We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back in a heartbeat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would go back in a heartbeat”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Great hotel, nice location in a great area could walk to all kinds of great restaurants and shopping.
Had a mini suite with a fireplace that made for a great romantic getaway. really courteous and attentive staff at the desk as well

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2GRKSFRMMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    290
    161
    95
    107
See reviews for
375
341
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here for a conference. The hotel is very nice- comfortable lobby area, room was large and roomy. Bed was comfortable- even the pull-out couch was cozy.Bathroom was also spacious. Little kitchenette was helpful. Indoor pool and spa was clean and relaxing. There is a deck in the back overlooking the lake- stunning views. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. It was off-season, so many things were closed but we still had a great time in the area. I didn't see another hotel that was even close to the Fort William Henry. If we are ever in the area again, we will absolutely stay here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the lake in the main building- wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Trvlmaven:

Thank you for your kind review and for recognizing our commitment to excellence.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willsboro, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My husband wanted to give me an overnight to get some much needed rest. Since it was off season we had our choice of places to stay. After driving around Lake George we noticed the sign outside of Fort William Henry Hotel that said there was a Happy Hour at the Tavern, therefore, we decided to stay there! We checked in, discussed the Happy Hour in front of the gentleman checking us in (there was also sign in the Lobby to advertise it) and went to our room for a nap. When we arrived in the lounge for the Happy Hour -it was closed for a private party!! And to make it worse-another sign outside of the restaurant stated dinner was served at 5PM. We went out for coctails and returned to find the restaurant was not open either! Left a note for the Manager and did not hear a thing! Very disappointed!

Room Tip: Be sure your heater works!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Donna B,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. We appreciate your honest critique. I will take full responsibility for the miscommunications.
You are correct, our bar and restaurant was closed for a private party and our normal internal marketing signs were not taken down. Although unusual, we find it necessary to close our food service venue, during the off season, to accommodate large banquets. When this happens we always make provisions at another local restaurant of similar quality.
Please contact me at your earliest convenience. We will make this up to you. It is our error and we will correct it.
Again, thank you for this useful feedback! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake George hotels

Glens Falls
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My husband and I had our wedding here in October, and it was magic. The banquet staff was amazing and Roberta, the wedding coordinator saw every details was perfection. We had a wonderful time, the food was superb and my guests were beyond pampered. We did not have to lift a finger the entire weekend. We even had our rehearsal dinner there and it was fantastic. If you are looking for the ultimate Adirondack wedding experience, book your wedding at the Fort. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get one with a view!! It's to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKeays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear Ekeays,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We are proud to be the number one rated wedding destination in Warren County. Roberta is truly one of the best wedding coordinators in the Adirondacks. We appreciate you recognizing her efforts.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catskill, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is a great hotel. Wonderful view of the lake. Clean and spacious room. Loved the sauna, Jacuzzi and indoor pool. Was able to get room for a reduced price :)

Room Tip: top floor and room facing the lake a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Debbie R,

Thank you for being our guest and reviewing our hotel.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

It is 6:30am and I am now sitting in a small lounge outside the in hotel restaurant because I can't get a decent internet signal in my room or in the main lobby!!! If you are looking for a good quality stay and want service don't come here. I am not in the habit of writing negative reviews of hotels so this is a new experience for me. Our experience at this hotel was not positive. First the online information says that there is access to a health club, and we get there and "they are working on this" and they will give you a couple to go to one 3 miles up the road. Next we don't get facecloths in our room. Another more serious problem is that we stayed in an add on to the main hotel and the noise coming from the outside of the rooms and THE NEXT ROOM was way to loud for this level of hotel. I could hear people "doing their business" in the washroom next door. Although I complained to the person at the front desk I was told that "it would be reported" and it is obvious that this concern will not be dealt with seriously.

Room Tip: perhaps the main area that is more expensive might be better but this is not as good as a cheap mote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revbkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Revbkelly,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. We appreciate your honest critique.

We are currently checking our Wi-Fi systems. They have been extremely reliable. Their coverage paths include all of our public area. We are not sure why this failed during your stay. Our local provider may have been experiencing problems.

We are also sorry that our premium rooms did not meet your expectations. I am glad you had the opportunity to advise our front office so they could arrange for a room change. Our goal is to have every guest leave as an advocate for our hotel. From your comments, it appears we fell short. Please call us at your earliest opportunity so we may make this up to you.

Again, thank you for this useful feedback! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, ny
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is the 3rd time we've stayed in the fort. Usually we stay in the fall, so we stay in the motel (outside rooms). Since this was wintertime, we stayed in the main building.
Unfortunately, our original room had issues. Our key cards would not let us into the room. For some reason, the maid was able to get in, but we were not. Long story short, we went through 3 sets of card keys before having our room switched. The reason for all the stress was that apparently they key cards work off of batteries, and the batteries were dead.

We got to the new room (finally), only to step off the elevator and smell cigarette smoke throughout the floor. The staff immediately sent someone up to discover the source of the smoke, and to clear the air.
The room that we settled into (mountain view) was a nice size, king bed, shower and a tub. The staff there were truly helpful, especially Carmen at the front desk, and Sam, the hotel manager.
I'm just going to chalk this stay up to not being my lucky day. I'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karchandgabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear karchandgabby,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. We appreciate your honest critique.
We are sorry our about your lock issues. It is a very good system that we have had little problem with. It is complicated to insure your safety. With this type of technology, it sometimes takes a few moments to determine what the exact problem is.
I also, want to apologize for the other guests who decided to smoke although clearly stated they were in a non smoking facility. We have units that eradicate smoke odors. We deployed them when we learned of the problem.
Our goal is to have every guest leave as an advocate for our hotel. From your comments, it appears we fell short. Please call us at your earliest opportunity so we may make this up to you.
Again, thank you for this useful feedback! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
2.0 km away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#22 of 89 in Lake George
559 reviews
1.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
1.0 km away
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
0.7 km away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 89 in Lake George
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 48 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1604
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing