We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairlawn Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairlawn Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hunter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We just returned from a 3-day weekend at the Fairlawn Inn. As you can tell from the title we had a fabulous time. My husband and I were greeted at the door by Chuck, the friendly and gregarious owner of the inn. As it was my birthday get-away, my sister had called ahead and arranged for cheese plate and bottle of Presecco be put in out room. When we got upstairs we found a delightful assortment of cheeses, fruit, crackers and sweets. Our room, the Gazebo, was beautiful. We sipped our Presseco while lounging on the fainting couch. From the front 3 windows we had a very pretty view of Hunter Mountain. We stayed there 3 nights and all three nights we slept soundly. The breakfasts, whipped up by Chuck, were fantastic. There were 3 options each time, plus fruit and pastries.

We had gone up to Hunter to cross-country ski but as the snow wasn't the best, Chuck suggested several small hikes we could take. If you are a downhill skier the entrance to Hunter is quite close to the inn--definitely walkable in 5 or so minutes if you aren't lugging gear.

If you are planning a trip to the Catskills and are looking for a beautiful, Victorian inn to stay at, the Fairlawn is a great choice. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
This couple was great to have at the Inn. They were a pleasure to have around, had many conversations and we always like it when guests enjoy the common area rooms. We hope they will return often, next for TAP NY I think. Thanks for the great review - we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    27
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
26
103
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

My husband, son and I stayed at the Fairlawn Inn for one night so we could ski at Hunter Mountain. Chuck the Innkeeper is a wonderful person. The Inn is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Rasberry Room which was just charming, extremely comfortable and perfect for three people. I was impressed with the direction the Inn has taken to go green. Chuck recommended places in the area to eat and his recommendation was perfect. My family travels frequently during the year and over the years have stayed at numerous hotels, B&B's and Inns. This Inn is right up there with the best places we have stayed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Thank you for your kind words about the inn and the innkeeper. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Crossing, PA
Level Contributor
279 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

I spent one night at the Fairlawn and mostly it was fine. It is an old Inn with creeky steps, sloping floors and lots of wood on the floors, walls and ceilings giving it plenty of character but making it just a wee bit dark for my liking. It also had a musty aroma. Upon arrival I opened the room door for a while and let some fresh air in which helped alot. We had an electric fireplace in our room but couldnt get it going and I didnt want to bother Chuck. It was cold though and our friends in the room next to us had the heat turned up in their room which warmed ours too. The bed was very comfy and cozy. I liked that we entered direct from outside and did not have to trapse through the house to access our room..kinda motel style on the second floor. A second key gave us access to the house through either the front door or a door down the walkway from our room.

Breakfast was indeed Chuck's specialty and he seemed to delight in making it and it was a delight to eat it. Although a bit brusk, Chuck really is warm and friendly and eager to please. After several email interactions, requesting a specific time of arrival, kinda hard to give since we were coming from Ithaca on Motorcycles and it was shortly after Irene with many road blocks, I gave him a half hour notice when we were close and added after all this, he should have beers waiting then clearly stated "this is a joke" since emails can be misinterpreted. HE HAD SIX beers on ice waiting for us upon arrival...and after balking at my request for coffee, earlier than he wanted to put it out...He had it waiting for me with 2 kinds of cream and sugar when I came down somewhere between 6:30 and 7. Breakfast was at 8. He is a big guy, teddy bear style....lots of bluff but soft and mushy. I know and can appreciate this personality well, as I am a little rough around the edges myself.
THANK YOU CHUCK for a most pleasant evening in a grand old house. Have fun at the auctions.

Room Tip: ask chuck for a recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rivernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We went here for Bluestock festival in August 2011, unfortunately during hurricane Irene. Chuck was a very welcoming innkeeper and during the hurricane he was very hospitable and went out of his way to make us feel comfortable, making our stay very enjoyable despite the hurricane. The inn itself is spacious and homely and well situated within Hunter, and the food is delicious. We would definitely return! David and Izzy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank izzy267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hendersonville nc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Chuck was the most wonderful Inn Keeper I have ever meet. Myself and 2 girl friends stayed here during the first Bluestock Fest. we had the most amazing time'' we lost power late Sat. night' Chuck was a great host he went way beyond making all his guest feel special. I so have a great story to tell about my time at the Fairlawn Inn'' thanks to Chuck.'' Peace and Love '' Melody Crawford Hendersonville NC

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petels34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

If you travel to Hunter, NY and don't stay at the Fairlawn Inn you missed the best B&B's in the Catskills. Recently there for our daughter wedding both families filled the Inn. Chuck, the proprietor provided a pleasant atmosphere in a beautifully kept Inn where the rooms are clean, well furnished and breakfast is not to be missed. We had a great time becoming part of a larger family, including Chuck. Hey Chuck, enjoy Key West and get some well deserved rest.
B&B

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richfield, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Our son was married this past weekend in Hunter. Immediate family of both the bride and groom stayed at the Fairlawn Inn and we held the rehearsal dinner there. The inn is beautiful, Chuck and the staff are extremely nice and very accommodating. We had wonderful breakfasts, very lovely accomodations and would definitely return--hopefully sometime soon :) The rehearsal dinner had a Mexican theme and Chuck made great food and decorated really nicely to complement the theme. A good time was had by all! A definite return trip is in order!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunter
9.9 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.7 km away
Scribner's Catskill Lodge
20.9 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Catskill Lodge Bed and Breakfast
5.8 km away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 5 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
10.5 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 9 in Windham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawn Inn

Property: Fairlawn Inn
Address: 7872 Main Street, PO Box 182, Hunter, NY 12442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hunter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hunter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairlawn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1904 fully restored and updated Victorian Mansion. Nine bedroom B&B all with private baths, free WIFI queen sized beds, Flat Screen TV's with DVD players, includes a full cooked to order breakfast. Centrally located in the Catskills with many attractions, within walking distance to Hunter Mountain a four season Ski Resort. Newest attraction is the Zip line adventure, the tallest and longest in North America. Adjacent to the Hudson Valley and many activities too numerous to mention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairlawn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairlawn Hotel Hunter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing