 km away
Super 8 Cobleskill NY
Super 8 Cobleskill NY
#1 of 3 in Cobleskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
6.5 km away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 3 in Cobleskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
6.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Schoharie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown
37.2 km away
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
#3 of 13 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
39.4 km away
Hampton Inn Schenectady
Hampton Inn Schenectady
#1 of 13 in Schenectady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howe Caverns Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howe Caverns Motel

Property: Howe Caverns Motel
Address: 255 Discovery Dr, Howes Cave, NY 12092-2311
Region: United States > New York > Howes Cave
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howes Cave
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Howe Caverns Hotel Howes Cave

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing