We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Addis Amba Hotel(Bahir Dar)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$37
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alwaq Hotel(Bahir Dar)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$26
US$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Afleta Hotel(Bahir Dar)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$9
US$4
Booking.com
View Deal
B&B The Annex(Bahir Dar)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asinuara Hotel(Bahir Dar)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$20
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$22
Jumia Travel
View Deal
US$8
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Abay Minch Lodge(Bahir Dar)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$84
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
139
135
45
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
135
45
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree massageswedish massagekuriftu resortlake tanafour posterfoot massageswimming poolbeautiful resortpresidential suitehot waternice poolhuge balconiesbring earplugspin pluggreat view of the lakemini barblue nile falls
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 348 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2018

This place is truly a gem in Ethiopia. The service is great (sometimes a bit too much, though). The rooms are clean, comfortable and beautifully appointed. I loved the bed, it is so comfortable! There is also a nice outside area that includes a bed and a fireplace.

I had the massage that is included with the room, and I enjoyed it.

WiFi can be spotty, but this is Ethiopia and I don't mind. The views of Lake Tana from the outdoor area are so beautiful. We also took a boat ride for sunset and saw gorgeous birds and hippos.

When I say the service can be a bit too much is because even during the buffet breakfast, I wasn't able to take my time exploring the food when someone was already taking my plate to the table. But too much is better than too little, so, thanks! I would stay there again without a doubt.

Room Tip: For better WiFi stay in a room near the reception area.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike T, Director of Sales at Kuriftu Resort & Spa Bahir Dar, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Dear Patricia

W are super happy you enjoyed your stay at kuriftu the comments will make us strive to deliver more and we thank you for that.


Have a great day .


Regards!
Mike T .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2018

Didn't stay, but dined in the poolside restaurant and used the spa facilities. The restaurant and service is great! A nice break and respite from the 'pizza, pasta, burger, injera' menus - along with a great team that work there. With the spa, however, be warned. They have a lovely little scam going on where they quote for a 45 minute massage, then state they are doing a 30 minute service, but only deliver a 20 minute massage! Out of habit, I set the timer on my iphone, and when the massage therapist said the massage was finished, I looked at my phone and only 20 minutes had passed. I showed her the phone, and she was very embarrassed. They did provide the additional service and time that was paid for, but just a heads up that you may be shortchanged on time.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank The.Wanderer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike T, Director of Sales at Kuriftu Resort & Spa Bahir Dar, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

Hello

we would like to further investigate the issue , kindly can you tell us the name of the therapist , or your booking date , time and the name your made the reservation . we would like to here from you to please call on 0912669044.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2018

The room is terribly dark. Hot water, spotty. Noisy from the near by church and from another hotel where partying went on all night. Free massage was awful. Food was also pretty terrible. I have no idea about other hotels in Bahir Dar but this one was pretty poor.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banditsmom707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike T, Director of Sales at Kuriftu Resort & Spa Bahir Dar, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Hello,

We truly thank you for the comments ,we are disappointed your stay was bad, we will make sure the management is informed about your comments.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2018

From the minute we landed in Bahir Dar and were picked up from the airport, the hotel made us feel very welcomed and respected. Perfect place to stay in Bahir Dar to be able to feel comfortable in the area. We took a trip with a boat to see the lake Tana and that was great too! Thanks for the experience :)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rahel94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike T, Director of Sales at Kuriftu Resort & Spa Bahir Dar, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Dear Rahel

We were happy to see you at kurifu,and we gladyour stay was good, we truly hopetosee you in the future.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2018 via mobile

This is a nicely designed and built hotel, in a fantastic location
The staff are friendly and try hard to please. It has loads of potential that is NOT realised.
The whole place is rundown and a bit dirty and has serious maintenance issues. In our room the TV, was intermittent, hot water kept running out, the phone was broken literally had wires hanging out the back. Pool was dirty, ATM in the Lobby broken.
The Restaurant food was very very average, although Breakfast was OK. In short the Kuriftu is very poor value for money.
Oh and a tip, bring earplugs the call to prayer from the nearby Mosque started at 4am and went for over 4 hours


Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike T, Director of Sales at Kuriftu Resort & Spa Bahir Dar, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Dear Brett

We truly thank you for the candid comments , we will make sure the issues are addressed to the management.

Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews