We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
62
24
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
24
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiver trees his son giants playground the owner early history sense of humour hot water fish river giel fossils dolerite tour dolomites rocks knowledge hendrik farm
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 95 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2017 via mobile

We had intended to visit Quiver Tree Forest and Giants Playground en route back to SA whilst having an overnight stop in the area. After reading the good advice of fellow Tripadvisor reviewers, we decided to stay at Mesosaurus Fossil camp instead. It proved to be excellent advice. We did stop in at Quiver Tree lodge and saw the quiver trees and Giants Playground (a few kms down the road) but to be honest we found the trees far more impressive at Mesosaurus with similar rock formations. Our host Ghiel was very warm and friendly and led us on a highly informative and interesting tour of the fossils located on the farm. It was truly a privilege to meet such a wonderful salt of the earth character as Oom Ghiel and to see the wonders of nature that this area has to offer.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 115wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nolene S, Owner at Mesosaurus Fossil Camp, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2017

Thank you very much. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Mesosaurus camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2017

We stayed 1 night at the bush camp which is a short 3km drive away from the main building in a really peaceful secluded spot among hundreds of quiver trees. We were the only ones staying out there and had the place to ourselves which was fabulous. You can spend hours there wandering around the trees and rocks. The owner was such a nice host and took us on an entertaining tour of the fossils - don't miss this!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarfe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2017 via mobile

We took a chance and drove 40 km off the paved highway in hopes of seeing the mesosaur fossils. When we arrived, the owner, Giel, immediately took us to the fossil bed where his 10 year old son discovered the first fossil 25 years ago.

Giel is incredibly knowledgeable about the fossils, the geological history of the region, the current flora and fauna, and more.

He is also quite a jokester and quite funny. We highly recommend taking the time to get off the beaten path and visit the mesosaur fossils and even stay at the bush camp.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2017

We made an detour on our trip trough Namibia to visit this Mesosaurus fossil site out of curiousity.What a suprise.I can not describe or find the words to write how exelent our brief stay was.Worth every cent.Not to be missed.Best way to learn history of that region.And as a bonus there are hundreds of quiver trees on the farm.I did make about 15 min of video,ones published on you tube i shall copy link here.

Giel most entertaining person in whole Namibia,most interesting storis to hear.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank djadranko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2016 via mobile

We stopped here for 1 night on our way from Klein-Aus Vista to Mata Mata. We were welcomed by Hendrik (the son) and settled in to our chalet. It is pretty basic but fits the setting and was comfy. Not much to do here during the hot spell of the day but at 16h30 we met with Giel and went on his fossil tour. Giel is a wonderful, passionate host and is great with kids. After the fossils we saw the quiver trees in a beautiful rocky setting and admired Giel playing a tune on the rocks. The night sky is amazing and you can buy wood at the office for a fire. Go and visit!

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 99Luftballons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews