We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Placid Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$204
US$180
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$247
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Adirondack Inn(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$449
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$220
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$289
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake House(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$279
US$271
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whiteface Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$593
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
341
54
29
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
54
29
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaggie's pubrelais and chateauxowls headcovered walkwayhalf bottle of winepastry chefnew ownershipboat tourstone fireplacesoaking tubcross countrywhiteface mountainadirondack styleeach morningcookiesturn down servicespent three nights
Filter
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 451 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2011

If this review seems over the top, it still will not do justice to this extrordinary property. This was our third stay although it was our first time seeing the new main lodge. From our first stay we knew we had arrived at "heaven on earth". The beauty, the tranquility, the luxury; it went beyond exceeding our expectations. I honestly have not had a better night's sleep anywhere. From the minute you walk through the door, there is the most genuine, caring staff that anticipates and accomodates any and all needs. I could rave about the beautiful authentic adirondack furniture and room after room of luxurious but homey decor, the truly exceptional food and the awesome majestic setting on the lake but I know I sound like a brochure. This is such a special place for us we decided to get married here.I will hold this place in my heart forever.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

Dear agalli,
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences at the Lake Placid Lodge. We take serving our guests personally and appreciate hearing that you enjoyed your stay. It’s wonderful to hear you enjoyed the “new” main lodge and are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations.
We look forward to your next visit with us again in the near future and please call on us anytime if we can be of assistance.
Warm Regards, John Graham, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2010

We used to come to LPL every year for our anniversary. We haven't been here since 2006 when the fire destroyed most of what was there.

We recently spent 4 nights post Thanksgiving weekend in the Placid Lakeside Suite. The new facility is bigger/better while retaining its charm. The service is as we remembered- friendly, warm, attentive, but somehow, properly understated. NYC folk like us go there to find peace and solitude, and so we like to be left relatively alone. The staff here knows how to anticipate our needs but giving us the space we want. This isn't necessarily the case in other R&C properties.

The food was particularly good- even better than i remembered. Breakfast was... divine. The morning muffins are the best I've ever had. Dinner was outstanding. Someone mentioned the lobster risotto, i strongly recommend it.

I probably won't wait four years to return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coramdeo_10036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

Dear coramdeo_10036,
Thank you so much for coming home. All of the staff are dedicated to your complete enjoyment and ability to put the “load down,” if only for a couple of days. We are truly gratified to be able to serve you and look forward to doing so in the near future. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with anything at all.
Warm Regards, John Graham, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2010

My wife and I just returned from the Lake Placid Lodge. In summary – our room was perfection, Lori (the bartender) introduced me to a new favorite drink, we became fast friends with an owl and had the most amazing dining experience!

In more detail, our getaway was filled with pleasant surprises and excellent service. Upon arrival, we were greeted with champagne and a tour. During this time, we were introduced to the art work of local artisans AND Tess – a barn owl! That’s right, they had brought in a barn owl that we were able to hold and pet. How often can someone do that? From there, Ryan (our new friend at the front desk) took us to our room. This was our dream room come to life – gigantic picture window of the lake, whirlpool bathtub, steam shower, and a bed that was so plush that only the promise of a good meal could help me resist its invitation for sleep.


The food was a compelling reason to leave our room. Our dining experience was incredible. It started at Maggie’s Pub where there was live entertainment that set the mood perfectly. Upon request, the bartender (Lori) recommended I try the “Moment of Clarity” while my wife had a beverage of freshly muddled fruit and juices (yes, she crushed and drained fresh fruit for my wife’s beverage right in front of us). We took our second round of drinks to the dining room and enjoyed the meal of a lifetime. Coming from NYC it is difficult to “wow” us because we have been exposed to all sorts of fabulous food cooked in all different types of ways. However, my wife and I quickly narrowed in on the Lodge’s lobster risotto and pork cheek as being the “best thing we ever ate”. The risotto had the perfect texture and flavor while the pork cheek was cooked so perfectly that it melted in your mouth. Wine was paired to annunciate the flavors and service was the perfect balance of being sure everything was okay without being over bearing. Definitely recommend to anyone looking to get away. It was a weekend of perfection.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMB808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeGeneralManager, General Manager at Lake Placid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

Dear KMB808,
On behalf of the entire team at the Lake Placid Lodge, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are truly gratified to be able to serve you and are delighted to read your very kind comments and thank you for taking the time to let us know what a great experience you had with us. We have already passed on your comments to Lori, Ryan and “Tess” too!
Tess has been a part of the Lake Placid Lodge Family since she was just a tiny ball of feathery fluff. We look forward to your next visit with us again in the near future and please call on us anytime if we can be of assistance.
Warm Regards, John Graham, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2010

I just returned from LPL, and can't really equate the reviews with our experience? Luckily husband was called away on business so we had to leave early. The price surely does not reflect what you get. There's a first for everything, this was a first for my husband and I both being on our knees scrubbing the floor, we couldn't do much about the rugs, vacuums didn't seem to exist. It was quite frankly disgustingly dirty! And that wasn't all that we 'helped' with, bags, moving furniture for extra bed etc etc. And really we don't mind but the fact is this place charges a lot!
Food is so so and breakfast was actually really horrible, nothing wrong with staff, they try. Ordered on the second morning boiled eggs thinking nothing could go wrong, wrong, had one well done (which I hate) and one so loose couldn't eat it, and when you have no egg cups... It was a bit difficult! Dinners were taken in either in complete darkness or lit as if on stage, whoever did the lighting should sit there, not very nice actually. So can't really say what they were like as couldn't see what I was eating. But thanksgiving dinner was lukewarm so not very appetizing. Dessert lovely though, apple tart, really good.
Rooms, dirty as mentioned and also very poorly lit, as no tv we turned our attention to the games provided but couldn't really see well enough for play? Maybe an area they could look into, lighting....
Great trails for running around the property, could go back for that alone:)
But seriously, price doesn't reflect the quality of the place. Specially not when comparing to other Relais and Chateaux properties that we have been to. And they never managed to get the Wi-Fi working, leaving very frustrated college student and husband unable to keep up with commitments, unusual for the US or not?

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fabfourNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2010

The Lake Placid Lodge really delivered for our honeymoon stay. The Lakefront Cabin was really amazing and was very romantic to be in our own oasis. The bathroom was beautiful with a large tub, the fireplace was easily lit with plenty of extra wood, the bed was super comfortable, and the sitting area in front of the large windows overlooking the lake was idyllic.

Additionally, we enjoyed having the breakfast served in the cabin each morning. They had good wifi (as well as an ethernet connection), but no TV - which we enjoyed.

Regarding the restaurants on the grounds, Artisan's was a great place to eat (and be served), and you paid a fair amount for the privilege. Maggie's Pub was also very good, but had more value for money. We were there at a slow time of the year and were able to eat and drink on the couch in front of the fireplace - good food, good drinks, good ambiance and friendly service.

Overall, this was a wonderful stay and we hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roosty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews