We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Placid Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$180
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$259/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$249
US$224
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake House(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$279
US$261
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Adirondack Inn(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whiteface Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$593
US$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$512/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$439
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$179
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$289
US$226
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
340
54
29
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
54
29
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaggie's pubrelais and chateauxowls headcovered walkwayhalf bottle of winepastry chefnew ownershipboat tourstone fireplacesoaking tubcross countrywhiteface mountainadirondack styleeach morningcookiesturn down servicespent three nights
Filter
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 450 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2011

The Lodge really doesn't need my endorsement. But, I feel I owe it to the amazing people there to thank them for an amazing stay and a dinner for a group of my friends. The Lodge staff will do anything in their power to help you enjoy your time with them. This is one of those places where "no" is a dirty word. And they're very, very good at finding a way to say yes. The Lodge is indeed premium-priced, but you're paying for the outstanding service. Let them take care of you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xian3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

Dear Xian3, On behalf of the entire team at the Lake Placid Lodge, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are truly gratified to be able to serve you and look forward to doing so in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with anything at all in our power. Warm Regards, John Graham, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Lake Placid Lodge is one of those rare, almost magical destinations in the world. I have lived in Asia and traveled extensively. Like the island of Bali and temples of Angkow Wat in Cambodia, Lake Place Lodge elevates your senses to almost a mystical level. Known as a summer haven for the wealthy, Lake Placid is equally impressive as a winter destination, with its tranquil setting amongst the snow covered wilderness and huge panoramic mountain views. There are endless winter activities at your doorstep (Try the snowshoeing; provided) and the warmth of a cozy fire when you return. We finished the daily activities with an exquisite, multiple course dining experience at the lodge's Artisan's restaurant which was worth the steep price as it was truly on par with the best any major city has to offer. The suggested pairings brought out the crisp, fresh flavors of every course and enhanced the dining experience.

I stayed in the main lodge (“Tamarack” room) which had a large stone fireplace and views of both Lake Placid and Whiteface Mountain, but toured the rustic cabins nestled up against the shore of Lake Placid for a future visit.

The staff throughout were magnificent. I highly recommend experiencing this gem!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THUETTNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

Dear THUETTNER, WOW!!! Thank you so much for sharing your experiences at the Lake Placid Lodge. We take serving our guests personally and appreciate hearing that you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure your feedback is shared with the entire staff. Christian our Sommelier has been with us for years and though I am biased  we think his pairings really bring it all together. I love the last pairing with dessert – that Raspberry beer with chocolate….mmmm. We hope to welcome you back soon. Please call on us anytime if we can be of assistance. Warm Regards, John Graham, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2011

I recently stayed in a guest room in the main lodge on a business trip, which was my first visit to the property. The room was very comfortable, with terrific lake views and wonderful service. During the stay, my group went on a snowshoe outing with the lodge's friendly and helpful guide.

However, the highlight of our trip was dinner at the Artisans restaurant, where I enjoyed the seven-course dinner. Wow! The chef came over to our table after the meal and we learned that he recently came over from the Mandarin Oriental in Boston.

Highlights include a strip of rabbit loin wrapped in serrano ham with a tasty maple glaze (one of the main courses), homemade pear sorbet swimming in Taittinger champagne (a mid-meal palate cleanser), and a delicious chocolate cake with chicory ice cream (dessert). The most unusual course was the first one: a mix of lump snow crab, avocado, trout roe, macadamia nut powder, and "cucumber snow." Difficult to describe but it was absolutely wonderful. I didn't try the wine pairings, but several of my colleagues did, and it was very interesting to hear the sommelier set up each course by describing the wine.

All in all, a wonderful stay and I look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian_Zeiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

Dear Brian_Zeiger, We are delighted to read your very kind comments and thank you for taking the time to let us know what a great experience you had with us. We have already passed on your comments to Chef Nathan and his team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with anything at all. Warm Regards, John Graham, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I surprised my husband with a birthday trip to Lake Placcid Lodge. We travel quite a bit so to pleasantly surprise us is a challenge. This was our first trip to Lake Placcid and we were treated like Royalty as soon as we walked into the doorway. We were greeted with Champaigne, offered a seat and conversed with the friendly staff after a 7 hour hour road trip. We felt welcomed right away. They asked us immediately for our car keys so they can take our luggage to the room. They gave us a tour of the Lodge, including the Kitchen which was immaculately clean and appeared well organized. They described the history of the lodge and the surrounding areas. The place is absolutely beautiful, clean and cozy. Fireplaces in the suites in the bedroom and seating area. There are no Televisions in the suites, which at first i thought... Now what do we do? The answer... Relax. For the first time on vacation we relaxed. We didn't even know how to start but the staff at Lake Placcid Lodge was so great. They literally anticipated every need that you can have and fulfilled it!!! I can go on and on about the scenery, staff and food at this Lodge it was sooooo great!! By the way they have the Best Pancake, rated 8th in the world. I had them every morning they were sooo good and they also had me taste all the other special menu items, and best of all, it's included with your room. We went Dog sledding, Tabogganing, ice skating, enjoyed smores at the Bon fire outside nexxt to the lake, Had incredible food in the Artisian restaurant and the Pub. I'm definately going back. This trip was worth every penny and then some!!!.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

Dear Janet6969, Thank you very much for your kind words. We pride ourselves on always trying to anticipate guest’s needs and are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations - and even more delighted that you truly relaxed! Our goal is to creste a place where; if only for a time, you are guests can truly put the bags of the world down. We look forward to your next visit with us again in the near future and please call on us anytime if we can be of assistance. Warm Regards, John Graham, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Fly fishing, cozy fireplace, beautiful view of lake, great hikes, s'mores, great food, great lil bar...we loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

Dear Mistazang,
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences at the Lake Placid Lodge. We love the activities you mentioned as well, and appreciate hearing that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back soon – perhaps you can visit in May and enjoy the best Fly Fishing ever!
Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with anything at all. Warm Regards, John Graham, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews