We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away from this motel!”
Review of Super 8 Kingston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Kingston
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Unfortunately we waited too long to make reservations for a local event and all the other places were booked, so we stayed at the Super 8 in Kingston. We had a "non-smoking" room - it was specifically pointed out to us that it was a non-smoking motel. It smelled so bad in there, I felt like i was sleeping in a room full of smokers. I had to disinfect everything that came home with me the next day - it was that bad! Thank God for Febreeze is all I can say otherwise I could not have slept at all.
The bathroom needed renovations years ago and the room was not much better. The cleaning staff did a good job with what they had to work with, at least there was that. I was late for breakfast and when I asked the desk "manager" who was busy having breakfast with another member of the staff, if he had anything left at all, he threw a couple of danishes at me, and quite annoyed.
I would do you a disservice not to dissuade you. The base rate of $110/night (it's worth 1/2 that maybe) is the same as MUCH better other places in the area.
Overall terrible experience!!!

Room Tip: A good room means going somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KINGSTONSUP8, General Manager at Super 8 Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear guest,
We would like to send our sincerest apologies regarding your most recent stay with us and have reached out to you via email regarding your concerns. We've also looked into this room and will be putting it down until further renovations can be made.
Thank you,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time returning to Kingston. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Hotel is in a good location easy access to diner and drug store. Good value so no complaints.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank paula m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KINGSTONSUP8, General Manager at Super 8 Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review of the Kingston Super 8. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that the staff and room were to your satisfaction.
Looking forward to providing you with a great stay on your next trip!
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Hotel is great and very easy to get to. Clean rooms at good price. Next time we go back hope they get a smoking room.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KINGSTONSUP8, General Manager at Super 8 Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Kingston Super 8. We are pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We look forward to hosting you in the future.
Best,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

I had a good stay, except for the fact that the room smelled like an ashtray. I complained about it by going to the front desk. I was told that the whole establishment was smoke free...BUT, obviously it isn't. I noticed a few rooms had a Non-Smoking emblem by the door number. If it's a non-smoking motel, should that emblem be on each door in the place? If it were, it would be more of a deterrent to make smokers go out doors instead of lighting up inside. So, because there were no more rooms available, I had to stay in that room. By morning, the clothes I had hanging smelled like stale cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank frankrW5883RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KINGSTONSUP8, General Manager at Super 8 Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay. We regret to hear that this room was not satisfactory and will be looking into taking it out until it has been renovated. I am pleased to hear that the staff was courteous and the location suited you. We hope to accommodate you in a better room on your next trip.
Thank you,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

The staff was very nice and helpful. Rooms nice, breakfast not a lot of food, but enough. Only complaint
was that the walls were very thin and heard the people next door as if they were in our room. Other than
that enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank susanpK1325HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KINGSTONSUP8, General Manager at Super 8 Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the Kingston Super 8. We are happy to hear the facility met your needs but do apologize regarding the thin walls. We hope to see you soon!
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

The only reason I gave it as much as two was the people who work there. They were extremely helpful to me with my special needs. Other than that, it's a one (1). This hotel is old and tired. It was also dirty, esp. around the edges of the room. There was no place to plug in my computer as the few outlets in the room were occupied and (worst of all) inaccessible, or I would have unplugged something to plug in the computer. I had a handicap accessible room, and the sink was too close to the toilet, making a dangerous situation. I took one look at the shower and decided I'd take a "spit bath" that night. Needs cleaning and a complete update. I did not partake of the breakfast...the area was small and dirty.

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KINGSTONSUP8, General Manager at Super 8 Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that our facility was not satisfactory to you but thank you for making the comment regarding the staff. All our handicap accessible rooms are built to regulation requirements but we will look into the safety concern you bring up.
We regret to hear we could not accommodate you better.
Best,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Room was not clean. Dust and dirt on the floor around the bed. Previous occupant's sock was on the floor. One bedside lamp had the socket bent over and hanging by the wires. Neither bedside lamp was plugged in. One could not be plugged in because there was no outlet in reach of the cord. There is no overhead light in the bedroom area so lighting was inadequate. Corridor and room door hinges noisy and need lubrication. Motel need a good cleaning and upgrade.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KINGSTONSUP8, General Manager at Super 8 Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We regret to hear that your stay was unsatisfactory and are looking into the above issues stated. In the future, please speak with our front desk/management prior to checkout so that we are able to move you and better suit your accommodations.
Thank you,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
4.7 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
935 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
5.1 km away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#2 of 10 in Kingston
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
343 reviews
17.3 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
6.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Kingston

Address: 487 Washington Ave, Kingston, NY 12401-2906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: $85 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Kingston 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 600am - 900am and consists of regular & decaf coffee and tea, apple and orange juice, two kinds of cereal with 2% milk and an assortment of danish, muffins, and donuts as well as white and wheat bread for toasting. All rooms have free cable TV, a chest of drawers, a clothing rack, either a king bed or two full-size beds, a desk and chair, night stands and lamps, a vanity sink and private bath/shower. We do offer free Wi-Fi on an unsecure network in public areas and our guest rooms. We have a guest laundry (washer and dryer) and a vending area with soft drinks and snacks. We are fortunate to have a variety of dining options within close proximity to our property. We have 24 hour diners, chain restaurants, ethnic and specialty restaurants (Italian, French, Southwestern, Indian, steak, seafood, etc.) as well as places that deliver. We are located 35 miles from Bellearye Mountain and are close to a wide variety of hiking trails, wineries and historic venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Kingston Hotel Kingston
Kingston Super Eight
Kingston Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing