We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood place, little elbow room, but worth the coziness”
Review of Cliff's Elbow Room

Cliff's Elbow Room
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Jamesport
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Low-key neighborhood restaurant with neighborhood feel. Looks like a joint from the Catskills. Family and friends, young and old enjoyed the atmosphere and the food. Staff was very pleasant and professional. Mussels, Jumbo Shrimp Cocktail, and Chicken Wings appetizers were very good to the last bite. A special of the day choice, Shrimp and Crab Ravioli, with a finger licking, bread dipping sauce was great. Had to share. Hamburger was juicy, NY Shell Steak marinated well, tasty, but just a bit charred. For others the char might be to their liking. Jumbo Fried Shrimp was okay. Entrees came with salad, potatoes - we had French fries and a baked potato. They were reasonable size portion, not excessive and good.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 137 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2018

nice place right close to the vineyards, first time i had mussels and they were delicious. Mussels in garlic sauce, the stake is charred and tasty. very good food.. nice location, you can take a walk and visit the shops. 10-15 minutes from Greenport.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank angelmanuelt2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018

We made our yearly trek to Cliffs two weeks ago. Living now in Florida we only get to Cliffs on our summer vacation.
Truly the best marinated steak in the country. This steak easily beats out any restaurant
I have experienced anywhere.
Bern's Steakhouse in Tampa Florida boasts the best steak and service. They have served three recent US Presidents and while the service is absolutely tops, the steak is ALMOST as good as Cliff's.
We have ordered steak all over the southwest (cattle & steak country) and not one comes close to the little Elbow Room.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brett K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2018

I'll be honest. This place is an old bar with a small dining room. Nothing fancy. No frills. But if you want the most mouthwatering steak you ever tasted - THIS IS IT! I ordered a marinated steak and recommend that. It's incredible. I don't know how they cooked it. It was perfect and flavorful on the outside and done just as I ordered on the inside. I don't know how they consistently accomplish this year after year. But I will never go to Long Island and skip a visit to Cliff's - it's simply the best steak I've ever had.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank paula b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Marinated T bone steak and baked sweet potato with there cinnamon butter is outstanding ! We had a shrimp wrapped in bacon with horseradish sauce for appetizer that was over the top !

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cliff's Elbow Room also viewed

 
South Jamesport, North Fork
 
Jamesport, North Fork
Mattituck, North Fork
 

Been to Cliff's Elbow Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing