We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Convenient to Thruway and local sightseeing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Sunnyside, New York
2 reviews
“Convenient to Thruway and local sightseeing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

I agree with all the prior reviews in some respects. Our room did have a moldy smell but it was otherwise clean. Location is nice, on a hilltop and, if you eat in the restaurant, it has a pretty view. Indeed, it is not the Ritz but a pleasant enough place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusyQ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STMK2900, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
We would like to thank you for taking time away from your busy schedule and placing your experience about your stay. We would appreciate if you can visit us again in the future.

Nazima Ali
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    22
    27
    34
    64
See reviews for
47
37
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acton Ma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We've stayed here for the past 4 years for the Rhinebeck Sheep & Wool Festival. We wanted a clean room (ours have been spotless) in a safe location (upstairs over the lobby), with a restaurant near by (Skytop Steak House).

Yes, this place is not the Ritz, but it met all of our requirements and then some for the price. They have made several upgrades to the property. We've already booked our room for next year. I think the unhappy reviewers had different expectations.

Room Tip: Book early if you're going for the Rhinebeck festival!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Musicista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STMK2900, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
We appreciate your time, effort and your kind words in giving your value opinion about our hotel which will give a better nature to our business. On behalf of our management and staff we would like to see you again.

Nazima ali
F.O.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Booked online, two nights, two rooms. Pulled in, not a car to be seen! Checked in, opened rooms, wife and daughter wouldn't even enter the rooms! Mold all around the shower, cob webs through out, damp odor, pealing paint on ceiling. Left minutes later, sacrificed a nights fee, but worth it. Phone book in room had the "Hotel-Motels" section ripped out and the other Hotels we spoke with said they get a lot of guests from this place unwilling to stay there. A big stay away from hotel.

Room Tip: Didn't stay the night, not a good room anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STMK2900, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed on this occasion, and I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. I certainly agree that your unsatisfactory experiences do not represent the level of service we strive to provide. I have addressed the issues you raised with our head housekeeper. Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingston hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

The front facade is redone in the picture. The rest of the inn is run down and way off the main road. It's actually a motel the rooms are in another building and you pull up to
the front door. All the room front doors are outside.
we didn't even stay long enough to go in the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frank r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STMK2900, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to bring such matters to our attention. We advertise ourselves as a Motel not a hotel. We are right off the highway away from traffic and our property is quiet and secured. I understand you didn’t like the exterior entrance but that is something we pride on. It provides separate entrance to every guest and we strive to make each and every guest’s stay a satisfying one. At this hotel, we strive to provide the best customer service possible to our guests at all times. Therefore, it is disappointing to learn that you are unhappy. Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We needed two rooms that were reasonable and clean. We struck out with this dirty old place. Our "nonsmoking" rooms smelled like mold and mildew. There was black mold along the top of one wall. The walls were worn with holes and scrapes. One set of curtains had holes. The carpet was worn, dark, and smelly. The bath tub was so bad that we did not shower. Mosquitoes were bouncing off the walls. The sheets were worn and stale. The tv was old with a poor quality of picture. There were bulbs missing from wobbly fixtures. The door entry to the hallway had blue masking tape over the "security lock". The room we moved to (away from mold) had a non functioning fire alarm. The second room had pot smoking neighbors. Their Steakhouse light from the road reads "HO SE". The desk clerk was indifferent to all of this. You can't make this stuff up!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LERuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STMK2900, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
In response to your feedback, I certainly agree that the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel does not represent the level of service we strive to provide. I have addressed the issues you raised with our head housekeeper. He joins me in offering a sincere apology to you and is committed to ensuring that these problems will not occur again. Skytop Steak House is not part of Rodeway Inn. They are a separate business entity but I will relay your message regarding the signage issue. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, as it provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve on the services we offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Pros:
- Staff was "friendly" but not welcoming as you would expect
- Decent scenery
Cons:
- Rooms look incredibly beat up, paint was cracking, furniture needed to be replaced or at least cleaned, just very unsanitary -- especially the bathtub.
- Wi-fi connection was poor, even though we were in the back of the lot
- It smells REALLY bad in the rooms
- Made me very itchy, so itchy I had to sleep in the car
- Rooms didn't fully lock, you could still open them a tad bit
- THERE WERE SPIDERS IN OUR ROOM, I HATE SPIDERS

Room Tip: Don't even waste your time/money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elinachen_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STMK2900, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. I have addressed the issues you raised with our maintenance. I would also like to add that because of Hurricane Irene, the previous week; we were having trouble with our phone lines and internet. We worked diligently with our service provider to fix the problem. Please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience; the above issues may have caused you. We genuinely appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

While it's not the Ritz, it's decent. This property has been redone in the not too distant past (old Skytop Motel), but could use a little more tweaking on the interiors. Rugs are worn and damp in spots, but to be honest, with all the rain they get up that way, not too awful. The only complaint I have is the TV. Reception was extremely poor and the volume kept going off and on. The charge for staying there is quite a bargain, compaired to lots of other very mediocre places that are getting much more. We stayed there for six days, and it was adequate. The food at the restaurant is excellent, and you get a 10% discount. Overall, we were pleased with the accommodations and lucky to find it at the last minute.

Room Tip: Ask about TV reception in each room and see if any are better,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightingale7210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STMK2900, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. A hotel is defined by the quality of service it provides to its guests. It tells us what we are doing right, what we are doing wrong and we can improve. The issue you have raised about T.V. reception has been taken care of. We have notified our service provider and they are working diligently to fix it. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to provide accommodations for you in the near future and show you how your remarks were used constructively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
4.7 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
5.0 km away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
11.6 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
16.2 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 239 Forest Hill Dr, Route 28 West, Kingston, NY 12401-7479
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now a Rodeway Inn "You'll come for the View, Stay for the Service" Our 60 large and well-equipped inexpensive hotel rooms all have free wireless Internet access. Excellent restaurant and microbrewery, in summer an outdoor pool, in winter easy access to all Catskill Mountain ski resorts. Free continental breakfast is served in the lobby and the gazebo outside overlooking the old city of Kingston NY. Rooms include microwave/refrigerator, new tvs, and updated furniture and bathrooms. Skytop's location makes it ideal for business travel and family vacations in the Hudson Valley region of New York State at the foothills of the Catskill Mountains. Skytop is located just outside the historic city of Kingston, first capital of New York State. City buses take you into the city for sightseeing and shopping. Trailways buses out of 42nd Street in NYC stop one mile away at the Kingston bus station. A short drive takes you to Woodstock and Phoenicia, Saugerties and "Horseshows in the Sun" (HITS), Belleayre and Hunter and Windham ski resorts, Rhinebeck, Bard College, Omega Institute, Indian Point Energy Center, New Paltz, Stone Ridge, High Falls and Monticello, and via the Thruway to airports at Albany and Newburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Expedia and Choice Hotels so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Kingston
Rodeway Inn Kingston
Kingston Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing