We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunham's Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Our large group of 80-90 chose Dunham's Bay for our weekend retreat at the tail end of this past winter. Not one of us had stayed at Dunham's before. We were made to feel completely at home - like we were all that mattered. The Hosts and staff were friendly and their customer focus was exceptional. Over the course of the weekend we had multiple activities going on; a pool party with authentic live music, a gathering at the firepit with fresh Dunham's pizza delivery, a topnotch dinner buffet and a DJ'd dance (music was great). Needless to say, we kept the Resort staff busy! Every scheduled event came off smoothly. There was little effort on our part. So, we were able to relax and enjoy. And that's what we were there for.

The room accommodations worked well for folks. I stayed in one of the main building rooms which was well arranged, clean and had more than enough room for 2 people. Spring or summer, I'd likely go for a cabin just to have the kitchen/living room and have immediate access to the outdoor fun areas.

Dunham's, being on the lake offers quiet and peaceful "at home" time. And, is within very reasonable driving distance of downtown Lake George, the discount outlet strip and park activities.. We're looking forward to booking again in 2013 and most of us didn't even leave the Resort!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

Dunham Bay resort on the southern tip of Lake George is a real find. The 2 bedroom cabins with kitchenettes and living areas are great for families; the view of the lake is lovely; clean, attractive, heated indoor pool and hot tub; very good restaurant on site. Staff is accomodating and friendly. Only 5 miles to downtown Lake George...enough off the beaten trail for a bit more peace and quiet, yet near to all kinds of activities for families.

Room Tip: Of the two types of rooms we've stayed in, we preferred the front cabins on the east side with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buffaloroams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My brother had his wedding here and it was perfect. We booked all of the cabins, which were huge, so it was so convenient to all of the amenities. I personally stayed in one of the hotel rooms and if I went back I would definitely opt for the cabin. Great place overall

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchmillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My family and I were guests at a wedding held at Dunham's Bay. The setting was absolutely beautiful and the entire staff was top notch--always happy to help and very friendly. To help my elderly relatives with mobility issues, staff used a golf cart to drive them to their destinations. We stayed in the 6-room cabin studio and used its adequate kitchen amenities. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean, though needed minor maintenance. Activities for the whole family were enjoyed--especially the horseshoes, pool, and fire pit. The food was outstanding and there was a large selection from which to choose.

Room Tip: Very happy with the 6-room cabin studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My husband and I recently got married at Dunhams Bay. We had both a South Indian and American wedding ceremony. Lynn and all the staff were both supportive and proactive in helping our family plan and prepare for a double wedding in a relatively short period to of time. The Dunhams Bay team bent over backward create and organize the wedding we hoped for.

Dunhams Bay provided a relaxed yet elegant ambiance which is exactly what we were looking for !

Unfortunately cell phones do not work at Dunhams bay which makes communication especially prior to a wedding fairly difficult. We chose to only use local vendors and while most of them were fantastic, others were not so prepared or professional. In addition, dunhams bay is very difficult for handicap or older people to navigate.

All in all we had a beautiful wedding day and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves !

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chellamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Lynn and all the staff really know how to make even complicated, double-ceremony international weddings come off without major problems (lesson learned - cell phones may not work there, and emcees and photographers need to communicate more! other local wedding services are top-notch). The location is stunning, the food and ambiance and the pool were all great. Some access problems for mobility-impaired folks. More notice about the 'end' of the seasonal, restricted access to the lake front would be appreciated, as would more places to hang wet bathing suits (at least in the ADK cabins). Great base from which to explore a really lovely area.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want. We really appreciated having a 'cabin' with a small kitchen/LR. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieMcL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed in one of the Queen hotel rooms. I probably would have had a better stay at the Howard Johnson. While the staff was friendly and helpful, the grounds were somewhat run down and the walls were PAPER thin. We were awakened at 7am by hearing the people next door doing what some couples do - and they were not being loud. The walls are just that thin, and there was a large gap in the doorway that connects the two rooms big enough that I could stick my fingers through. There was a wedding going on, and we had to turn on the AC unit and the TV to drown out the commotion.

The rooms could use an update, but it is clear that they are making every update possible without completely re-habing the whole place. Big flat screen TVs in the rooms (with HDMI hookups, for those bringing a Playstation), nice microfiber couches, updated bedding. Personally, I would have just liked a lamp or something so that I could put my makeup on. Look guys - if you are going to charge a minimum of $120 per night in the off season at least offer a continental breakfast. This is upstate NY, not the Hamptons.

If you are going here for the beach - BEWARE. It is minuscule. The beach is across the street and is part of a boat launch. Additionally, it is not owed by the hotel. This is not what I would consider an amenity. We took a walk down and before we made it across the street a very crass and unfriendly man came out and demanded to see our wrist bands (which we had). Still, we felt uncomfortable and left.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KandPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
5.6 km away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
6.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#5 of 89 in Lake George
223 reviews
5.3 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
6.5 km away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#13 of 89 in Lake George
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunham's Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunham's Bay Resort

Address: 2999 State Route 9l, Lake George, NY 12845-5009
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Lake George
Price Range: $96 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunham's Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family resort on the southeast side of Lake George. Formerly known as Dunham's Bay Lodge. Renovated in 2007 with new carpeting, flat screen TVs, new mattresses and the new View Restaurant. We are open year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dunham's Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunham`s Bay Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing