We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a tick away from Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Booked 4 nites in mid Sept 2017. The first impression at check-in was very poor and a forecast of other things to come.

No greeting, no orientation. With the front desk agent barking out "ID and your credit card!" upon arrival. And also insisting on full payment at check in. When I pointed out there's no mention of this in the booking confirmation, 'Frau Blucher' shot back "This is how it is all over the world!" (I somehow doubt she has surveyed the entire world). What are they worried about? They already have the credit card information. She reluctantly agreed to let us see the room before finalizing, but of course we had to wait until it was convenient for her to arrange it.

By contrast, hotel employee Sue who showed us around was cheery and welcoming. Everything Frau Blucher was not.

Other areas of note:
1) Hotel restaurant open only for breakfast. Turned out not to matter because one look at the menu revealed all items to be wildly overpriced. Easy walking to other breakfast places.
2) Pool temperature was Arctic cold. I kept looking around for the icebergs.
3) Outside bar area was closed Monday thru Wednesday.
4) The hotel beach area is tiny. Wear your sandals to avoid the duck poop. The boat rental area is not staffed. Have to walk 5 minutes back to the front desk to reserve. Also, they close for the day before 3:30pm. Frau Blucher at the front desk gave it 2 rings on the phone and then ruled "Must have closed for the day." We could see kayaks on the lake until almost 7 pm. So don't plan on this option being available thru the hotel.
5) Housekeeping is poor. We had to phone down to have the linen changed after 3 nights.

Finally, for some unknown reason, the hotel gets a lot of tour bus traffic. So if you like to wake up to 4 or 5 tour buses in the parking lot...this place is for you.

If not, you can do a lot better within easy walking distance to the central area. One recommendation for dinner is Mario's across from this hotel. Terrific Italian and seafood. High $ but worth it.

Also, if you go to Ft. Ticonderoga, the 1 hour trip up Lake Shore Drive on the west side of the lake is very scenic.

Room Tip: Shop around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BoogerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations. I am sorry if our desk clerk did not give you the quality of service you expected, but unfortunately it is our policy that we take full payment upon check in. On behalf of our entire staff we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience and we do hope you enjoyed our little town of Lake George and we are pleased that you enjoyed your scenic ride to Ft. Ticonderoga.
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

The front desk staff was very nice. We loved our room. We got a 'demi-suite' facing the lake (at a terrific price for mid-September), with the beach right below. It can get noisy at times. The staircases down from the pool deck to the beach, are right next to the rooms. But when you're waking up to the sun rising over the lake every morning, who cares right?

Our room was very clean and very comfortable. Besides the bed, the couches in the room were great. So rarely do you get comfortable couches in a hotel room. They're usually there for decoration. Not these. I was falling asleep on them every night. Shower was great. Bathroom also has a jacuzzi tub that I wish I got to use, but didn't have time.

All in all, great trip and great place. I would highly recommend The Georgian Lakeside Resort to anyone.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris7D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your experience during your stay with us. It was our pleasure having you as a guest and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

stayed Sept 4-6,2017 part of 5 busloads from long island. originally room 220 but door would not open,and like my friend's room 221 looked like a dungeon- only window was only about 2 ft tall up by the ceiling, since if you stood on toes and looked out, view was the roof of the catering hall with garbage on it. Management did change our rooms but each were in a different building and not near the other 31 people in our group. I was transferred to 309 which was ok. Bathroom seemed updated by musty smelling and floor in main room squeeked really loud at end of bed. 2 fellow travelers did not have hot water. Dinner Monday nite was very slow being served. Room too hot, one woman fainted and fell. Bees and termites flying around the pool deck made it impossible to sit outside on Tuesday afternoon

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review and I am sorry to hear about the issues you experienced and so happy we were able to move you to one of our newly renovated rooms. I do apologize for the mosquitos and bees flying around and for our service being slow for dinner. We rely on our guest comments to know where we need to improve. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

One of the nicest properties on the Lake. Had never stayed here before. Called to make reservation and they gave me the best price that was being offered that day. when I checked in I got a $20 voucher because I booked directly with them.

Room was very nice and comfortable. We had a nice stay of two nights. Ate dinner in the restaurant and got excellent service. When we got home we realized we had left something in the room. we called and the item was mailed to us. Good stay!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LeoinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and for letting others know about your stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay along with your dinner. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend & I along with 5 other couples visited August 17-20. We had a great time. Our rooms were all right next to one another like we asked. The pool area/bar was a very nice to hang out. The resort being right on the Lake was beautiful. Everything down town was within walking distance.
The only issue we had which was not a big deal was ordering food while at the pool. The food comes from the restaurant, so it takes about an hour but we were on vacation and didn't mind. Oh and if you buy a fancy drink while in the restaurant, it will also take awhile (at least 30-45 minutes) because the only place those get made are down by the pool. I don't get it, but that's how it works.
Great stay! Great time! We had a blast!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank shannalee29_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest,
It is so nice to hear that everyone in your group had such a great time staying at our resort. I am so happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your rooms being next to each other, sometimes we have a very hard time trying to meet all request. We hope to see all of you again next year and thank you for your patience at our cabana bar and restaurant.
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Stayed here at the end of August of with my family of four, two adults and two adult children. The room facing the parking lot was priced right but was a bit small for the four of us to move around in. The location is just North of Lake George Village, about a ten minute walk to the many restaurants, pubs and shops. We used it as a base to explore Adirondack Park and go hiking and whitewater rafting. The front desk people were pleasant and the cleaning service was very good.

Room Tip: Pay less for the same location facing parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2fortheRoad_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for letting others know about your experience during your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

I can't really give more than 3 and to be fair we were only there 2 nights and weren't on the property long. Room was clean, stayed in 116 which we were told were the "newly renovated" rooms. Not sure what was new other than the floor in the bathroom and the vanity. Everything else seemed to be older and in need of a complete refresh. Room smell was a little musty, pillows felt old and worn out. Wifi was horrible and never worked the whole time we were there, when we needed it. There wasn't many rentals for water sports. We went down about 3 and there were no kayaks. Didn't see much of anything other than the pedal boats. Staff was friendly the little interaction I had. One suggestion is offer more than an 8oz coffee cup for people to go in the morning. I was very willing to pay for a large coffee but there were no options. It was free though so that was nice. Not sure if I would stay here again. Think I like some of the other resorts we've stayed at better.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Travelmama0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and sharing your experience.
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.9 km away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 km away
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
1.1 km away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#6 of 89 in Lake George
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.3 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
1.1 km away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#23 of 89 in Lake George
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Lakeside Resort

Address: 384 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: $114 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Georgian Lakeside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georgian Lakeside Resort is located within walking distance of Lake George Village. The Georgian has 158 rooms & suites, a private beach, outdoor heated pool, The Cabana Bar, and Giovanna's On The Lake Restaurant, Dinner Theater, in-room coffee, fitness center, game room, free WiFi. Contrary to the listing of amenities on TA - we do not offer free breakfast. Wedding, Conference & Meeting facilities, AAA 3-Diamond Rated. Near all local attractions including whitewater rafting, The Great Escape, Lake Cruises and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Georgian Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian Lakeside Hotel Lake George
Georgian Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing