We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful Castle with So Much History!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oheka Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oheka Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Certificate of Excellence
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Beautiful Castle with So Much History!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Received a Groupon overnight stay as a Christmas Gift. We just returned home. Castle is BEAUTIFUL. They need to work on the front desk staff. They had given wrong information as to the time of the tour. I had even called one day in advance to be sure of the tour time because that was on our must do list. Sadly missed it due to the wrong time they had given us (11AM instead of 10AM). They offered us a tour with a bus load of Elementary children, and we tried, but clearly it wasn't the same. Also we were made to wait outside in the cold for 5 minutes before we could even enter the caste , while a bridal party took their pictures.
We would go back for another visit, because it is so beautiful and full of history, but a word of advice... go during the week, NOT on a Friday, Saturday or Sunday. The castle is clearly used mostly for a Wedding Venue as well as Business events.!! All in all, worth the trip!

Room Tip: Groupon is the only way to go... Rooms are very expensive otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    47
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
35
132
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Let me guess…you have “groupon” and you’re planning to use it soon? Mine came with accommodation, castle tour for two ($50 value), two complimentary cocktail drinks and continental breakfast.

The hotel is located about 45 minutes from Manhattan. There’s not much to do around there unless you’re a golf lover. I suggest a Horse Riding trail for $40 (per person/per hour) at Sweet Hill Stable. Its 5 minutes from the hotel.

There are too many fine prints. I understand that the rules are intended for the well being of the hotel guest, BUT…When you’re staying at a luxury hotel, you expect to be pampered and treated like royalty. You suppose to fell relax + happy going to that particular hotel. I didn’t feel this way at the beginning.

Reservation was made quickly and easily, but never got the confirmation letter as promised. Called the 2nd time to get the confirmation letter and we got it. Then we had some (concierge) questions and emailed twice and again no respond at all.

ENTRANCE/GARDEN: you have to go through some houses then you’ll see the hotel’s gate. As you approach the gate, you’ll enter this beautiful gravel driveway surround with evergreen trees on both sides (one way in, one way out). As of March 12, the reflecting pools are filled with water in the garden area. See pictures above.

VALET: Complimentary valet parking is included. They require all keys to be left at front desk in case of filming and photo shoots. Valet was fast and efficient.

FRONT DESK/CONCIERGE/BELL PERSON: the “Grand Stair” is the first thing you’ll see when you enter the castle. Front desk is located to the right of it. Check in was quick- its look like they already have all the room assigned and keys were made for all guests arriving that day. The front desk looks like a typical office, not a reception desk. I didn’t see where the concierge or the bell people were located.

ROOM: there are 32 rooms, 4 floors. The owner (Gary) lives in the castle so expect to see him around with Mia-she’s a cutie! The hotel is shaped like the letter “E”. We’re assigned to room #320, which face the back of the castle. Our view: golf course. King side bed, sofa, 2 televisions, complimentary snacks/waters, DVD player, VHS player, 2 robes ($145 added to your bill if you take it), large bathroom with soaking tub and standing shower with L'Occitane amenities. You can’t open the window. They should upgrade the iron; the current one doesn’t have a retractable cord! We didn’t hear our neighbors, but could hear the water running on both sides when they turn it on or use the toilet.

TOUR: it’s at 10am and it’s about an hour long. Bring your camera! You can take pictures “because we’re not a museum” as mentioned by the tour guide. If you read the fine prints, NO JEANS allowed. LOLs, you can tell some people did do their homework. Some people came with suit and tie while other wore jeans and sneakers. If I were you, dress casual- you definitely don’t need to wear a suit! We asked one of the valet attendants, he said there’s really no dress code. The tour guide gave us the history of the castle (you can read it yourself on the website), took us around the castle to the see the ballrooms, the reflecting garden, the bridal suite, the bar, the library, Charles Chaplin’s room. I like my room compared the bride suite (Room#401). The only thing I like about the bridal suite is the size, the view of the garden and the tub. I find Chaplin’s room interesting because there are so many antiques, collections and information of Oheka in the media. So I found out that Kevin JONAS, Anthony WEINER, Michael LOHAN all got married here (just to name a few). The Clintons stayed here, the show Royal Pains filmed here and the castle is used in a lot of commercials and photo shoots.

Here are some of the fine prints I mentioned earlier:
- Dress code: country club casual or evening attire in all area according to website/brochure and confirmation letter. We found out that this was not the case when we got there! People can wear jeans, sneaker and t-shirts in all area of the estate.
- 21 yrs old to book a room/18 yrs old to check in.
-No outside food or drink.
-Non-Smoking hotel, so no need to request a non-smoking room! Violator will be charge a recovery fee of $250 + taxes.
-check in is at 3pm + check out is at… I don’t know: 11am on website/brochure and 12 noon on confirmation letter.
-Late check out? Half night’s rate between 11am-2pm and full night’s rate after 2pm.
- Rate is for double occupancy so if you have extra guest the fee is $75, crib, microwave, frig is $ 25 per night + taxes. It’s $35 on the confirmation letter.
- Continental breakfast included up too guests from 8:30-10:30 a.m.; Non-registered guest is an additional $25 + taxes. Very friendly and attentive staff!!
- 24 hrs fitness center -we didn’t use.
- Non-Party Clause: they’ll charge you $1500 if they find out that partied in your room!
-Only dogs allowed with a cleaning fee of $200 per pet/per day!
-One Bride policy, which means that if you got married off property, you better take your gown off before going to the castle!

Overall the castle is beautiful, our stay was fine. It’s definitely a great opportunity for amateur photographer + a romantic place for love birds.

Managements might want to look at their policies over as you can see there are a lot of discrepancies and have someone follow up on emails.

Btw, the castle is still in the process of restoring so don’t be picky-you definitely see cracks here and there!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tantam0unt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Absoutely Beautiful Hotel. The architecture is stunning and truely grand and story behind the castle and its owner is amazing.

The grounds are lovely, perfectly groomed and manicured. Everything is top notch. The service is friendly and attentive. The food is very good at the restaurant as well. As the other reviewers mentioned, the owner Gary, is a great guy and makes you feel that you are at a home away from home. Oheka Castle is a must Stay and must See if you visit Long Island. Oheka Castle is the perfect short term getaway and we will be back when the gardens are in bloom! We look forward to the new Spa!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiftlysaid38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodbridge, nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I purchased a night on Groupon as a gift for my husband. The Castle is breathtaking. I had booked a king sized bed and they gave us a queen. Not a problem--they asked us to view the 2 rooms (they are all different) and pick one we liked.They were so nice about the change. We sat in the bar, where the owner introduced himself. It had to be one of the most magnificent places I have ever been. Continental breakfast was great the next day. We had a burger and dessert in the bar area--AMAZING. The service was unbeleiveable. Everyone there was so friendly. I recommend the Oheka to anyone looking to have a fabulous weekend. It was even more wonderful than the pictures. I can only say good things--I had read other reviews that were not as positvie--so not the case in our experience.

Room Tip: I saw 3 of the rooms--they were spotless and all decorated differently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shopinjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldwell, NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I had a little overnight getaway to this magical place..... Truly a castle with wonderful suite and meticulously clean bathroom. We very much enjoyed the atmosphere, but the staff, oh my.... very friendly, generous and attentive..... While my husband and I were enjoying an after dinner drink at the lovely bar, the owner Gary came over to "chat"... No pretense... we felt like we were talking with a buddy..... He chatted about everything, but started off by saying," Hi, I am Gary and welcome to my home".... geeze Food good. SO if you get the chance with Groupon, GO, GO, GO!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caldweff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I surprised my girlfriend with a short trip to Oheka Castle. As soon as you arrive at the gate you know it's not your normal luxury hotel. It's a truly beautiful place. The room had an extremely comfortable king size bed and a 2 person Jacuzzi in the bathroom. I used this surprise trip to pop the question, and the garden was the perfect place to do it. It was winter so the reflection pools were empty, but it didn't matter SHE SAID YES.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I spent one night at Oheka castle on a groupon coupon. We were treated like royalty. It was a quiet midweek stay so we had the castle to ourselves. We got a whitney room , room 319 with a king size bed and a two -man whirlpool tub. Continental breakfast was included as was two drinks of our choice from their bar and a tour of the castle the next day. We went to Legal Seafood ( about 10 minute drive ) in Huntington for dinner. Our trip was on Jan. 31,2012 but there wasn't any snow. This is also a slow time for them for weddings. If one could afford it what a place for a wedding. They have 32 rooms for people to stay. I don't think I will forget the experience of staying in a castle , was a museum.. Was wonderfully restored . Great time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank Jeanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington
3.5 km away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
11.0 km away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Woodbury Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
19.9 km away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#3 of 4 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
5.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oheka Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oheka Castle

Property: Oheka Castle
Address: 135 W Gate Dr, Huntington, NY 11743-6052
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Huntington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oheka Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHEKA CASTLE is a majestic historic mansion located on Long Island's famed Gold Coast between New York City and The Hamptons. This French-style chateau is the second largest private residence in America and has undergone $30 million in restoration to transform this stately home back to its former 1920's grandeur. OHEKA is listed on the National Register for Historic Places and boasts 32 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites on the upper floors where guests can sleep like royalty. Guests can enjoy a leisurely stroll around the beautiful formal gardens designed by the Olmsted Brothers, take a mansion tour and learn about the rich history of OHEKA and Otto Kahn, or dine in the OHEKA Bar and Restaurant before retiring to your uniquely designed guestroom for an in-room massage. Breathtakingly beautiful, OHEKA CASTLE is admired around the world as a premier venue for exquisite weddings and gala celebrations and has been the backdrop to many prominent film and photo productions. The refined European atmosphere and the feeling of being transported back in time to the decadence of the Roaring Twenties consistently gives OHEKA the recognition as America's Grandest Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oheka Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oheka Castle Huntington, NY - Long Island
Oheka Castle Hotel Huntington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing