We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
40
56
55
31
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
56
55
31
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews make your own waffles the breakfast area staying at this hotel walking distance room was clean and comfortable enjoyed my stay antique shops old building the main street hudson ny train station yogurt sam warren
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 217 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2018

We booked a room here for one of my drivers. Our Quote was $324.70 for three nights as advertised $90 per night - They ended up charging me $604.70. Management was incredibly rude. I Would rather sleep in my car then stay here again. Criminals!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam A, General Manager at St. Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2018

When you called for reservation We clearly explained about our weekday and weekend rates. You decided to book the room and After booking You got an reservation summary e-mail confirmation including rates . At Check-in time you signed the Registration with our Nightly rates highlighted including totals . So everything is done with your consent before you check-in. You made all these complaints about pricing on your first night yet you still knowingly decided to stay the full duration of your 3 night reservation. Good luck if you find Hotel in Hudson, NY for $90 on weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Aside from the town power outtage and subsequent loss of power in the hotel in the morning, the St. Charles Hotel did not live up to its website description. When we arrived, off the lobby, there was a green garden hose coming from the men’s bathroom into the hall. Water was on the floor. Our room had a can of dust cleaner sitting next to the coffee maker. The scratched furniture was old and tired looking. There was a missing shade on one window with a drape hanging on one end because of a missing clip. The interior sheets were missing on one window. The windows were not clean and of the two window boxes, one had all dead flowers. There was not a single piece of art in the premium room.
Breakfast was barely average. The 2 trays held sausages and dry scrambled eggs. The tea was a very inexpensive brand and the water not hot enough to steep it. There was no one around to oversee things. Plastic plates and plastic ware did not add to the hotel experience.
No number of excuses or apologies for remodeling justify the rate we spent for a room. There is a serious problem if they must stay open while trying to do the kind of upgrades needed to make this a pleasant stay. If we hadn’t had a wedding to attend imminently, we most likely would have looked elsewhere.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Martha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

What a disappointment. Complete dump of a hotel - nothing like what was promised on the website at all. Yellowing bathrooms. Popcorn ceilings. Old stained furniture. Poops induced front desk staff. And table saws until 9pm that resume at 830am on a Sunday. All for $180.

Don’t stay here.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MHMFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam A, General Manager at St. Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

MHMFM,

Thank you for sharing your review and We do apologize about your recent experience at St. Charles Hotel.

We're actually nearing the end of the renovations process, and are really excited to see the changes that have been made. It's an unfortunate that we were not able to minimize the impact of the construction on everyone even though throughout the process we've made it a high priority to put guest needs above the plans, time constraints, and schedules in place for the renovation. We're very excited about the changes taking place, but of course, regret that this process negatively effected you.

Hopefully you'll come back and get a chance to see the end result of our transformation!

Regards
Sam A. - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

When I made the room reservation at The St. Charles, there was no indication of any renovation. All hotels have to renovate from time to time and good ones now how to do this with minimal impact on the guest experience. This is not one of those hotels.
We were greeted by a stench as soon as we walked into the hotel. The entire hotel smelled horrible including our room.
We opened all the windows in our room and left them open all night but the smell never went away.
The bed was very hard and very uncomfortable. We hardly slept.
Blaming everything on the renovation is indicative of how poorly managed this hotel is. Renovation aside, this is a dirty hotel and they clearly don’t know how to properly clean a room. The common areas are awful too. The fitness room is now just for storage.
Looking at hotels in Hudson this hotel was one of the only available on this weekend and price was lower than most as well. I now know why. Our friends who live close by were perplexed as to why we chose “that dump”. It has a reputation.

Please close this hotel and renovate. Stop subjecting innocent travelers to this hot mess of a hotel. The employees don’t deserve this either. I suspect that it’s unsafe for them too.

We begged our way into The Wick hotel the next night and it was well worth the extra money we spent.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ConciergeInNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam A, General Manager at St. Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2018

Dear conciergeinnewyork,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at our Hotel, We sincerely apologize the hotel didn't meet your expectations. St. Charles Hotel is currently under massive renovation. We truly did our best to inform all of our guests of this necessary situation. Renovations are challenging as you can well imagine and there is no perfect time for many of the necessary functions. However, we truly believe the significant enhancements to our hotel will have been well worth it and our guests will truly enjoy a beautifully upgraded and renovated hotel in just a few weeks. We do hope you give us another opportunity to prove How great we are.

Sincerely,
Sam A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2018 via mobile

Checked in, went to room, strange odor , not vacuumed, left hotel, no credit, no refund, don't even consider staying there . It's ranked one of top ten hotels in Hudson. That's got to be a bad joke

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank J8419ZGdavidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam A, General Manager at St. Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018

Dear David D,

Thank you for your review. We strive to provide each guest with a memorable and enjoyable experience at our hotel, and unfortunately it seems that in this case, we fell short of our goal. St. Charles Hotel is currently under massive renovation, I assure you that this is not at all indicative of the level of service that we are accustomed to offering, and for that I offer my sincerest apologies.I will make sure to share your review with my entire team, so that we may continue to improve our facility. Thank you again for your review, and we do hope that you give us another chance the next time that you are in Hudson.


Best Regards,
Sam A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews