We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an enjoyable place”
Review of Hunter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hunter Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Hunter
Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What an enjoyable place”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed at the Hunter Inn over the long weekend and had a really nice time. The staff could not be nicer and more friendly and we will definitely be back. We did not realize that breakfast came with the room and that was a nice surprise. They had a nice continental breakfast and some really great fresh fruit. Considering that I did not see a grocery store anywhere around that was a nice touch. We also enjoyed the bar one night and had a good time listening to the musician they had playing there.

The rooms were clean but I think the carpet could use to be replaced as well as the curtains. It was a bit old. Just a suggestion. The bed is hard but we both slept great! Our room was near the lobby so it was easy in and out with our things but if you are traveling here over the weekend and go to bed early you might request a room further from the lobby as the sound carries from the bar.

The staff is very informative about the area and what is happening. We did not have the time to check out many of the local places as we were in town for an event that tied up most of the weekend. There was a list of different fun things to do in the room and they were telling us about some different festivals etc during the year that I am sure we will come back for.

We ate at Salena's Diner and at the Last Chance Tavern while we were in town. I loved my wrap at Salena's and thought the candy store at Last Chance was a very tempting draw - yummy. My husband loved the burger at Salena's but was not as crazy about the one at Last Chance.

Overall I would give the Hunter Inn really high marks. If they replaced the carpet, curtains that don't fit the windows, and the older bedspread I would give it a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center - there is a hot tub for the winter though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjj2red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    40
    18
    5
    17
See reviews for
42
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
506 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed here with friends one weekend - very accomodating staff, rooms nicely decorated, fantastic morning breakfast included in the price of the room. Ample parking, breathtaking views - what more can I say? Would stay here again & highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YayeMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2012

They have a pretty good stay and play package where you can stay there and ski for a low price. Included is a free full breakfast (on weekends) that was very good. I was really surprised with how much there was at the breakfast (fruit, yogurt, eggs, bacon, sausage, bagels, muffins, baked goods, pancakes, oatmeal) and everything was very tasty. As stated in other reviews, the rooms are outdated but for the deal you really cannot beat it. On a saturday night I ended up paying $120 bucks to sleep over, eat breakfast and lift ticket (double occupancy on the room). You really can't beat that considering the lift ticket alone is almost $70 bucks pp. I found the hotel staff to be very nice and accomodating and the hotel was clean. The rooms could be updated but it is very clean and I felt comfortable staying there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danap21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This really was the perfect spot for a nearby, relaxng holiday stay. Within a few hours we were out of the city and in the Catskills with fresh air and a cozy country inn. The hotel has a restaurant, bar, gameroom, an outdoor hot tub and nice oversized rooms. The complimentary breakfast buffet was a great way to start a busy day on the slopes and the jacuzzi outside under the stars was amazing. In the evening some of us were in the gameroom, some relaxing by the fire in the lounge, others were at the bar listening to the live music. We all said we would come back as a couple or with some friends or with our kids. Oh, and a convenient location with access to the mountain lifts and snotubing. A lotta fun!

Room Tip: Check out the duplex loft suites - very roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crawforddream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

In 2009 my husband and I got married. I had just finished college and we saved up enough money to have a backyard wedding in Hunter, we even cooked all the food ourselves because we couldn't afford catering. We asked our family and friends to stay at the Hunter Inn for the weekend (bringing the Inn thousands of dollars in business). They insisted we pay a deposit on the rooms because it was a festival weekend and they were busy. So I did, because everyone else was booked up. Our written contract with them said they would refund the deposit after all of our guests payed for their rooms. Now, more than two years later, a ton of ignored phone calls and letters, they still haven't refunded us. I even took them to small claims court and won...but they keep their bank account and property in a different name than their business so I couldn't get our money back. I feel sick every time I think of going back to Hunter. I waited a long time to post this, thinking maybe they'd change their mind and send me the money. I'm a recent graduate, unemployed and really wishing I had this $2000 in the bank. Maybe if I post here they'll realize how much this has affected my husband and I.

Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
16 Thank CiaraLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hunter hotels

Asia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The big plus to this place is it's great proximity to hunter's mountain. The Inn's lobby is cozy with a fireplace giving it a ski lodge-y feel. The restaurant isn't that bad. The bathrooms and bedrooms are comfortably large but outdated with red carpeting and worn-out looking beds. We found a used plate in one of the rooms but generally the place is good for an overnight stay. I would probably try the Kaatskill Mountain Club lodges next time.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WnaTrvelMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We stayed here last minute following a festival we had attended and we were shocked to see how large the room was. It was a really nice/large room and a great location. I would say that if you are looking for a reasonably priced place super close to Hunter Mountain- this place is perfect. If you are looking for a luxury vacation- this might be be what you are looking for.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCGirl5201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunter
11.1 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
16.1 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
19.4 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#3 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
10.7 km away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#3 of 6 in Hunter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
4.2 km away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Inn

Property: Hunter Inn
Address: 7433 Main Street, P.O. Box 355, Hunter, NY 12442
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hunter
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Hunter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hunter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Hotel Hunter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing