We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
166
30
9
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
30
9
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gazebo room fire pit b bs hunter mountain pool table gourmet breakfast pancakes fresh fruit french toast beautiful antiques omelet thoroughly enjoyed our stay old friends every guest rave reviews the main house my boyfriend
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 219 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2018

My husband and I are regular visitors of the Fairlawn Inn. We fell in love with the Fairlawn in 2008. We loved it so much, the Fairlawn hosted our wedding in 2012. The charm of each room decorated with beautiful antiques to the unique décor of each bedroom is only the surface of what we love about the Fairlawn. Chuck the Inn keeper welcomes you with a smile and gives you the details of the Inn, keys, snacks, and the most important the time of Breakfast. Chuck has a way of brining the guests together without you even knowing it is happening. I have given many reviews of how wonderful the gourmet breakfast are prepared. But sometimes its nice to sit and listen to what other people are saying too in the dinning room. Each day the breakfast includes fresh fruit,homemade breads, or muffins, juice, and a hot breakfast menu to please everyone. Our most recent stay March 16-18 2018 I sat in the dinning room and just listened to what was being said around me. As the couples/ families arrived to breakfast you could hear them say what a wonderful presentation was given to them. They had never had such a wonderful breakfast given to them at an Inn. As I sat and watched every guest enjoy their meals only leaving empty plates and compliments behind. The wonderful breakfast and friendly atmosphere are what keeps my husband I going back. We have our next visit planned already. If I had to sum up our stay each time at the Fairlawn I would say this, The Fairlawn is a place where strangers check in and friends check out.…

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

No Shhhh please, we welcome all guests and new friends. Janet and Steve have become great friends and assets when they visit. Their interactions with other guests are great. We welcome many long term guests who have indeed become friends, some from the first month I bought it in 2002. Thanks for the great review and continued memories we create each time you visit. By the way Steve and Janet are excellent hosts as I have visited their lovely home too. And.. the best part there was no charge and a comparable breakfast was served.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018

We have received a warm welcome at the inn every visit. Charming Victorian decor along with tvs in-room and free wifi. Proprietor makes the best breakfasts - try the four-cheese omelet - and coffee is available twenty-four hours a day. Pretty much across the street from Hunter - easy drive, even in a foot-plus of snow. First tracks - no problem.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Thanks Ann for a lovely review. You are a pleasure to have at the Fairlawn and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2018

This roadside B&B was a HUGE disappointment. Literally, on the main road, the grounds are far from what you expect from a country side b&b. Your views are of abandoned houses on one side, trailer with timber on the other side, and across the road you have Hunter mountain. The “main” house is cluttered with old warn furniture that is in desperate need of cleaning, its dark, dank and not welcoming at all, neither is the innkeeper Chuck. Chuck’s was rude, impatient, very much unpleasant, and not very hospitable. Asking him questions about the town, best places to eat, entertainment other than skiing seemed to annoy him.

Once inside our clutter, dank, dark room, which is outside the main house (if you wanted water, coffee, etc. you had to get dressed go outside go down two flights of stairs and make sure you have your key to get in or you’ll have to go back up) we were again disappointed, what we saw online far resemble what the room actual looked. The pics online are misleading. Not at all what the actual property or rooms look like. We had planned on stay two nights but cut our stay to one. It was the worst night sleep ever. The bed faced the door which had a glass up top which caused the bright lights for the outside to shine in. Over the bed was another light fixture that wouldn’t shut off, so we were forced to sleep with this illuminating light all night. We woke up with the room freezing so we searched for the heat, only to realize that the connected room has control over the room temperature in our room. This place SUCKS, there’s nothing good I could say about the town nor the Fairlawn Inn.

The walls are SUPER thin, we heard EVERY word spoken in the room next door, we even heard someone brushing their teeth, and my boyfriend his hard of hearing, but could hear that.

Oh, breakfast is served from 8am-9am so hurry, because Chuck will close down the kitchen.

Room Tip: Select a room inside the main house
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blkdiamond731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

This couple was unhappy at the time of arrival, unhappy during their stay and unhappy when they left. With a full credit after they referred to it as a "dump" for their second night. Please read the other reviews if you would like a representation of what you get when you stay with us.

This couple had a gas fireplace in their room so they could have turned that on at any time. It would have warmed the room in minutes. The guests in the adjacent room replied they were cozy in the room when I asked. The sola-tube/ceiling light had a damper which closes with a switch/ the light is on a different switch. The "warn furnishings" are antiques which we are quite proud to display. The furniture in the living room is a reproduction of furniture in the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

All of these guests concerns could have been addressed with a polite request, like when we let them in the first night having locked themselves out. It is unfortunate they did not enjoy their stay. It obviously was not a property suited to their tastes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Fairlawn Inn! Chuck and the rest of the staff were friendly and welcoming to my husband, myself, and our Golden Retriever. Our room (the Willow Room) was cozy and impeccably clean, and we really enjoyed relaxing by our in-room fireplace after a chilly day on the slopes. There is a good bit of yard that our dog enjoyed playing ball in. The added amenities around the inn (snacks, cold beverages, tea station, pool table, etc.) really elevate the experience and differentiate it from an average hotel stay. We also appreciated the green initiatives implemented here. The breakfast is outstanding - very well-rounded with healthy/vegetarian/gluten-free options. The proximity to Hunter Mountain cannot be beat! We cannot wait to go back.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2018

Amanda,
Thank you for your great and thorough review. Lily was a pleasure to have (the dog) and was quiet and a joy to watch as she frolicked in the snow. We try to exceed guests expectations and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We cannot wait to see Lily again soon, her sweet owners too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2018 via mobile

The place is well maintained, well located as well. We stayed at the opal room. Cute, romantic vibe and loved the room as we entered.

The inn serves you only breakfast and you have to step out for the other meals. The breakfast is amazing through.

Tip 1: check if the room you staying in has it's own heater. Ours did not and we were sharing the thermostat with another guest and hence the temp was set according to them

Tip 2: carry loads of food cause it's even very cold, you surely will be lazy to get out for food. No one does delivery

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank architamodi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2018

Thanks for your review and commentary, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return often.

The thermostat is behind a lock box and the temperature is set by the innkeeper not the guest which we would adjust to a mutually agreeable temperature to all the guests affected upon request.

We do have many great surrounding restaurants but since we are in a more rural area there is no delivery. One taxi service thus far no Uber so it is likely you will have to drive for meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews