We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean Room, Good Value, Private Beach, Walking Distance to Village” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundowner Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sundowner Motel
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clean Room, Good Value, Private Beach, Walking Distance to Village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We really didn't need anything more than a bed to sleep in at night and this was one of the cheapest motels within walking distance of the village (5-10 minutes). This motel was just what we needed at a very reasonable price for the area. The motel is located a little bit north of the village center on the lake side of the road and they have their own little private beach with lounge chairs and tables. They also have an outdoor heated pool, a whirlpool and a kid pool. They provide free WiFi internet access, HBO and kayaks. The parking is free, but the spaces are very tight (although most lakeside motels are like this). The motel still uses actual keys for the rooms instead of swipe cards, but that’s just indicative to the feel of the entire Lake George area.

We stayed in a standard 1 Queen Bed room which was small, but very clean. The room had A/C, a refrigerator and a chair. The girl at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. We didn't need help with anything, but the owners were always around and seemed like they would go out of their way to assist you with anything you needed. Like most family-run motels in the area, you can't book a room online and must call to make a reservation. The only thing I really didn’t like was that the towels were only about half the size of normal towels, which made it a pain to dry off with. Overall we enjoyed our weekend stay here and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rydogger19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    47
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
60
50
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Adams, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Every year we visit the Sundowner Motel. The Rougeaus treat everyone like family. The rooms are ever so clean with a great staff. The pool and hot tub are crystal clear. They always recommend great places to eat as well. We have been visiting for three years and are already planning for next year. Keep up the GREAT work. Sheri and Jim from North Adams MA

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Just on the Northern edge of town this motel was within walking distance to shops, amusements & many restaraunts but was also well away from the noise of the crowds. Our room had everything we needed and was very comfortable. We enjoyed our little front porch and the peacefullness of the beach area. The motel is small enough that it doesn't have that crowded feeling, always having chairs available lake front or at the pool. The owners are friendly & attentive-we will definetly be staying here on our next trip.

Room Tip: Our room was in the middle of the compound-away from the road noise and the kids at the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank avalonlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

If you’re looking for a place to stay in Lake George I would highly recommend staying at the Sundowner Motel.
The owners are very friendly and helpful. The rooms and the property are clean and extremely well maintained
There is a nice pool, hot tub and sun deck, as well as a sandy beach with kayaks to use.
The location is right in town so you can walk to all the shops, restaurants and bars.
I have been staying here for several years and have never been disappointed. Overall an outstanding value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We have been coming to the Lake George area with friends and family for almost 25 years, and we are so glad we found this great place!Clean, quiet property. close to the village and shopping: It really is a perfect spot, and we are already looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vfitz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Nice, clean affordable rooms. Nice pool and beach area. Easy to walk into village. Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michi1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We were at the Sundowner for 2 nights and we had a great time. Location was excellent, rooms were clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: the room does not include a coffee maker or an ironing board.... a minor set back ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VavaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundowner420, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Sundowner Motel! Just so you know (for future visits to our motel), we do have irons and ironing boards available in the office that are free to borrow whenever you need them. Although we do not have coffee pots in the rooms, we do have free morning coffee in the office from 8am-11am. Thanks for staying with us!

The Sundowner Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.1 km away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#45 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.2 km away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#28 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 km away
Lake Motel
Lake Motel
#5 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#13 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 km away
Heritage of Lake George Motel
Heritage of Lake George Motel
#7 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
5.6 km away
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundowner Motel

Property: Sundowner Motel
Address: 420 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundowner Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sundowner Motel is conveniently located in Lake George Village directly on the shores of beautiful Lake George. We are a short walk from shops, restaurants, and activities in the village. Enjoy our clean, comfortable motel rooms, wonderful views of the lake, surrounding mountains and the other amenities that we offer:-Outdoor Heated Pool-Outdoor Kiddie Pool-Outdoor Deck overlooking Lake George-Outdoor Whirlpool-Free use of kayaks and rowboat-Free Wi-Fi-Private, shallow sandy beach-Picnic Tables and charcoal grills near beach-Laundromat-Free AM Coffee-All of our units are now non-smoking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Sundowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundowner Hotel Lake George
Sundowner Motel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing