We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
59
23
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
23
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiver trees his son giants playground early history the owner sense of humour hot water hidden gem fish river en route giel fossils dolerite tour dolomites rocks hendrik
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 91 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2017

We so enjoyed our 3 nights at Mesosaurus that we returned for 2 more at the end of our trip. We stayed in one of their small thatched chalets, which were basic, but perfectly adequate (and great after camping in tents!) Chalets were built out of local stone and had a shower and toilet, with an adjacent semi-enclosed kitchen with a 2-plate gas hob and kitchen equipment. We were impressed with the ingenious use of quiver tree wood - as bedside tables, and even a larger one drilled to hold wine bottles in the lapa.
Giel's tour of fossils, quiver trees and dolerite rocks the 2nd afternoon was all that we'd expected from other reports. His passionate enthusiasm, knowledge of fossils and early history, together with his sense of humour just added to the fascinating detail of the discovery of the prehistoric Mesosaurus fossil.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank dianacJ3479XB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2017

WOW what an amazing campsite under the rocks and quiver trees....we loved it. We only stayed a night but could definitely have stayed for more. We had a spectacular site under a huge social weavers nest - fascinating. We had the campsite to ourselves which was extra special but the sites are very spacious and the ablutions lovely - wonderful hot water from the donkey boiler. There are walks on the farm and an easy 4x4 trip we would loved to have done if we had stayed longer. Next time we will also definitely do the fossil tour - we met Giel briefly and he has so much information to share. We will definitely be heading back to this fantastic campsite. Loved it!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2017

As all chalets were booked out for the night we were around, we stayed at the campsite. The owner Hendrik was very friendly and helpful. Next to the campsite is a beautiful 45mins 4x4 track through the unique countryside with Quiver Trees and Dolerite boulders. The campsite itself is very basic but everything we needed was available (fireplace, hot showers, privacy). The price for camping is very fair!
The next morning we did the Mesosaurus fossil tour with Hendrik. During this 1.5h drive he showed us the very well preserved and unique fossils and explained may interesting things about them ad the surrounding flora and fauna. Very nice short and sharp tour for a very fair price! Thanks Hendrik!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S. R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2017

We stayed for two nights and loved it!

The bush camp is located 3km in to the grounds and is modest yet impressive. It has a well-designed simple ablution block with shower that you can heat with fire. The nights are filled with stars and so quiet. You can cook on your own fire by your tent and roam around amongst the dolerite boulders, sheep, goats and quiver trees. It was a truly wonderful experience.

The fossil tour itself was the best thing we did in Namibia! Giel was so funny and enthusiastic. What a privilege to meet the original discoverer who is clearly still so passionate.

We cannot recommend staying at the camp, doing the fossil tour and 4x4 trail enough!

Room Tip: It is possible to walk from the bush camp to the main reception - it took us about 45 minutes. The fossil tour started at 8.30am
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Zighy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2017 via mobile

We had intended to visit Quiver Tree Forest and Giants Playground en route back to SA whilst having an overnight stop in the area. After reading the good advice of fellow Tripadvisor reviewers, we decided to stay at Mesosaurus Fossil camp instead. It proved to be excellent advice. We did stop in at Quiver Tree lodge and saw the quiver trees and Giants Playground (a few kms down the road) but to be honest we found the trees far more impressive at Mesosaurus with similar rock formations. Our host Ghiel was very warm and friendly and led us on a highly informative and interesting tour of the fossils located on the farm. It was truly a privilege to meet such a wonderful salt of the earth character as Oom Ghiel and to see the wonders of nature that this area has to offer.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank 115wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nolene S, Owner at Mesosaurus Fossil Camp, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2017

Thank you very much. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Mesosaurus camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews