We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If I Could Live in this Yurt I Absolutely Would.”
other travellers have booked this property
Unique and lovely yurt nestled in a discovery garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Unique and lovely yurt nestled in a discovery garden
Living room with pull out full sized futon. Pellet stove keeps the yurt cozy all winter Full kitchen stocked with cooking supplies and table service
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Unique and lovely yurt nestled in a discovery garden
Living room with pull out full sized futon. Pellet stove keeps the yurt cozy all winter
Full kitchen stocked with cooking supplies and table service
Master bedroom w/full size memory foam bed and DVD player
Sleeping loft with 2 twin beds
Elsa found twirly carrots! What will you harvest from the garden?
The garden is surrounded by roses
Children can help with planting and harvesting!
Waterfalls within hiking distance, Treman and Buttermilk State Parks only 5 minutes drive away!
Tea party hideaway
Climbing Vine Cottage signs welcomes you!
Garden pond with gold fish and frogs
The yurt stays cozy all winter!
Private stone patio w/ grill, table and fire pit
Bathroom with shower, sink and toilet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ithaca, Finger Lakes, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RDelMonte
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If I Could Live in this Yurt I Absolutely Would.”
Reviewed September 11, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
5
people found this review helpful

I cannot say enough positive things about this amazing experience. Michelle and her family are just incredible. I'm sure some of you might be wondering if it's strange or awkward to be staying in a Yurt in someone's backyard. The answer is absolutely not. It's wonderful. Michelle is extremely nice and very informative about her grounds and gardens. The fresh vegetables every day were incredible! It truly was a unique and special trip. My friends and I cannot wait to stay here again!!! We're already trying to plan out another trip! I can't stop talking about how amazing Yurt Life was.

On to some important details: The Yurt is impeccable. Surprisingly spacious! We had 6 people staying there and we never felt cramped or crowded. The full kitchen was spotless and allowed us to cook every day. We harvested vegetables from the garden and used them to make breakfast, lunch and dinner. The sleeping arrangement was very comfortable. The bathroom was surprisingly large as well. It's a genius use of space, really. There were board games, books, movies and all sorts of things for us to do on our one rainy afternoon. We went hiking in the back woods, found a lovely gorge and walked through the water. We had a campfire at night. It truly was a little piece of paradise. By the time out two nights were over we were so sad and were already planning out our next trip!

The Yurt is also very conveniently located just 10 minutes down the road from Wegmans and only about 15 minutes (if even) from the Ithaca Commons. It's also just down the road from Ithaca Brewing Company.

Moral of the story: book it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything.
Liked least: The fact that we only booked it for 2 nights!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexk11
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful, clean and welcoming”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Climbing Vine Cottage is just a lovely place to stay. It's spotlessly clean, well equipped, and in a stunning and very quiet location. Michelle who owns and runs it is friendly and very helpful.

The location is very peaceful (behind the owner's house off a quiet road), and backs onto woodland. The garden in front of the yurt is really lovely, the beds are comfortable... Have stayed there twice and would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: Lack of washing machine (though there is a laundromat a few miles away, so this wasn't a problem)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa_i...
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved staying in a yurt!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our family loves new experiences. Rather than staying in a nondescript motel, we were thrilled to be in the countryside in such a unique setting. It was surprisingly roomy inside. The yurt is well equipped with a beautiful bathroom and a very nice kitchen.Despite a large selection of restaurants in Ithaca, we opted to spend our 2nd night cooking so we could just hang out together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saritabea...
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“At one with nature, away from the hustle and bustle!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A fantastic warm and cosy Yurt, with space yet privacy, luxuries yet spartan and slightly rustic, a fabulous mix of feeling comfortable and cosseted, whilst feeling like you are worlds away from technology, city life and noise. Michelle and her family were so welcoming and helpful, and whilst the Yurt is in their garden, there is a perfect balance of feeling included if you want to in the garden activities, but not overlooked or made to feel awkward if you want to just be by yourselves. It was fantastic with our 2 yr old, who played in the garden on the swings and slide, and with Michelle's children, and who loved the rooster, dog, fish and other wildlife surrounding the yurt. we had a fabulous hike in the woods to the gorge, and took car trips to local waterfalls and state parks. A real gem of a holiday cottage, and somewhere I would highly recommend and would love to go back myself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable yet rustic, and the welcoming nature of the hosts.
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B
Binghamton, New York
1 review
“unique accomodations, could be more private”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

It was unique, nice atmosphere, well maintained, comfortable, close to Ithaca with lots opportunities for hiking and good restaurants. The only drawback for us was close proximity to owner's backyard and home. Make note, during our stay, internet activity was extremely poor.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick H
Akron, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delivered on all expections”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Property owner ( Michelle ) provided the perfect get-a-way for my wife and I. Reviews referenced "Great for Kids" but for a couple looking for a romantic anniversary long weekend it was Great. For the Amature Chef's the garden provided fresh ingredients and the apple trees were a special treat. Hiking and waterfalls around Ithaca are the best in the Finger Lakes Region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was just as Advertised.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGirl60
Marcellus, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's like living in a Fairy Tale”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was the perfect vacation spot. The Yurt has all the comforts of home with none of the distractions. The garden is not only beautiful but provided the makings of the most delicious meals. The location is perfect just minutes from some of the best hiking you could want. My 9 year old daughter summed it up best; "it's like living in a fairy tale".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the garden
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing