We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Placid Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$180
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$268
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Adirondack Inn(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$439
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$246
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$299
US$226
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake House(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$279
US$261
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whiteface Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$593
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
340
54
29
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
54
29
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaggie's pubrelais and chateauxowls headcovered walkwayhalf bottle of winepastry chefnew ownershipboat tourstone fireplacesoaking tubcross countrywhiteface mountainadirondack styleeach morningcookiesturn down servicespent three nights
Filter
Updating list...
386 - 391 of 450 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2010

We wanted to elope to have our wedding just for the two of us- intimate and romantic and without stress. Ann Graham did an exceptional job coordinating our wedding down to the last detail and was so warm and easy to work with. The staff was wonderful and very professional, at the same time making us feel so welcomed and right at home. We could not have had a more romantic and wonderful wedding experience any where else. We look forward to returning to the Lodge for more memories in the years to come!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleygal53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2010

My husband and I were married at the Lake Placid Lodge on February 14, 2001. It was the most wonderful experience imaginable. I emailed the lodge a few days ago inquiring about a tenth anniversary vow renewal and luncheon for about seven people including my 6 year old grandson. Even though I have seen occasional children staying at the lodge , I was told very nicely that children under 12 were not permitted there. Needless to say I was confused. The general Manager of the property, Mr. John Graham emailed me and very eloquently said that even though I may still see children at the lodge in the future (requests that they had already confirmed) they were no longer making exceptions. I explained to Mr. Graham that my grandson would NOT even be a guest there, but only dining with us in a private dining area and then leaving the lodge. Mr. Graham was unwaivering and offered no compensation for our dilemma. We were crushed . We had our hearts set on renewing our vows in the same romantic setting where we first took them. I also reminded Mr. Graham that the golden retriever wandering through the pub dining area as well as the entire lodge was more welcomed than my little grandchild. As I said, it is a magnificent place, but to deny a child to just sit and dine with us in a PRIVATE party room is in my opinion, is inexcusable and narrow minded. Mr. Grahams priorities are a bit muddled.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NY1girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2010

The staff at this resort are incredible. From the moment we first entered the cozy and artistic reception area to the morning we departed, the entire staff, without exception, were friendly, kind, welcoming, accommodating, and helpful, but never officious - we were given plenty of privacy to explore the grounds and relax at our leisure.
The grounds themselves were an aesthetic masterpiece: a functional, peaceful, living-art mansion that felt more like our home for the night than just a place to stay. We have been traveling to the Adirondack Mountains for almost a decade in search of romantic settings and we feel that the LP Lodge is by far the most romantic we've ever enjoyed - so much so that we plan to stay there again and again.
The complimentary food and beverages provided in the rooms were generous and in good taste, the complimentary breakfast menu looked to good to be true (although, based on the dynamite dinner we enjoyed we are inclined to believe the breakfast does not disappoint.) The dinner we enjoyed was the best in Lake Placid in our opinion with a level of quality and service reminiscent of those experienced in the Hamptons.
The location of the lodge is conveniently close to main street for those wishing to dine or shop, but the short drive from the hustle and bustle seemed to transport us to our own private, peaceful, retreat full of serenity on a frozen mountain lake under the impressive stature of Whiteface Mountain. Watching the sunset on Whiteface over the lake from our huge picture windows in our cozy room was a real romantic treat, as was the fire in the fireplace which was built and ready to blaze at our whim. We would recommend this Lodge to anyone and everyone, especially couples seeking a romantic get away.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WindsongBFLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2010

My friends and I stayed at the Lake Placid Lodge for a wonderful winter weekend in the Buck two-bedroom cabin with a lovely porch looking out to the lake. The cabin was perfect, as a matter of fact everything about this weekend was perfect---the cabin with wonderful fireplace, pillows, furniture, linens--so cozy---the staff--Kevin, John, Lori, Linda, Jeff--there is not a thing they have not thought of. Anything you need or could want is easy--snow shoeing, xctry skiing, skates, hiking, breakfast brought to your cabin and the most perfect bon fire by the lake's edge with blankets, pillows and champagne.

The main lodge is beautiful--the view of the lake, the fireplaces, paintings, lighting--perfect. The dining room is warm and inviting. Breakfasts were wonderful and included. Dinner relaxing. The pub inviting.

I can not wait to go back again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWeinstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2010

This was our first visit to Lake Placid Lodge and we can't wait to return! The pictures on the website, only tell part of the story for this property. It is located right on Lake Placid.

We stayed in one of their Lakefront Cabins. The cabins were built in the early 20's and have been well maintained. Each cabin is a mini-museum of Adirondack style furnishings. We stayed in the Whitney Cabin. The cabin had a beatuiful four poster bed, comfortable couch, wonderful chairs, desk and a table. Upon arrival, we found wine and cheese waiting for us on the table wood stacked in the fireplace ready to light.

The staff at the Lodge take care of every need. Be sure to stop and speak with them.. They have wonderful knowledge about the area and will provide you with many suggestions of things to do and places to see.

We had breakfast and dinner at the lodge and thoroughly enjoyed the meals. The on-site pub, Maggie's, serves up great libations and has a wonderful staff. The lodge, which was recently rebuilt after a fire in 2005, contains wonderful Adirondack furniture and a number of fireplaces, inside and out, for you to sit in front of and relax.

Each night, a fire is built in an outside fire pit, and you can make your own S'mores under the stars.

The lodge is extremely dog-friendly and welcomes dogs just about anywhere. They provide dog beds and bowls for your furry friend.

In summary, I found the Lake Placid Lodge to be the 'real deal'. Just a wonderful, understated, peaceful, experience. We did not want to leave on Monday morning and can't wait to return.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank dvc_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews