We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
166
30
9
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
30
9
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gazebo room fire pit b bs hunter mountain pool table gourmet breakfast pancakes fresh fruit french toast beautiful antiques omelet thoroughly enjoyed our stay old friends every guest rave reviews the main house my boyfriend
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 219 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise the Fairlawn Inn turned out to be. This beautifully decorated historic inn set on gorgeously landscaped grounds was just what this stressed out, overworked couple needed. There were so many outdoor spaces, to, to relax and enjoy the mountain views -- an upstairs gazebo, charming front porch and lovely patio equipped with a fire pit. Chuck, the innkeeper, was fabulous and his breakfasts are legendary!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

I like legendary... we appreciate you taking time to review us and thank you for your commentary. Come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at the Fairlawn Inn. Our innkeeper, Chuck, was exceptionally accommodating. We knew we would be arriving late for check-in and he made sure to let us know where to find our keys to easily let ourselves in. Breakfasts are delicious and filling, including fresh fruit and home baked goods. Chuck is a font of knowledge of the area and was always willing to share tips on the best sights to see and best places to eat. Our room was cozy, wonderfully appointed, with an abundant supply of hot water for baths and showers after days of exploring the Catskills. The garden is in full bloom in August and so peaceful to just sit, relax, and soak up the views of the looming mountains. I would definitely recommend the Fairlawn Inn for any visitor looking to spend a few days in the Catskills of Greene County.

Room Tip: The Opal Room was perfect for a family of three.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Thank you for your review and commentary. We are glad to have provided a comfortable atmosphere within which to explore the area. We live in a beautiful area with many fine places to visit, restaurants to enjoy. We hope to see you again soon and thanks for the glowing commentary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2017

The Fairlawn Inn is an immaculate, charming Victorian inn with a beautifully decorated interior. A dash of whimsy makes it warm and inviting. The gardens are absolutely gorgeous, providing a place to sit and relax. Due to the weather during our visit, we enjoyed time on the second floor porch gazebo, which was private and quiet. The evening lighting is magical. Our Gazebo Room had a nice view of the mountain and was furnished with soft, luxe bed linens and fragrant bath towels. I was greeted with a thoughtful birthday surprise from the innkeeper.

Every breakfast was delicious, especially the stuffed french toast. The details in the presentation including fresh berries and homemade whipped cream were delightful. You will not need lunch.

The greatest gem was Chuck, the innkeeper. In addition to his vast wealth of knowledge, he was personable, entertaining, and a sincere host. You will not meet anyone who works so diligently to exceed the expectations of all his guests. Jim is a gracious host as well. We have stayed at numerous B&Bs and have certainly met cordial and informative innkeepers, but exactly that, just cordial and informative. Yes, Chuck is a gem, a rare find. Do not miss the experience of the Fairlawn Inn. We highly recommend it, you will not be disappointed.

For vintage hunters, do not miss the antique store across the street or the church thrift shop.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve_Linda_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Wow... thanks for the glowing report of your stay. We make every effort to please guests and in your case it was easy. You too were a bright spot in the stay with us. Guests like you make our choice of career a good one. If in your neck of the woods we will definitely touch base before our visit. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon, either here or in PA.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017

My stay was mid-week in late July and we had the whole house to ourselves. The hosts were welcoming, accommodating, and just plain fun to talk to. As all guests, we had access to a pool table, snacks, drinks, local restaurant suggestions and a stunning garden. I only wish there had been more interesting places within walking distance of the inn to make the night we stayed there perfect.

Room Tip: Three rooms we saw had amazing claw foot tubs. Try and get one of these if you like a long soak.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Thanks for the compliments and we hope to see you again. I also wish we had more within walking distance but have many many things in the surrounding area to offset that. Kaaterskill Falls, North South Lake State park and much more. The inn is in a beautiful area, in the shadow of Hunter Mountain and again still lots to do if you are not walking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2017

We were on our way back to Michigan from an east coast trip and decided to cut through the Catskills. Clean, great breakfast, comfy bed. Yes, it's old, but seems to be well cared for and a beautiful house. Wonderful places to sit outside, but unfortunately we didn't have time to take advantage of the porch and garden setting. We were in the turret room. Lots of windows if you like that. Nice view of the mountain. If you need to go to bed early beware the outside spotlights on the house create a glow through the windows that might keep some people up. Seems like they went out at 11pm which isn't too bad. my wife noticed but I was sound asleep. The bathroom door is off a little so it scrapes when you open and close it. This might be a problem in the middle of the night if you use the bathroom as the scraping might wake up your significant other. My wife is only 5 feet and the bathroom mirror just didn't make it for her. For medium and tall people only. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kzoowork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2017

Thanks for the review and the compliments. We have adjusted the lights to go off earlier and we will investigate and make sure the door does not stick. We will look to provide an alternate mirror, the wainscoting is high in the room but we will look at it. We appreciate your feedback so we can insure every guest has a great experience here. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews