We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
20
26
17
20
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
26
17
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbagelsoutdoor poolnew carpetshopping and restaurantssafe placecontinental breakfastwaffle makerhotel staffconvenient locationgreat breakfastmotelmuseum
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 95 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2014

good place to lay your head...
rooms were tidied every day and the continental breakfast was just the minimal....
I would recommend this place to anyone who just needs a place to sleep and a coffee in the morning...
nothing real special but it was ok...

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2014

We only stayed one night. The rooms are very old and the furniture is beat up from use. The bed was comfortable and clean. Not bad but needs updated. Will probably stay here again because it was close to our destination.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed there Friday August 29th 2014. I have been staying at this place since about 1990, approximately once overy 1-2 years, since it was the Colony motel. I have watched it grow old, and deteriorate over the years. It needs a complete overhall. The last one was probably 1970-1980. I noticed a definite change a few years ago, (maybe when the current owners took over? - not really sure?), and not for the better. These owners definitely don't seem to care.
We had a non smoking room. The carpet was absolutely disgusting. The smell was unbelievable. To be fair, the rest of the room was clean, even if very old. The bathroom was clean, and the beds were decent. If this had been the only time we ran into this, it might be played off as something was spilled, etc. But the last time we stayed here, it was a different room and the same, (very), stinky carpet.
The breakfast was very simple, yet sufficient. The only ice machine had approximately 3-4 " of ice in it, (and we got there before most people), so I'm sure it ran out shortly after we got a little.
The gentleman checking us in should learn how to at least say "hi" to people. He obviously wasn't comfortable dealing with people.
This will be the last time we stay here until some major remodeling/upgrading is done.
We're not the $300 - $400 dollar a night Grand Hotel type of people, but this was off the far end of the scale.
Time to update it. And maybe bring in someone to run it?
The best part of this place is the Good times Saloon is directly next door. Great place!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2014

There were stairs up to the second floor on the outside of the motel. They were covered in loose rubber mats that were obviously a stop gap remedy to rotting and unsafe stairs. We had to go very slowly and did trip up several times. Very dangerous. We were there for three nights. Only one night were we able to get a parking space anywhere near our room. There were many trucks with boats on trailers that took up two and three spots. One of the days our room was not attended, we returning about 3 pm from a day out and the cleaning lady said it wasn't her room, but she did give us clean towels when we asked. The toilet was loose, it rocked every time it was used. There was no where to put down anything in the bathroom. No shelves, or counters. The window in the bathroom had dead bugs on the screen and in the well between the window and the window's frame. This is a tired and run-down facility. In the reception area one had to call a phone number to get someone to come to the front desk. They were not pleasant, just doing business. The family who owns or runs the motel lived on the premises and there was a lot of noise from them in their back yard each evening. The price was too high at any cost. We are writing directly to the franchise to be sure that this is read.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenceandMarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Americas Best Value Inn we stayed at in Jamestown was a nice place to stay. I really liked it. If I ever go back to Jamestown I will stay here. If you drink coffee you may want to bring a coffee maker they have none in the room. The beds are comfortable. the rooms are clean. they have benches to sit on outside your room . there is an outdoor pool. if you go here make sure you stop in and eat in davidsons. really good home cooked food. shopping is up the road about a mile. the desi lucy museum is about a mile away. just a really nice relaxing place to stay

Room Tip: some of the rooms have kitchenettes
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews