We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here if you are used to any comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pines Inn of Lake Placid
Ranked #9 of 14 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay here if you are used to any comfort”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We recently spent a night (out of season) at this hotel. We booked late, so did not have many choices. Our room had a mattress that was totally the cheapest , oldest and worst mattress I have ever seen. It buckled in the middle and the sides were crushed. At 12:30 (the end of my rest for the night) our upstairs boarders came home. The amount of noise was shocking. We listened to every word of their conversation. The hotel advertised a workout room and jacuzzi. Neither was opened until after 9AM. The fireplace was closed off for the night at 7:30 PM when we returned from dinner. There was no food available on site although there was a dining room bar etc...all closed for the season. Sadly the prices should have reflected some if not all of these disappointments but did not. Had we booked earlier, could have actually enjoyed the hotel part of our trip with very little increase in price. Oh, did I mention, no heat in room. Space heaters. Just to add.....sheets smelled of bleach (good thing) and hotel attentant was nice. Makes me want to buy a hotel just to give services equal to home.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    40
    32
    16
    14
See reviews for
29
59
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Good location. Rooms are very clean and beds are comfortable.Easy to walk to centre of town. Service is very friendly. Nice common area with fireplace downstairs or large terrace outside to chat with friends. They serve coffee there in the morning. The corridors need a bit of updating.Plenty of parking. Didn't go to the pub or the gym/whirlpool.It's a fair price for what you get ( 129$ on Booking.com for a queen room )

Room Tip: no elevators so if you have any mobility issue ask for a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPF12400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This place has a lot more character than other places in Lake Placid that charge twice as much. Antique furniture in the room and fancy wallpaper give the place a retro 1930s feel, and the mattresses are super comfortable. They also have a very nice common room to hang out in, as well as a sauna (handy for relaxing after a long day of hiking).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I visit the Adirondack 3 or 4 times a year and usually stay in Lake Placid along Main Street. The Pines Inn is just around the corner on 86, less than a 5 minute walk from the shops and its a great value with a lot of character. Its family run, the common areas are nice, and the place frankly just feels like an inn in the Adirondacks should feel to me - more homey than a hotel but with more privacy than a B&B. It'll be more go-to place in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

good value for price. The room was spacious with a big bathroom. The internet was not working or hardly. Friendly service. Good location, good if you're running the Lake Placid Half Marathon, not far too walk to the start.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orvalectiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Very friendly welcome, great location just up from the main street in town and the lake. Rooms are small and have a bed and breakfast/quaint feel. Despite its size, you almost feel like you're staying in someone's home when you're in your room. Would return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbell722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2011

we stayed for 2 nights in June 2011. we liked the "old european style" in the lobby, the rooms were big and clean, the stuff was realy nice, and the price was good. pay attention that that is no view to the lake.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,289 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
212 reviews
2.5 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
102 reviews
0.4 km away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
331 reviews
0.4 km away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Inn of Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Inn of Lake Placid

Property: The Pines Inn of Lake Placid
Address: 2302 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3378
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Pines Inn of Lake Placid 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old World charm in the heart of the Adirondacks. A historic inn from the turn of the century. Step inside and into a more relaxing era. The Seggers, invite you into their home and by providing personalized customer service they ensure a unique experience. The location is a perfect mix of peaceful respite and ease of accessibility to all the town's main attractions. Free Wi-Fi; new custom spa; lovely sitting room; Old World veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Pines Inn of Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Inn Of Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing