We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
166
30
9
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
30
9
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gazebo room fire pit b bs omelet hunter mountain pool table gourmet breakfast pancakes french toast fresh fruit claw foot tub the main house beautiful antiques old victorian thoroughly enjoyed our stay old friends every guest
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 219 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2017

My stay was mid-week in late July and we had the whole house to ourselves. The hosts were welcoming, accommodating, and just plain fun to talk to. As all guests, we had access to a pool table, snacks, drinks, local restaurant suggestions and a stunning garden. I only wish there had been more interesting places within walking distance of the inn to make the night we stayed there perfect.

Room tip: Three rooms we saw had amazing claw foot tubs. Try and get one of these if you like a long soak.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Thanks for the compliments and we hope to see you again. I also wish we had more within walking distance but have many many things in the surrounding area to offset that. Kaaterskill Falls, North South Lake State park and much more. The inn is in a beautiful area, in the shadow of Hunter Mountain and again still lots to do if you are not walking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2017

We were on our way back to Michigan from an east coast trip and decided to cut through the Catskills. Clean, great breakfast, comfy bed. Yes, it's old, but seems to be well cared for and a beautiful house. Wonderful places to sit outside, but unfortunately we didn't have time to take advantage of the porch and garden setting. We were in the turret room. Lots of windows if you like that. Nice view of the mountain. If you need to go to bed early beware the outside spotlights on the house create a glow through the windows that might keep some people up. Seems like they went out at 11pm which isn't too bad. my wife noticed but I was sound asleep. The bathroom door is off a little so it scrapes when you open and close it. This might be a problem in the middle of the night if you use the bathroom as the scraping might wake up your significant other. My wife is only 5 feet and the bathroom mirror just didn't make it for her. For medium and tall people only. We would definitely go back.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kzoowork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2017

Thanks for the review and the compliments. We have adjusted the lights to go off earlier and we will investigate and make sure the door does not stick. We will look to provide an alternate mirror, the wainscoting is high in the room but we will look at it. We appreciate your feedback so we can insure every guest has a great experience here. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile

Went to Hunter for July 4th weekend to hike katerskill waterfall. Chuck told us about Colgate lake which was better then where i normally go which is north south lake. The main house had free drink and snacks, plus whoever the chef was, 2 thumbs up.b

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2017

Glad you liked the breakfast and the places we sent you to. Colgate lake is a nice and quieter alternative to North South Lake Campgrounds. Especially when it is a holiday weekend and that campground is packed. Thanks for the compliments and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile

The Fairlawn Inn is the best B&B we have ever stayed at. The Inn is a gorgeous Victorian house with beautiful ceilings, wallpaper and light fixtures, and beautiful antiques for all to enjoy. The rooms are gorgeous and furnished for your enjoyment. There is a garden to enjoy with a really nice fire pit and a really nice porch with tables that has a gazebo attached. Chuck, the Innkeeper, goes out of his way for you, and ensures you will be comfortable, leaving out snacks and cookies and offers a great breakfast including a simple amazing omelet. You won't be disappointed staying at the Fairlawn Inn, as it is an amazing Bed and Breakfast, thanks to Chuck.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GeorgiaRusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2017

Thanks for your review, you were a pleasure to have at the inn and we look forward to seeing you next year for Taste of Country or hopefully even sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2017

My husband and I spent a 2 night weekend at the Fairlawn and we very much enjoyed our stay! The breakfast was great, the house has amazing history, the owners were helpful and the grounds were beautiful.

Room tip: The willow room is next to the upstairs gazebo, and has a great two-person outdoor lounge chair.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HobokenCrossfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2017

Thank you for coming and we hope to see you again. We appreciate the feedback and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews