We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome location and very hospitable owners.”
other travellers have booked this property
Living/Dining Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living/Dining Room
Dining Room The Phillip's Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Living/Dining Room
Dining Room
The Phillip's Room
Rebecca's Room
Cozy Reading Corner in Rebecca's Room
Upstairs Bathroom
Fully-Outfitted Kitchen
Office Space in the Kitchen
Make your Dinner or a Picnic Lunch!
Downstairs Half-Bath
Backyard & Patio
Backyard
Vegetable Gardens
Entryway
Front Porch
Looking to the left
Looking to the right
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kingston, New York

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Awesome location and very hospitable owners.”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This cottage is located very close to the Kingston River and has close restaurants. You are also about 20 minutes aways from a lot of the attractions that the area has to offer. It is very comfortable and clean. All of the linens are included and they even provided us with breakfast stuff for our first day along with coffee and some other daily necessities. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Wilma-
Thanks so much for the kind words. I'm glad you and your party had a good time. You are welcome to come any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
judyfo856
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were looking for a charming spot to stay in the Hudson River Valley and ran across Calder's Cottage. Susie and Micheal met us on our arrival with wine and cheese in hand and we're thee most gracious hosts. The cottage was very well appointed and so charming,,,just perfect for what we were looking for. We walked to the strand that evening and had a fantastic dinner at the Ship n Shore Restaurant. Breakfast was provided and it was great! The entire time in Kingston was Wonderful! Definitely worth a repeat!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2015
Thanks so much for staying with us. If you had stayed longer, Michael and I both said your group were the kind of people that we most likely would have had over for dinner. That has happened a few times, when we really clicked with guests. Don't be surprised if you get a call when we are in Texas. Would love to meet you for a glass of wine. Cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice S
Pennsylvania
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

What a wonderful getaway for our 'girls weekend'. We were in town for the annual Country Living Magazine Fair in Rhinebeck NY. Michael and Susie anticipated our every need; what fun to have a deliciously prepared breakfast delivered to the kitchen each morning. The house is cozy and inviting, with efficient amenities and tasteful décor. Plenty of room for all four of us.
Thank you for making our stay so pleasant. We enjoyed sitting in the yard with a glass of wine at the end of the day, and counting our blessings.
See you soon!
Pat S.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2015
I'm so glad you all had a great time! Looking forward to seeing you again; and thanks for the paqsses to the Fair. Michael & I went Sunday afternoon and really got inspired.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed 22 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jul 2012
Nicola-
Thanks so much for the great reveiw; we do appreciate it. Really glad you had a good time. Come back any time!

Susie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
emster31
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cozy and thoughtful place”
Reviewed 3 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Susie and Michael were excellent and thoughtful hosts-- the house itself was nicely decorated and very homey, and they were very helpful to us when we wanted to make christmas dinner. The daily breakfast was delicious and really made the experience a nice one. We would definitely recommend this to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wood stove, christmas tree and breakfast
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2012
It was so nice to meet you and your family! We're glad we could be a part of your Christmas. Hope Mom and Dad took good memories back to Singapore and tell Calvin to give us a call iuf he moves to Rhinebeck!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodieTra...
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I will return!”
Reviewed 11 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from 3 nights at Calders Cottage. A WONDERFUL experience!! Susie and Michael are wonderful hosts and provide everything you could want. The cottage is cozy (and not being used here as a euphemism for tiny!), comfortable, and very well-appointed. Their love of art is apparent in every room and just adds to the experience. The gourmet breakfasts were worthy of 5-stars by themsleves, and even requested one of the recipes. From being met with wine, cheese and fruit, to excellent area recommendations, to hosts who make you feel like you've always known them, to amazing food... I WILL be back for another stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like I was staying at a friends house
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$175
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing